We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Place to Stay in Wilson” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Wilson Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Wilson Downtown
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Wilson
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Stay in Wilson”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

This was my first trip ever to Wilson and this hotel. The common areas were all very neat and clean. Check-in and Check-out both went very smoothly and the staff were very professional. The room was very clean and quiet. The bed was very comfortable and had several pillows of various firmness to satisfy any guest. I slept restfully all night long on the bed. The bathroom was well stocked with towels and other supplies. The shower had an abundance of hot water and warmed up quickly. The hair dryer worked very nicely. The ironing board was a bit flimsy but the iron was clean and worked well. One of the most important things for me was that the room heating/cooling system was very quiet. Some hotels have those cheap "under the window" units that come on repeatedly throughout the night to disrupt your sleep. The room was very quiet. The morning breakfast was sufficient but a bit sparse. I did enjoy the automatic pancake maker that popped out two tasty pancakes in about 90 seconds. I did not have a chance to use any of the other services (business center, workout room, or pool) so I can't address those. Overall, a great value for the money.

Room Tip: The 5th floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SterlingDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    39
    9
    4
    6
See reviews for
33
17
5
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kearny, NJ
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

This was my second time staying at the hotel. The decor, rooms, and staff are great. It's a non-smoking hotel but our room smelled of cigarette smoke this time and "other" smoke wafted into our room the previous time. The hotel can't help drug addicts so I let that pass. What I can't let go is the fact that my wife found a baby roach on the bathroom wall the day we were leaving. I was going to let that go, but when we got home and found one in our suitcase, then I knew I had to say something. I did mention the baby roach upon checkout so hopefully this is a one time incident, and they had the room fumigated. I had other relatives stay in a room across the hall and they had no problems. I'm just not a fan of roaches. The continental breakfast kept on running out of stuff and wasn't the best in the world.

Room Tip: The 2nd and 4th floors have ice and vending machines. If you don't want to travel to get those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ominnicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shari1964, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Wilson Downtown, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
I want to thank you for corresponding with me via email and am glad this seems to be an isolated issue. Here at the HIE Wilson Downtown we pride ourselves on clean and updated rooms. Please call me when you plan on coming in again and I look forward to making your stay a pleasant one!

Regards,
Shari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, DE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

I have been staying at this hotel quite often for about a year. I HAVE ALWAYS HAD PERFECT SERVICE! The staff are very friendly and accomadating to my needs. The front desk person, Shaquia Worsley, is knowledgable, attentive to your needs and truely a great asset to this hotel! The rooms, the lobby and the dining areas are so clean! The only place I will stay while in the Wilson, NC area!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

My stay at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites was very enjoyable. Erika Jenkins and her professional staff made checking in easy. My family and I were comfortable during our stay. The room was in pristine condition and there are several restaurants within walking distance. We will definetly come back. C. Edwards

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CLEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

Thanks for making our soccer tournament so easy. The staff, especially Ericka the manager, were very flexible and willing to do whatever it took to make our team have a pleasant stay. We were there for 4 nights, and they helped with laundry, computer issues, breakfast requests, etc. I highly recomment that anyone going to Wilson, NC plan their stay at this hotel. The price was very reasonable as well!

Room Tip: Near elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debgrossman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kernersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

The thing I love about Holiday Inn Express in general is the chain's consistency. I've stayed at HIE's in a variety of locations and they are, in my experience, always clean, always well-equipped, always comfortable and the free breakfasts are always ample. I've stayed at the Downtown Wilson location twice and I have found it to be an excellent representation of what Holiday Inn Express is all about. No, this is not a resort or a luxury hotel. However, if you need a clean, comfortable place to stay while just passing through or for a few nights on business, you can trust that the Holiday Inn Express will more than meet your needs. In addition, I have found the staff at this location to be extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelin_Tamiwithani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shari1964, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Wilson Downtown, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Thank you for the kind words and noticing that the staff enjoys what they do best....making the guest feel at home! We enjoyed having you here and look forward to your return trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and courteous. The rooms were spacious and clean. I really enjoyed the evening snacks and refreshment it gave me an opportunity to meet some of the other guest at the hotel. I also liked the small convenient store located in the lobby, the item were not grossly over priced like some of the other hotels. Whenever i wanted something to snack on it was wonderful not having to leave the hotel, great idea whoever thougth of it.

Mia Hyman

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shari1964, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Wilson Downtown, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Dear Ms Hyman,

Thank you so much for sending this comment to Trip Advisor! We enjoy our guests at the managers reception as much as they enjoy the reception. It seems to bring people together as well as give them a little something t eat and drink. We look forward to seeing you again.
Warmest regards from the HIE Wilson Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilson hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilson Downtown
4.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wilson
4.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Wilson I-95
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Wilson
4.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilson
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilson I-95
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Wilson Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Wilson Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Wilson Downtown
Address: 2308 Montgomery Dr W, Wilson, NC 27893-4475
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Wilson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Wilson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Wilson Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Wilson Business District, is the choice for discerning business travelers in Wilson, NC. Our location is close to numerous local businesses and only blocks away from a wide variety of restaurants. Our beautiful five-story hotel features secure interior entrances and 2 conference rooms. Our guest complimentary business center features 2 computers, laser printer and high-speed Internet access! We also feature a fitness center and outdoor pool. All guest rooms have free high-speed wireless Internet access, refrigerators, microwaves, coffee machines, irons/ ironing boards and hair dryers. We know you will enjoy your stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Wilson Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Wilson Downtown Hotel Wilson
Holiday Inn Wilson
Wilson Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing