We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only The Best Will Do!”
Review of The Verandas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Verandas
Ranked #4 of 18 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

We often prefer staying in B&B's and this has to be one of the very best we have visited. I had called in advance to let our hosts know that we were arriving at 1:00 pm. I wasn't sure if anyone would be there when we arrived since check in time is 3:00 pm. Low and behold, Chuck greeted us at the door informing us we were welcome to check in. He said our room was ready. The house house has been beautifully restored by Chuck and Dennis. The furnishings are lovely antiques. The decor throughout the house is gorgeous. Our room (#1) had an oriental theme. It was spacious and had a fabulous marble tiled private bath. The bed was a very comfortable King. There were chocolates by the bedside, The toiletries were first class. The gourmet breakfasts were so creative and delicious! We did not have the pleasure of meeting Dennis, but have to say that Chuck was so welcoming and warm. We felt right at home. He took the time to give us a much needed overview of the town. The attention to detail and the quality of this B&B are beyond belief. This is a place we will definitely return to if we are in the Wilmington area again. We highly recommend the Verandas especially
for it's charm and hospitality!

Stayed: October 2013
2  Thank michelewave04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed in Wilmington for just one night at the beginning of October. We loved The Verandas, the whole experience was a joy. We were made to feel so welcome and as if we were staying with friends, a real home from home experience. The house is beautiful and has been lovingly restored by Dennis and Chuck, who are keen to share their treasures with interested guests. I would strongly recommend this inn and assure you - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 728NinaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I am PROUD to have now been part of The Verandas family. Not only is this B&B beautiful, the location is amazing. Above all else, the service my new husband, friends and I received was better than I could have expected - from the amazing breakfast, kindness, customer service and value. I will most definitely be back!

Thanks Chuck & Dennis! SEE YOU SOON!

Debbra & Joey

Room Tip: All rooms are corner rooms and you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbra2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed for three nights late Sept. The careful and painstaking attention to detail is a hallmark of Chuck and Dennis's dedication to making the Verandas a truly memorable experience. From the ease of late check-in, to the warm conversations with Chuck about the area's history, gourmet breakfasts and unending choices of pretty spots to sit back and relax, we couldn't be happier with our choice to stay at the Verandas. A couple past reviews talk negatively about the Verandas, but upon seeing it for myself it is apparent that the guests either didn't appreciate what a southern b&b is all about, or were upset about something outside Chuck's control. Our traveling companions were not B&B goers, but they were thrilled with the Verandas. Only issue is that the main picture on tripadvisor is of a house down the block. The Verandas is more impressive.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jetti007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

This is the most romantic, wonderful getaway that my husband and I have ever had and The Verandas B&B was essential in our weekend. As we don't get away much at all, it was important to pick the perfect location and The Verandas far exceeded what I expected. We stayed in room #8, which is a climb up two flights of stairs, but so worth it! The room was large and immaculate. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was very nice. The decor is pain-stakingly well-done, as one of the owners is an interior designer. I could have just stayed there and not gone anywhere else, but as it is only a few minutes walk to the waterfront, excursions to the area attractions and The Pilot House, my favorite restaurant of the trip, located only 2 blocks away, were easily navigated and the menus of several of Chuck 's favorite restaurants are available to review before planning your dinner out. Every need and want that we had was met and we will definitely stay again! Charming Southern Romance in a four-story mansion, which has been completely restored, as Chuck will share pictures of that journey with you too. Coffee on the back veranda in the morning is highly recommended, while waiting for breakfast to be served. The breakfast was delicious and although we didn't request a special diet, I noticed there was another guest that had and she was well-satisfied. The beautiful dining table was set exquisitely with China, silver, crystal, and most-importantly, delicious food. If there is any doubt in your mind, please rest your fears and be assured that it is a wonderful destination! :-) You will not be disappointed! Thanks so very much, Chuck, for the kind upgrade too. The chocolates were delicious too!!! We will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathryn4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here last week and could not have found a better place to stay in Wilmington. The historical home is beautiful with antiques which let you get a feel for the historical nature of the home, but this home is well maintained. The bedrooms are up to date and super clean. Chuck, one of the owners, could not have been a better host. He was full of information about the town and is a wonderful cook. His gourmet breakfasts are superb! The location is a very short walk to the historic downtown and the river. You cannot go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My husband and I have been staying at The Verandas since they first opened. We have easily stayed here over 20 times. We absolutely love it. We have stayed in every room and each one is decorated to perfection with high end linens and luxurious towels. The breakfasts cooked by Chuck are always outstanding. The Verandas is in the perfect location...restaurants, shops and the river walk are all within walking distance. If you want to experience staying at a B&B that is elegant and historical The Vernadas is a must!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LESDTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#19 of 45 in Wilmington
1,462 reviews
6.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
6.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
0.1 mi away
C.W. Worth House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Verandas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Verandas

Address: 202 Nun St, Wilmington, NC 28401-5020
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range: £156 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Verandas is a beautifully restore antebellum mansion in the heart of the Historic District. Two block walk to The Riverwalk, and 8 blocks to 70 restaurants. Located on a quiet residential street, this property is close to the commercial aspects downtown, but it is in a residential neighborhood. The Verandas has been AAA Four Diamond since 2001, and a member of the exclusive Select Registry. Our goal is to provide you the best experience we can. We would love to have you stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Verandas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Verandas Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing