We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many happy memories”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Taylor House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilmington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Taylor House Inn
Ranked #4 of 17 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Statesville NC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Many happy memories”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Very peaceful setting. Historic homes, gardens, antique shops, and many fine restaurants are within a short, pleasant walk. Comfortable porch for reading or sipping coffee before breakfast. And the breakfast is truly superb. We'll be back again and again.

Room Tip: They are all really nice. Love and Joy have king size beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    25
    1
    5
    9
See reviews for
31
197
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
217 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

This is a great B&B in a quiet part of town although its only a few minutes walk to the town centre. The house itself is stunning inside especially the entrance hall. Scott is very helpful and gave us a map of town and recommendations of good eating places. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGoodShag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

We were coming to a wedding in Wilmington but didn't want to stay at the wedding hotel due to the wall-to-wall carpet and heavy drapes which can aggravate my husband's asthma which had recently gotten worse. We decided to search for a B&B with hardwood floors and not a lot of clutter to collect dust. Fortunately we discovered Taylor House which met all of our needs. Our room was "Peace". It was spacious, clean, and comfortable, as was the rest of the house. The beautiful, historic character of the house was a bonus for us. Other reviewers have described it well. We felt totally at home and enjoyed our stay so much! No asthma problems here! The delicious, attractively-presented breakfasts set us up for long days of walking and sightseeing. Scott was the consummate host, telling us about different restaurants and area attractions and giving us directions to get there, providing iron and ironing board, and offering help in every possible way. After four nights here, we parted as friends with him. We live on the west coast and likely won't travel here again, but we will always have a soft spot in our hearts for Wilmington and the Taylor House. Doris and Jerry

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vdk493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
306 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Taylor House Inn Bed and Breakfast is on a quiet brick paved street, just off Market Street (the main east-west thoroughfare), in the historic portion of downtown Wilmington. This beautiful and historic house was built in 1905. Soothing classical music greets you upon entering the house. It gets you in the mood for a delightful stay. Scott cheerfully welcomes you to the establishment. He wants your stay in Wilmington to be a memorable one thus he is ready to offer restaurant suggestions, antique shops to visit, etc. Maps and tourist information are readily available in the lobby area.
After my husband and I told Scott we are very familiar with Wilmington, he took us up to the Love Room. It is a large, bright, sunny room with a King-size bed and a private bathroom. There are many windows to let the morning sun in. Beautiful antique pieces of furniture adorn the room. There was no television in the Love Room, but this was no problem as we were here to escape the noises of our Monday-Friday lives. Our king size bed was very comfortable. The bathroom had a claw foot tub / shower. Most people would not care or notice the toilet in a bathroom, but this one was special. Our toilet was 130 years old. There was a lever with the word, flush, on it. The lever was rather unusual to see in 2013. The room was huge and we felt that it was fantastic, especially for the rate we paid.
Scott and Karen have done a lovely job of decorating this 108 year old home. The house is full of beautiful antique furniture. The chairs, sofas and love seats are comfortable to sit. There are two rooms to sit in downstairs, making it a nice place to have a bottle of wine. A front porch with two rocking chairs is a delightful place to spend some time. There is a huge oak tree in front of the house that makes the porch a great place to rock away.
Coffee is put in the hallway every morning at 8:00. Hot water is always available for your tea. Since we are early risers, we wish there was coffee available a bit earlier in the morning. At 9:00, everyone has their breakfast in the dining room with lit candles on the table. Scott starts you off with fresh fruit. There is his special juice that everyone just raves about. We will not tell you what types of fruit juices are in it as you will be pleasantly surprised by the answer. After the fruit, comes a hot breakfast. While we were there, we had pancakes and sausage one morning, and on the next morning it was homemade French toast.
It had been a long time since we were in Wilmington due to a lousy experience at an expensive bed and Breakfast. Due to our experience this past weekend and the short walk to the Cape Fear River, Taylor House Inn Bed and Breakfast will be where we stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagyarNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottiejay04, Owner at Taylor House Inn, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so honored to be a destination worth remembering and revisiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

The Taylor house is simply amazing. I really don't have any words to describe it past that. All of the rooms are immaculately furnished with period antiques. There are claw foot tubs in the bathrooms. The library is very extensive. By far, the best part of the Taylor house is Scott and Karen. They are not just owners of the Bed and Breakfast but truly become friends. I will return to the Taylor house even if I find something less expensive in Wilmington, simply because of Scott and Karen’s hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

I have stayed at the Taylor House on two different occasions, and have been thoroughly amazed each time. Scott, the proprietor of the house, and his family, have established a warm and inviting atmosphere with elements of history and character not often seen on other Beds and Breakfast, and I have stayed at many in my travels of the past 40 odd years.

The historic feel of a time in Wilmington long past is brought alive throughout the house with antique fixtures and furnishings, southern hospitality, and a genuine care for the clientele. It is like, as much as possible, stepping back to a time when life was lived with friends and family, about town or in the home.

Historic Wilmington, and its many fine restaurants, attractions, and festivals, is just a short walk from the house. Scott’s recommendations of restaurants, menus and sights have proven spot on for everything, each and every time we asked.

If you relish the feel of home brought on with by hospitality and a pace of life that is more yesteryear than next year, we recommend you stop in and see Scott. He is there most everyday with an apron on in the morning as he cooks one of the most amazing breakfasts in Wilmington.

Max and Liz

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yllan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in many B&Bs and this one was truly a wonderful historic wonder. Although there were issues with the toilets flushing and running afterwards, that can be expected with old house plumbing. There was no television and spotty wireless but when you are taking time off, that could be a plus but people need to be aware. Our host, Scott, can appear rather opinionated and I can see why some people may feel a lack of warmth and acceptance due to his approach. He suggested a restaurant and we ended up going to more casual place to dine and when we told him later, he almost acted offended that we did not adhere to his suggested restaurant. I don't let people influence my choices so I just told him it was great and that the other restaurant would remain on my to do list. Overall, the house was lovely, peaceful, and a great splurge for me and my family. I do feel Scott would benefit more if he included his wife in hosting (never met her or saw her) and I wonder if this is an enjoyable thing for him and his wife. You have to be accepting of all types of people and their style of relaxation. Respect goes both ways. There are great inns in this area and again this one was one of the most lovely houses in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smom1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottiejay04, Owner at Taylor House Inn, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
We are always glad to hear feedback from our guests, unfortunately, some of these issues could have been corrected during your stay or prior to your leaving the inn. During the "walk about" upon arriving at the inn, guests are informed at least three times, if they have any problems to please come down and knock at the door to the left of the fireplace in the dining room. This is also stated in your welcoming letter that sits on every fireplace mantle in all of our guests rooms. If guests chose not to come down and let us know of a problem or an issue, how then are we able to fix it?
Yes, granted there is old plumbing in the house that was built in 1905 and sometimes it can be
stubborn and will not always cooperate, but if there was an issue, all one had to do was come down and inform us. We market ourselves as a "getaway" destination; getaway from the phone, the kids, the television, the computer, work, etc, for those that need televisions, we have three rooms that are televison equiped with cable. With regard to spotty wireless; this is a first since we had a new router installed last Fall. Sometimes the cable will go out for some uncontrollable reason, but again, if we are not made aware of the situation, then how can we fix it?
When a guest informs me that they want a "good seafood restaurant" to dine at, with three high school children in tow, I automatically think of a casual eatery overlooking the Cape Fear River.
Later in the evening, when I asked how dinner was; I was simply taken aback because the place they ate at was a bar. I appologize for my look, I am sure it was more of surprise rather than offense.
During the course of your one night stay, we had plans to go out, which we had informed the guests upon arrival. We were out for two hours. We came home and my wife went to bed and slept in the following morning seeing that we only had four for breakfast. Having been in the business for over sixteen years, I have found that most guests are not interested in meeting the workers of the inn; they would rather go to their room and enjoy their stay at their own leisure. Working with the General Public is not an easy thing to do, but over the course of the years; I have learned to respect all guests that come and stay here at the inn.
Respect is a two way thing and it is a given that some guests will want and expect more, whereby others are far more easy to please, that is part of working with the General Public.
I am sorry that some guests are not as happy with their stay as others, but had the lines of communication been open during their stay, these issues could have been resolved or an attempt to make your stay more pleasureable could have been made.
Again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coastline Inn
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.6 mi away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#18 of 44 in Wilmington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riverview Suites
Riverview Suites
#27 of 44 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wilmingtonian
The Wilmingtonian
#19 of 44 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
6.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taylor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taylor House Inn

Property: Taylor House Inn
Address: 14 N 7th St, Wilmington, NC 28401-4645
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Historic home is on a quiet one-way brick paved residential street, just six blocks up from the Cape Fear River in Historic downtown Wilmington. Upon arriving, there is a lovely front porch with rocking chairs and swings to pass the day in and catch the cool breezes coming off from the river. Entering this lovely home, you will be in a twelve foot high foyer with original woodwork and stained glass windows on the staircase. There are two homey and comfortable parlors to sit in, to read or play board games or just to sit listen to the classical music that is continuously playing. The formal dining room is where the candlelight full hot seated gourmet breakfasts are served every morning. Fine antiques and art are abound in the is lovely home. Upstairs there are five bedrooms, all with their own private bathrooms. The names of the rooms are; Love, Joy, Peace, Tranquility and Serenity. Love and Joy are rooms with King-size beds and private baths with both showers and claw foot soaking tubs. Tranquility is a lovely room with a Queen-size bed and a private bathroom with both a shower and a claw foot soaking tub. Peace and Serenity, have Queen-size beds and modern bathrooms with stall showers. This is a lovely place to stay for your lodging needs. Among the extra amenities; there is an early morning coffee service delivered just outside your door, central heat and air, ceiling fans over each bed, freshly ironed sheets, chocolates and fresh flowers in your room. Truly, a lovely place to get away from your everyday concerns and worries. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing