We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Long Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Verandas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilmington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Verandas
Ranked #3 of 17 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Monroe, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Long Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed for three nights in early April at The Verandas. This is the third B&B we have tried in Wilmington and by far this was the best experience. Breakfast was excellent. Chuck is a great host. I especially enjoyed my morning coffee in the sitting room adjacent to the dining area. Beds were very comfortable. Oversize tub and individual cooling was great. The art and antique furnishings were quite unique. The neighborhoods around the Inn are filled with great historic homes. Dining within walking distance was first class. I would definitely recommend this Inn to anyone wanting to stay in downtown, historic Wilimington

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    13
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
21
186
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

With visiting friends from Ireland, I stayed at The Verandas in early April. We cannot say enough good things about this B&B. The standards were so high; the welcome so warm; the food so delicious; the rooms so comfortable. It was an experience that rivaled the best of stays we have had at Relais et Chateaux hotels in Europe. I will be back soon with my husband; my Irish friends say The Verandas alone would bring them back to North Carolina. Thank you, Chuck!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mvmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsboro, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

The Verandas is 'park and go' in the historic area of Wilmington. It was a derelict and has been sensitively and lovingly restored to a wonderful and beautiful B&B. The 8 rooms all have private heat/cool controls and, of course, en suite baths. Breakfast, in the large and elegant dining room, is beyond outstanding (Chuck even prepared a special plate for me because of my egg allergy).The weekend we were there, he prepared a surprise cake for the two couples celebrating wedding anniversaries. We will not hesitate to stay here again, and have unreservedly recommended it to neighbors and friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank henkelsmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

This 167 year old, 4 story home has been lovingly and tastefully restored with a fine, sure hand. All the of the Southern charm, furnishings and decor reflect the past, while the sparkling, pristine bathrooms satisfy our modern needs. My husband and I took a 3 day vacation here and seriously did not want to leave. Chuck can turn out a breakfast that would make an Iron Chef weep. While delicious and beautifully presented, he keeps an eye on fresh. healthy choices. The wine,snacks, fresh baked cookies, french press coffee and that fabulous breakfast make this such a good value. Do yourself a favor and stay here.........
Nancy and Bob Myers

Room Tip: Rooms are All beautiful, but there are stairs, so if you have trouble climbing, stay on the lower fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greentinged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phila
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We just left the Verandas this morning. We really hated to leave. Chuck and Dennis made us feel like old friends. The room was beautiful. The atmosphere was elegant without being stuffy. Chuck's breakfast's were wonderful. He should open a restaurant. I particularly loved the fresh Chocolate Chip cookies that Dennis was kind enough to share. Chuck gave us great advice as to what and where we should go. We had a wonderful experience there and would recommend it to all.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tookie624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

we were a party of 8 family members staying here for one night, such a shame we would have loved to have stayed longer. we loved it there something different than staying in a hotel. the house has been renovated to such a high standard, and chuck and Dennis take such pride in the house and the quality service they offer. we arrived early evening and once checked in and shown around we were offered free drinks and nibbles this included beer and wine on a help yourself basis. the rooms were large and very comfortable. our hosts knew just when to stay and when to leave us alone to enjoy the house. Chuck takes pride and seems to enjoy offering a superb breakfast. if you want to spoil yourself and looking for somewhere/ something other than a 4/5* hotel then look no further highly recommend a stay here. Chuck also rang a local restaurant and booked us in with a discount offer which was very nice and only a short walk from the house, only 2 blocks or so away from the river. great place, great location and great service thank you

Room Tip: Cannot say as all rooms were fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuyEverett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
479 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

We often prefer staying in B&B's and this has to be one of the very best we have visited. I had called in advance to let our hosts know that we were arriving at 1:00 pm. I wasn't sure if anyone would be there when we arrived since check in time is 3:00 pm. Low and behold, Chuck greeted us at the door informing us we were welcome to check in. He said our room was ready. The house house has been beautifully restored by Chuck and Dennis. The furnishings are lovely antiques. The decor throughout the house is gorgeous. Our room (#1) had an oriental theme. It was spacious and had a fabulous marble tiled private bath. The bed was a very comfortable King. There were chocolates by the bedside, The toiletries were first class. The gourmet breakfasts were so creative and delicious! We did not have the pleasure of meeting Dennis, but have to say that Chuck was so welcoming and warm. We felt right at home. He took the time to give us a much needed overview of the town. The attention to detail and the quality of this B&B are beyond belief. This is a place we will definitely return to if we are in the Wilmington area again. We highly recommend the Verandas especially
for it's charm and hospitality!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank michelewave04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coastline Inn
0.6 mi away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#18 of 44 in Wilmington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riverview Suites
Riverview Suites
#27 of 44 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
6.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
0.3 mi away
The Wilmingtonian
The Wilmingtonian
#19 of 44 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Verandas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Verandas

Property: The Verandas
Address: 202 Nun St, Wilmington, NC 28401-5020
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Verandas Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing