We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July 4th weekend and had a blast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Wilmington
Ranked #32 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Sylva, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“July 4th weekend and had a blast!”
Reviewed 21 October 2011

some girlfriends and I journeyed down to Wilmington over 4th of July weekend 2010 and we stayed one night at this hotel as it was cheap and also one of the few who wasn't fully booked for the holiday weekend. We really only slept here although they do have a nice pool. The room was very basic but it accommodated us 4 girls nicely even with 2 per bed and all our stuff it didn't feel cramped or crowded. would definitely stay here again! and the best part.. the starbucks was right across the street!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetpsycho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    235
    217
    144
    99
See reviews for
423
156
50
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2011

I was recommended to this hotel by another hotel since they were sold out which after a long drive I was thankful for until I entered my room. I have stayed in 15-25 year old hotels and the difference between those and this one is cleanliness! The room from the air unit, bathroom area (covered in someone else's hair), sheets smelled like urine and were stained, carpet was needing to be cleaned, etc. When I went to the desk to complain the desk attendant acted as if she was completely surprised even though she had given sheets/blanket to the guest before me. She was friendly and pretended like she wanted to inquire more about my issues but did nothing to communicate my complaints to the next shift that would handle my check out or anyone as if it really did not matter because they are used to this type of complaint. I attempted to sleep, with the light on, after buying some of my own bedding and air freshner to make the room more comforable and was awake every 20 minutes waiting to get out of there. I left the hotel early and was told that management was on vacation for the next few weeks. I work in the hotel industry and there is always someone acting as "MOD" especially if you are a 24 hour facility. No one wanted to take ownership of their filthy room but instead tried to make me feel like I was ridiculous for even mentioning that I wanted to be compensated in some way for the horrible stay. Unfortunately this hotel will continue to sell rooms to families traveling with their children, etc because there is just simply no where else to go when you are tired. I would have rather pitched a tent or slept in my car than been charged over $90 for a sub par motel room.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ty213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
198 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

I guess I got what I paid for.
The rooms are smallish with minimal furniture and no extras. The carpet just seemed in need of a very good cleaning or replacing. I walked in bare feet after a shower and decided to always keep sandals on after that. It just felt dirty. The ceiling had patterns of dirt that I can't explain. Maybe it used to be a smoking room and they tried to clean the smoke film off but didn't get it all. Small beds.
Not a terrible place. I stayed here a couple years ago and I do think the rooms are showing their age and need to be refurbished/refurnished.
I won't stay here again. You can get by in a pinch for a one night stay like we did, but I just couldn't see myself in one of these rooms for longer than that.
The hotel staff was friendly and the breakfast was fair at best.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nittanydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NE Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

I knew going in that this place was probably not going to be what I preferred but my son was playing ball in Wilmington and his team was staying here, so I decided to do the same. Our team rate was $75 + taxes and fees. I would have to say this is more of a $39.99 class of motel. The room was just disgusting and smelled like someone had doused it with lysol, and I mean a LOT of lysol. Carpet felt damp the entire time and I always felt moist the entire time while in the room. Our bathroom was sooooo tiny. I live in a regular small house and we do not have a bathroom that small in our house even. The bathroom was very old and dated and smelled so bad all I could think of was getting out of there the entire time I was taking a shower. There was also mold on the ceiling. The beds were so uncomfortable, they felt like they were about 100 years old! We all had backaches every morning. The reason I am giving 2 stars is that the front desk staff was VERY friendly and helpful. It's not their fault the place is in need of refurbishment. Breakfast choices were fine and did the job for our boys. The pool was clean but felt like it was crammed in a small area in the parking lot. If I had paid $40 for this room I would have expected this level of room, but since it was over $80 I was very disappointed. I moved to the Holiday Inn Express up the street my 3rd night which was also VERY overpriced @ $140 but to me worth every penny to not have to stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julesingeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

I've stayed here many years ago when it was a Marriott Fairfield Inn, sadly the room now are dated with furniture and TV are in need of updating. While the bathroom sink did have a granite counter the rest of the bathroom was dirty with water damage and small areas of mold and a fair amount of dust. The front desk staff members were very nice and the continental breakfast was fine for this type of motel. Another concern... I had put up the "do not disturb" sign on my hotel room door, but the maid still came in and I found my disturb sign place back on the room's desk. The room price was good, but rather pay a little extra to stay in a better motel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveljunkiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We chose this Baymont since we were on a budget and the reviews were more positive than not (and also more positive than other places in this price range). Good location and friendly staff, but its really showing its age and our room was filthy. Really, really dirty. The phone was very dusty, the tub was dirty, the carpet turned the bottom of my socks dirty within a few minutes, but the worst part was as we were about to get into bed at 11:00 pm, the bed sheets were dirty and stained. Gross! We called the front desk and they gave us new sheets (we had to go get them and then change the bed ourselves.) We know this isn't the Four Seasons, or even Wingate by Wyndham, but for $80+ bucks a nite, we deserve clean bed sheets and a clean room.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danthebookman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

I guess you get what you pay for, but...

The lobby has a distinct smell of urine. The rooms are small. The shower head was full of hard water stains. The carpet was plain nasty, we couldn't walk on it without flip flops or socks. You have to ask them to change the sheets or they only do it every 3 days. The second floor is for people with pets. And I don't mean sexy beach bum girls with lap dogs. There were people with 40 and 50 pound dogs! If we had known that we wouldn't have stay there.

If you keep your home clean, this place is truly unacceptable. However, if you are okay with dirt you will love it. Oh...and we ran out of towels, and they told us we had to wait an hour because they were in the wash. REALLY?

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NC2NJNBackAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.8 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay of Wilmington
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#31 of 44 in Wilmington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jameson Inn Wilmington
Jameson Inn Wilmington
#28 of 44 in Wilmington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#22 of 44 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Wilmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Wilmington

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Wilmington
Address: 306 S College Rd, Wilmington, NC 28403-1602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Wilmington 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Fairfield Inn by Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Wilmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn & Suites Wilmington Hotel Wilmington
Baymont Inn And Suites Wilmington
Baymont Inn Wilmington
Wilmington Baymont Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing