We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taylor House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilmington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Taylor House Inn
Ranked #4 of 16 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
“Lovely experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I needed to "get away" and chose Wilmington as our destination. We took advantage of the current special at the Taylor House Inn and could not have been more pleased! Scott was a perfectly gracious host and our room was lovely. Our breakfasts were superb. Scott took time to make some local suggestions and a day trip recommendation which we thoroughly enjoyed. Should we find ourselves traveling to the Wilmington area again in the future, I can assure you we will stay here again. Well done.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    25
    1
    5
    9
See reviews for
31
194
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, WV
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

My husband and I had the good fortune to visit this delightful inn for the second time in under a year. I emailed Scott to make our reservation because I thought he would be in the middle of making breakfast for his guests. To my surprise, he telephoned me right back and told me that we could indeed have the room of our choice for 2 nights. This is the Peace room which we had stayed in the last time and it was just as charming as we remembered. Beautiful, comfortable, quiet and filled with lovely antiques as is every room in this inn. The breakfast is wonderful and filling - prepare to indulge in a gourmet breakfast which will keep you going until dinner time! Scott is the nicest host imaginable and will offer tips on where to go and what to see in the Wilmington area as well as great restaurants to visit. He provides a detailed map of the area which is so helpful for walking or getting around in the car. You will not be disappointed with a stay at the Taylor House. It is easy to get to, just off a main road, but surprisingly quiet. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MountainMama02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

My son and I spent a lovely evening at The Taylor House in charming Wilmington and had dinner at a wonderful French restaurant (Caprice) which was recommended by Scott, our proprietor. He called and made reservations for us, provided maps and gave us suggestions on good places to visit that weren't typical tourist destinations. The home was lovely, the rooms were charming and comfortable and breakfast (French toast, fresh fruit and juice concoction that you can only find there, was superb). We will definitely stay there again on our next trip to the NC coast!

Room Tip: We stayed in the rooms called Peace (standing shower) and Love (tub and shower) and both were charmi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

This was our first experience at a Bed & Breakfast. We were pleasantly greeted by the owner, Scott, and given the tour. He explained everything, leaving us with no questions. It was well within walking distance to the Riverwalk and the restaurants in downtown Wilmington. We would like to say thanks, Scott and we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BHandCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

My friends, boyfriend, and I stayed here this November and we will certainly be back for our next get-away. Not only was it easy to make last minute reservations, but Scott was more than happy enough to help me plan a few last minute details to make our night in Wilmington very special. The Bed & Breakfast was very easy to find and although we were running a few minutes behind Scott and his wife were very kind to wait for our arrival.

As we entered the Inn we took quick notice to how well kept the house was. Before we even rang the doorbell Scott's wife warmly greeted us and invited us in. We all were so excited while sitting in the parlor that we just gazed at the antique decor and waited for our welcome information and room keys. Scott's wife was very helpful and willing to help if we needed it.

The room I stayed in was called "Joy" and it was very beautiful, comfortable, and the gorgeous antiques made you feel as if you were back in the early 1900's! The first thing I did was pour a glass of wine and soak in the claw foot tub!!! The great thing about this B&B is there are NO tv's in any of the rooms. This truly made me feel at ease because I was able to escape the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Yes, there is wi-fi so no worries, you are still connected to the world.

After enjoying our night out in the heart of downtown we came back exhausted and eager to go to bed! The beds were comfortable and the linens were fresh and crisp. We slept like a rock! Breakfast was at 9:00 AM and the entire dining experience was exquisite! Breakfast was so fancy and we really enjoyed sitting and conversing with the other guests. Scott is an amazing cook and the French toast was to die for! Check out time approached and our mini vacation quickly came to an end. Check out was very easy and Scott even offered to help with out luggage. We said our goodbyes and made sure that we let Scott know that we would be coming back.

Overall .... Beautiful, friendly, clean, and the hospitality is top notch. Truly a time to remember :)

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Briana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

My husband, his brother, and I spent two delightful nights at The Taylor House B&B. Scott warmly greeted us, told us about the area, and gave us excellent recommendations on places to eat as well as marking them on a map for us. What a wonderful location! We were within walking distance of almost everything we wanted to see and do. The inn is beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean, and we enjoyed having iced tea outside our bedroom door in the afternoons as well as a choice of coffee or tea every morning. We are vegetarians, and Scott provided meatless breakfasts for us. This was our first trip to Wilmington, but we know where to stay the next time we go.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathie205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithfield, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

My husband and I came to Wilmington to see a concert and have our first kid free trip since 1997! We had a wonderful time. The Inn Taylor house was very nice and clean. Scott gave us some restaurant suggestions that were helpful. It was nice to have coffee outside our bedroom and the breakfast was superb. We never meet Karen but hear she is nice. We enjoyed our breakfast so much with the other guests, so much in fact that the check out time slipped up on us. For that I am sorry. Plan on coming again, this is a nice 1 1/2 trip from our home. thanks again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coastline Inn
0.6 mi away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#18 of 45 in Wilmington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riverview Suites
Riverview Suites
#27 of 45 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wilmingtonian
The Wilmingtonian
#19 of 45 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
6.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taylor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taylor House Inn

Property: Taylor House Inn
Address: 14 N 7th St, Wilmington, NC 28401-4645
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Historic home is on a quiet one-way brick paved residential street, just six blocks up from the Cape Fear River in Historic downtown Wilmington. Upon arriving, there is a lovely front porch with rocking chairs and swings to pass the day in and catch the cool breezes coming off from the river. Entering this lovely home, you will be in a twelve foot high foyer with original woodwork and stained glass windows on the staircase. There are two homey and comfortable parlors to sit in, to read or play board games or just to sit listen to the classical music that is continuously playing. The formal dining room is where the candlelight full hot seated gourmet breakfasts are served every morning. Fine antiques and art are abound in the is lovely home. Upstairs there are five bedrooms, all with their own private bathrooms. The names of the rooms are; Love, Joy, Peace, Tranquility and Serenity. Love and Joy are rooms with King-size beds and private baths with both showers and claw foot soaking tubs. Tranquility is a lovely room with a Queen-size bed and a private bathroom with both a shower and a claw foot soaking tub. Peace and Serenity, have Queen-size beds and modern bathrooms with stall showers. This is a lovely place to stay for your lodging needs. Among the extra amenities; there is an early morning coffee service delivered just outside your door, central heat and air, ceiling fans over each bed, freshly ironed sheets, chocolates and fresh flowers in your room. Truly, a lovely place to get away from your everyday concerns and worries. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing