We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality Plus...Plus”
Review of Taylor House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilmington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Taylor House Inn
Ranked #2 of 18 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2013

This Inn is not only well located in Wilmington, being close to the Historic District and the Downtown area... but the owners make everyone feel so welcome... This is a very hard business as many Inn operators know.. so for the owners that have operated this Inn for 15+ years to treat you like you were their first guest is amazing. Additionally, their past professional food experience makes their restaurant recommendations just that much more credible.
My only complaint would be that I was ready for coffee at 7:00 so I had to venture out on my own to the local Java Store in town.... just 2 minutes away... but it would have been nice to not have to leave the Inn.
The breakfasts were extremely good.... tipping the fact that Scott had extensive food background. Very helpful hosts, not found in every Inn these days.

Room Tip: Room # 5 was just a tad small with only a 'love-seat'.... we noticed the other rooms were la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmwbillk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and had a lovely time. Scott was the perfect host, he offered great insight and options for things to do and places to eat during our stay. The breakfasts at the inn were absolutely delicious! The rooms were nicely decorated with beautiful antiques, very clean and comfortable. We stayed in the peace room. I would definitely recommend this b&b to anyone visiting this special town!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ksteele18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Very peaceful setting. Historic homes, gardens, antique shops, and many fine restaurants are within a short, pleasant walk. Comfortable porch for reading or sipping coffee before breakfast. And the breakfast is truly superb. We'll be back again and again.

Room Tip: They are all really nice. Love and Joy have king size beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dmize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

This is a great B&B in a quiet part of town although its only a few minutes walk to the town centre. The house itself is stunning inside especially the entrance hall. Scott is very helpful and gave us a map of town and recommendations of good eating places. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheGoodShag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We were coming to a wedding in Wilmington but didn't want to stay at the wedding hotel due to the wall-to-wall carpet and heavy drapes which can aggravate my husband's asthma which had recently gotten worse. We decided to search for a B&B with hardwood floors and not a lot of clutter to collect dust. Fortunately we discovered Taylor House which met all of our needs. Our room was "Peace". It was spacious, clean, and comfortable, as was the rest of the house. The beautiful, historic character of the house was a bonus for us. Other reviewers have described it well. We felt totally at home and enjoyed our stay so much! No asthma problems here! The delicious, attractively-presented breakfasts set us up for long days of walking and sightseeing. Scott was the consummate host, telling us about different restaurants and area attractions and giving us directions to get there, providing iron and ironing board, and offering help in every possible way. After four nights here, we parted as friends with him. We live on the west coast and likely won't travel here again, but we will always have a soft spot in our hearts for Wilmington and the Taylor House. Doris and Jerry

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank vdk493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Taylor House Inn Bed and Breakfast is on a quiet brick paved street, just off Market Street (the main east-west thoroughfare), in the historic portion of downtown Wilmington. This beautiful and historic house was built in 1905. Soothing classical music greets you upon entering the house. It gets you in the mood for a delightful stay. Scott cheerfully welcomes you to the establishment. He wants your stay in Wilmington to be a memorable one thus he is ready to offer restaurant suggestions, antique shops to visit, etc. Maps and tourist information are readily available in the lobby area.
After my husband and I told Scott we are very familiar with Wilmington, he took us up to the Love Room. It is a large, bright, sunny room with a King-size bed and a private bathroom. There are many windows to let the morning sun in. Beautiful antique pieces of furniture adorn the room. There was no television in the Love Room, but this was no problem as we were here to escape the noises of our Monday-Friday lives. Our king size bed was very comfortable. The bathroom had a claw foot tub / shower. Most people would not care or notice the toilet in a bathroom, but this one was special. Our toilet was 130 years old. There was a lever with the word, flush, on it. The lever was rather unusual to see in 2013. The room was huge and we felt that it was fantastic, especially for the rate we paid.
Scott and Karen have done a lovely job of decorating this 108 year old home. The house is full of beautiful antique furniture. The chairs, sofas and love seats are comfortable to sit. There are two rooms to sit in downstairs, making it a nice place to have a bottle of wine. A front porch with two rocking chairs is a delightful place to spend some time. There is a huge oak tree in front of the house that makes the porch a great place to rock away.
Coffee is put in the hallway every morning at 8:00. Hot water is always available for your tea. Since we are early risers, we wish there was coffee available a bit earlier in the morning. At 9:00, everyone has their breakfast in the dining room with lit candles on the table. Scott starts you off with fresh fruit. There is his special juice that everyone just raves about. We will not tell you what types of fruit juices are in it as you will be pleasantly surprised by the answer. After the fruit, comes a hot breakfast. While we were there, we had pancakes and sausage one morning, and on the next morning it was homemade French toast.
It had been a long time since we were in Wilmington due to a lousy experience at an expensive bed and Breakfast. Due to our experience this past weekend and the short walk to the Cape Fear River, Taylor House Inn Bed and Breakfast will be where we stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagyarNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottiejay04, Owner at Taylor House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2013

Thank you for your review. We are so honored to be a destination worth remembering and revisiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

The Taylor house is simply amazing. I really don't have any words to describe it past that. All of the rooms are immaculately furnished with period antiques. There are claw foot tubs in the bathrooms. The library is very extensive. By far, the best part of the Taylor house is Scott and Karen. They are not just owners of the Bed and Breakfast but truly become friends. I will return to the Taylor house even if I find something less expensive in Wilmington, simply because of Scott and Karen’s hospitality.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#20 of 45 in Wilmington
1,424 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilmington Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Wilmingtonian
The Wilmingtonian
#21 of 45 in Wilmington
230 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riverview Suites
Riverview Suites
#28 of 45 in Wilmington
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taylor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taylor House Inn

Address: 14 N 7th St, Wilmington, NC 28401-4645
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range: £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Historic home is on a quiet one-way brick paved residential street, just six blocks up from the Cape Fear River in Historic downtown Wilmington. Upon arriving, there is a lovely front porch with rocking chairs and swings to pass the day in and catch the cool breezes coming off from the river. Entering this lovely home, you will be in a twelve foot high foyer with original woodwork and stained glass windows on the staircase. There are two homey and comfortable parlors to sit in, to read or play board games or just to sit listen to the classical music that is continuously playing. The formal dining room is where the candlelight full hot seated gourmet breakfasts are served every morning. Fine antiques and art are abound in the is lovely home. Upstairs there are five bedrooms, all with their own private bathrooms. The names of the rooms are; Love, Joy, Peace, Tranquility and Serenity. Love and Joy are rooms with King-size beds and private baths with both showers and claw foot soaking tubs. Tranquility is a lovely room with a Queen-size bed and a private bathroom with both a shower and a claw foot soaking tub. Peace and Serenity, have Queen-size beds and modern bathrooms with stall showers. This is a lovely place to stay for your lodging needs. Among the extra amenities; there is an early morning coffee service delivered just outside your door, central heat and air, ceiling fans over each bed, freshly ironed sheets, chocolates and fresh flowers in your room. Truly, a lovely place to get away from your everyday concerns and worries. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing