We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great weekend getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Taylor House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilmington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Taylor House Inn
Ranked #4 of 17 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great weekend getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2009

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at the Taylor House Inn to celebrate our 10th anniversary. We stayed in the "Love" room, appropriately enough, which was big and extremely comfortable. The innkeeper Scott was attentive but not overbearing, and the breakfasts were excellent. The Inn is within easy walking distance to the middle of town on the river, and the historical district of Wilmington is best seen on foot. Wilmington is a charming place and we'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCGlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    25
    1
    5
    9
See reviews for
31
197
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
new york city
Level Contributor
107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Taylor House Inn for 4 days this October. This was the first time i stayed in a B&B(i'm in my 60's).The experience was better than i had expected. I was concerned about not having the 20th Century amenities. I didn't seem to matter, although Scott did get me a TV. Scott and Karen were great hosts. The inn was very close to downtown so we could walk there, the room was very comfortable and larger then the usually hotel room and the breakfasts were delicious. It was also interesting to meet the other guests for breakfast . Scott was very helpful with questions we had about Wilmington and the surrounding area. If we return to the area we would definately stay here again as well as recommend it to our friends.

  • Liked — proximity to downtown and the breakfasts
  • Disliked — no internet
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank diandira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2008

Splendid example of an old Wilmington house; very pleasant and helpful host; comfortable, spacious, quiet room; good shower and pristine bathroom; excellent location - historic street; superb breakfast; tonnes of local information, including directions and books. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2008

We stayed at the Taylor House Inn last weekend and had a great time. House is beautiful and overall experience was excellent. Scott gave us good advice about things to do and where to eat. Short walk into the center of Wilmington made it very easy to get about on foot.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rugby06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2008

We just experienced a wonderful, relaxing weekend at the Taylor House. Everything was just perfect--from the location to the comfortable beds to the elegant breakfasts. We were very impressed with the decor of this beautiful older home right in the city of Wilmington. You are within walking distance of many of the sites in the city. Scott was so helpful with restaurants and directions.
I would highly recommend this B and B to anyone that is looking for friendly hosts, wonderful food and and quiet relaxing home away from home.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank luckylake97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midway Park
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2008

We checked in and it was beautiful and the owner was very kind and just welcomed us in with the kindest heart, you felt like family. The feel was very shabby chic meets victorian, you never wanted to leave. We stayed in room Joy and it was so quaint and peaceful with beautiful furniture and an enormous comfortable bed that you never wanted to get out of! We had a private bathroom which was nice and outside our room was a buffet style hutch that you could make yourself a cup of tea and they brought up fresh ice tea and there was a mini fridge to keep things in and it was stocked with drinks and in the morning there was coffee waiting for us. We were just a few blocks from dowtown and the owner was very informed of the places to eat and go and had menus on hand from all the establishments. He was honest and saved us from spending money where we would have regreted it!!!!! We had such a lovely time we didnt think it could get better.... but it did! Breakfast is served at 9am when we were there, We came down to the dining room and it was fully arranged and there was coffee and orange juice a plate of fruit and homemade muffins that were to die for!!!! We were then served french toast that was not made from bread out of a bag it was unique and fresh and it was just perfect, not too filling but made you full! We were treated so well and the price was amazing for the service and feel! We will definately have to come again in the near future!

  • Liked — It felt like homw
  • Disliked — We couldn't stay longer
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank carlygirljean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2008

We spent the best vacation of our lives in Wilmington. The Taylor House Inn was a big part of our glorious trip. The rooms were clean and attractive; the breakfast was gourmet and served beautifully. Thank you Scott and Karen for a memorable experience.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank wyncreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coastline Inn
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.6 mi away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#18 of 44 in Wilmington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riverview Suites
Riverview Suites
#27 of 44 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wilmingtonian
The Wilmingtonian
#19 of 44 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
6.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taylor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taylor House Inn

Property: Taylor House Inn
Address: 14 N 7th St, Wilmington, NC 28401-4645
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Historic home is on a quiet one-way brick paved residential street, just six blocks up from the Cape Fear River in Historic downtown Wilmington. Upon arriving, there is a lovely front porch with rocking chairs and swings to pass the day in and catch the cool breezes coming off from the river. Entering this lovely home, you will be in a twelve foot high foyer with original woodwork and stained glass windows on the staircase. There are two homey and comfortable parlors to sit in, to read or play board games or just to sit listen to the classical music that is continuously playing. The formal dining room is where the candlelight full hot seated gourmet breakfasts are served every morning. Fine antiques and art are abound in the is lovely home. Upstairs there are five bedrooms, all with their own private bathrooms. The names of the rooms are; Love, Joy, Peace, Tranquility and Serenity. Love and Joy are rooms with King-size beds and private baths with both showers and claw foot soaking tubs. Tranquility is a lovely room with a Queen-size bed and a private bathroom with both a shower and a claw foot soaking tub. Peace and Serenity, have Queen-size beds and modern bathrooms with stall showers. This is a lovely place to stay for your lodging needs. Among the extra amenities; there is an early morning coffee service delivered just outside your door, central heat and air, ceiling fans over each bed, freshly ironed sheets, chocolates and fresh flowers in your room. Truly, a lovely place to get away from your everyday concerns and worries. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing