We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BowWOW!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Wilson
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Wilson
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“BowWOW!”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Travelling on I-95 is a challenge with a dog - so many hotels won't accept pets and sneaking one in is too much stress. So, on my most recent trip from NJ to Florida, I had reservations at a hotel in Fayettville that accepted dogs, but was tired and didn't want to continue the drive so my daughter checked on a pets accepted site and found Candlewood Suites in Wilson. She then went to Tripadvisor for reviews as I am very fussy when it comes to hotels and cleanliness. The reviews spoke highly of the property and since it accepted pets, I decided to stay there. From the moment I arrived to my departure the experience was great - the staff on duty when I checked in was welcoming to me and my furkid - had treats on the front desk for her. The hotel lobby and the room were very, very clean -- I was so impressed with the "kitchen pantry" that was well stocked and worked on the "honor system" - (how refreshing in this day and age). When not travelling with Gidget, I generally stay at high end hotels, with 5 star ratings, and prices to match -- Candlewood Suites in Wilson has put many of those properties to shame as it offered high quality at a low price. Will definitely put this on my "preferred stay" list, and you should too!

Room Tip: Advised by the staff that the first floor can be a bit noisy, so I was put on the second floor and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    32
    23
    9
    23
See reviews for
39
28
22
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Grove, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This hotel is a great place to stay. The staff are friendly, the location is great (within walking distance to both the airport and Walmart), and the rooms are very nice (the pillows leave much to be desired). There are many amenities that add to the experience (full kitchen-including dishwasher, full-sized fridge and microwave, pots, utensils, stove, etc.-lending library, dvd player, and free laundry access) and few that detract (no breakfast, slow internet, crappy pillows-yes, they're very thin-and no pool). However, the ups easily outweigh the downs.
Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lray801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1Skip
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

The staff is very courteous and helpful. The rooms are clean and relaxing. The staff makes you feel that the hotel is the next best thing to home. Free washer and dryer use for guest as well as a nice workout room. A very nice covered area with tables and chairs out back with gas grills should you decide to grill a steak. I don't think you could find a better place to stay due to location, you are close to shopping and places to eat. Just a all around great place v to rest, relax and enjoy a comfortable stay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Skip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
222 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Booked a standard room and called a day prior to check-in to requeste an upgrade to a King Suite, since I was traveling with my wife and kids. Simple, right? Well....

I ended up speaking with people at the front desk over a two-day period who simply could not (or who didn't know how to) make the change in the system to get me a 1-bedroom suite. Although eager and willing to help, Cheryl (girl at front desk) advised me that due to a "computer glitch" my would-be upgraded room, though available in the hotel's inventory, was not able to be assigned. I was a little surprised that I was not able to be accommodated as I advised Crystal that I am a Platinum IHG Rewards club member.

To make a long story short, when I checked in, Ashley - the overnight girl at the front desk - made it happen for me. She was kind, efficient, cute and most important: capable & competent. Though she did not acknowledge my status at check-in or go through the usual Elite member salutations generally standard for IHG hotels that I'm used to getting, Ashley got the job done! Within a couple minutes after handing my ID and credit card to Ashley, I was inside of my 1 bedroom suite. Issue resolved; customer satisfied.

And *that's* why this hotel gets a 5 out of 5.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacobandjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little River, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

What a wonderful stay. Great service and caring, thank you to Cheryl Alley. We were traveling just after surgery. The home atmosphere and the cozy recliner was my husbands favorite thing about our stay. Mine was the kind reception and the fresh smell of the bedding. So com-fee, I didn't want to get out of bed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fitisit57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina Coast, North Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Rooms were clean. Staff was immensely helpful. Price was very good for what we received. Full-size refrigerator and kitchen stuff was nice addition. Choose the 3rd floor to avoid pets, which is very important to us. Extremely convenient location in Wilson.

Room Tip: Ask about no pet floors if you wish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asburydan40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I have spent the last 2 months living at Candlewood, as I have several contracts in Wilson, and I have all intentions of staying at Candlewood through Thanksgiving. From my first night there, Laurie (manager), Rachel, Brooke, Cheryl and Kaitlin have done a wonderful job making my crew and myself feel welcome. Everyone is nice, friendly and professional. The housekeeping staff is obviously committed to providing the cleanest rooms possible. The rooms are designed very well, complete with a full size refrigerator, a large microwave, a stove top, dishwasher & a good assortment of pots, pans, dishes, etc. The bed sleeps great, very comfortable. There is a nice covered Gazebo, complete with patio furniture and propane grills, out back, which is a relaxing spot to watch the sunset.
Laurie has made every effort to address any concerns I have had, which have been minimal, and has gone above and beyond to provide any requested amenities. She has answered many inquiries from where to eat to where to get a haircut. The Candlewood is located in a great location, very convenient to resturants, grocery stores and multiple various retail facilities, most within walking distance.
I have spent the last 25 years traveling due to my job responsibilities, and the Candlewood is one of, if not the nicest, overall lodging experiences I have had. While I miss being home tremendously, the Candlewood's amenities along with Laurie's management and her staff's commitment to my comfort, has made my sojourn quite pleasent, a "home away from home".

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelanieJ566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilson hotels
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Wilson I-95
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wilson
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 17 in Wilson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilson
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilson Downtown
3.4 mi away
Sleep Inn Wilson I-95
Sleep Inn Wilson I-95
#7 of 17 in Wilson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Wilson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Wilson

Property: Candlewood Suites Wilson
Address: 2915 Independence Drive West, Wilson, NC 27896-8224
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Wilson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Wilson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Wilson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Newest Extended Stay Hotel in Wilson, NC You can enjoy an affordable stay in a convenient location when you choose the pet friendly Candlewood Suites extended stay hotel of Wilson, North Carolina. Our hotel's location is just a short drive from area attractions like the Willow Springs Country Club & Golf Course and area shopping malls. You can enjoy an entertaining movie at the Carmike Cinema or see a performance at the Edna Boykin Cultural Center. To learn about the area, take a walk or drive among the more than 25 nationally registered historic buildings in historic, downtown Wilson. Lodging here puts you in close proximity to Merck, Kidde Technologies Inc., Bridgestone/Firestone Inc., Cott Beverages, Leiner Health Products, Perdue Pharmaceutical and other businesses in downtown Wilson. Our hotel offers unlimited access to our state-of-the-art business center to help you work efficiently. Unlike other Wilson, North Carolina hotels, we offer the ideal amenities long-term travelers want, such as free laundry facilities, a 24-hour fitness center and our 24-hour Candlewood Cupboard convenience store. Each studio and one-bedroom suite is designed with a fully equipped kitchen, our 'Comforts of Home' bedding, a 32-inch TV with a DVD player and a workspace with an over-sized desk, two chairs, a speakerphone and free high-speed Internet access. Call today to reserve a suite in our extended stay hotel of Wilson, NC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Wilson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Wilson Hotel Wilson
Wilson Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing