We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful accommodations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Taylor House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilmington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Taylor House Inn
Ranked #5 of 17 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
“Wonderful accommodations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Couldn't have asked for a more pleasing and restful B&B! Upon arriving, Scott was helpful with showing us restaurants and other interesting areas Wilmington NC has to offer. The house is very cozy, well decorated and the beds are "Oh so dreamy"! The parking just out front was a plus. Scott knows how to set a classy table with a display of breakfast items that are not only appealing to the eyes, but "melt in your mouth" delish! The B&B bar has been set high. When you are in Wilmington NC, the Taylor House Inn is where you should be!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    25
    1
    5
    9
See reviews for
31
197
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a great bed and breakfast within walking distance of the Wilmington downtown waterfront. The Taylor house is comfortable and inviting with beautiful rooms and good breakfast. Scott is a great host with information and directions to the local restaurants. You can't go wrong staying at the Taylor House Inn!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ncsanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had a great time at the Taylor House. The house was beautiful, the room was comfortable and clean, and the location was perfect. Scott was very friendly and welcoming. We will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

A perfect couple of nights. We were greeted by Scott who was a fabulous host, he gave directions advice and his phone number in case we needed it, nothing seemed too much trouble.
The B&B is amazing, large rooms with beautiful furniture, our room Joy was exactly that! It was huge, light and airy. The house is in a great location to visit all of Wilmington and indeed on the advise of Scott, Southport. It is easy to walk to The Riverfront - which after the beautifully presented home cooked breakfasts you will probably need to do. Really you need to visit to taste the breakfast amazing fruit cocktails, french toasts and freshly prepared eggs all eaten in an elegant dining room.

Room Tip: Joy was perfect but to be fair the other doors were open and they all looked lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dougandsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Carteret, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Beautiful bed and breakfast, located within walking distance to downtown Wilmington NC. We usually stay at one of the hotels downtown on the waterfront but this past weekend they were all booked out, lucky for us. We were grateful to find this gem of a place, and will for sure make this our return place to stay for years to come. The home is absolutely beautiful, very well appointed. The rooms are spacious, with very nice comfy beds. Very nice antique/historic decor. The owner takes great care in the comfort of his guests. Breakfast was absolutely amazing, above and beyond - truly wonderful. If your are looking for a nice weekend getaway and headed to Wilmington make sure you check out this B&B, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neal V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We spent two days in the NBB and we do not regret our choice. Scott is an attentive host who did everything to make our stay enjoyable. He gives advice to visit and where to eat. If i return at Wilmington, i'll stay at Taylor House Inn. Scott Washington so Nice with our baby.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeeb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liberty, nc
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We traveled to Wilmington last weekend to enjoy the Azalea Festival and spent 2 nights at Taylor House Inn. This is a perfect location - we parked the car on Friday and didn't move it until our check out on Sunday. Scott gave great recommendations for events and restaurants and we took advantage of his knowledge and were so pleased!!! Be prepared for Scott's gourmet breakfasts - absolutely delicious, Scott goes the extra mile with attention to every detail to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable, from a fresh bowl of flowers to a dish of Easter candy in your room. We stayed in the Peace Room, and it lived up to it's name - a large room, very quiet, and a wonderfully comfortable bed. We will definitely make Taylor House our place to stay on all our trips to Wilmington.

Room Tip: Check out room photos on the website and make your choice. All rooms are sure to please.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scooternoodlesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coastline Inn
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.6 mi away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#18 of 44 in Wilmington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riverview Suites
Riverview Suites
#27 of 44 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wilmingtonian
The Wilmingtonian
#19 of 44 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
6.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taylor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taylor House Inn

Property: Taylor House Inn
Address: 14 N 7th St, Wilmington, NC 28401-4645
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Historic home is on a quiet one-way brick paved residential street, just six blocks up from the Cape Fear River in Historic downtown Wilmington. Upon arriving, there is a lovely front porch with rocking chairs and swings to pass the day in and catch the cool breezes coming off from the river. Entering this lovely home, you will be in a twelve foot high foyer with original woodwork and stained glass windows on the staircase. There are two homey and comfortable parlors to sit in, to read or play board games or just to sit listen to the classical music that is continuously playing. The formal dining room is where the candlelight full hot seated gourmet breakfasts are served every morning. Fine antiques and art are abound in the is lovely home. Upstairs there are five bedrooms, all with their own private bathrooms. The names of the rooms are; Love, Joy, Peace, Tranquility and Serenity. Love and Joy are rooms with King-size beds and private baths with both showers and claw foot soaking tubs. Tranquility is a lovely room with a Queen-size bed and a private bathroom with both a shower and a claw foot soaking tub. Peace and Serenity, have Queen-size beds and modern bathrooms with stall showers. This is a lovely place to stay for your lodging needs. Among the extra amenities; there is an early morning coffee service delivered just outside your door, central heat and air, ceiling fans over each bed, freshly ironed sheets, chocolates and fresh flowers in your room. Truly, a lovely place to get away from your everyday concerns and worries. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing