We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this is the worst HIE I have ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Wilson I-95
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Wilson
Reviewed 1 May 2012

this place is nasty dirty ..The funiture is all torn.. there was feces on the toitet.. the garbage can was full the floor was dirty awful place . I called to complain and the phone at the front desk was off the hook ..The gentleman at the desk was very edlerly and so slow at the computer he had about 6 people trying to check in and everyone was very mad we got in about 12am and had to get up at 430 to be on the road again so we just went to bed.Then we leave and we do have a 4 year old and a 2 year old but we tried as hard as we could to leave as fast as possible when we got tothe lobby the old guy yelled at us saying that he had complaints about noise i mean we were in the hallway like 3 mins.I told him he did'nt have no where near as many complaints as we did abut this nasty place he said to go someplace else next time. I wrote holiday inn all they said is sorry we will tell them to do better big deal

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarahhallock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wilson I-95, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Dear sarahhallock,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. We hope you enjoyed the location of our hotel. We are deeply sorry you found our hotel staff service and your room conditions less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.


Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Wilson I-95
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband and I booked this hotel on our way back to Florida. Wilson has many other chains available here but he has a points system with International Hotels Group so we stay in HIE on the road. There are actually two Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Wilson; one is the "downtown" property and this one is the I-95 HIE. Perhaps next time we stop in Wilson we should stay in the downtown property! I don't know what past reviewers have seen when they've stayed here but it can't be the same place I stayed in this weekend. As soon as we got to the room (we booked a double Queen room, there weren't any suites available) I wished we'd kept going. The bathroom sink is at the front door, literally. I could brush my teeth from the hall outside the room! The rest of the "bathroom" is one step away from the sink; using it reminds me of the dollhouse I had when I was younger (i.e. very small!!) It's not the cleanest bathroom either so I'd love to see some other reviewers' rooms here. There was some mold and water marks in the bathroom that I am sure will not come out of the mostly plastic module. Honestly, the bathroom is so small, you could wash with one foot in the toilet and one in the shower.

The room didn't really smell clean but we couldn't open the windows as the lower panel seem to be coming away from its casement. No matter. If we did, we would have had the greasy scents of the Cracker Barrel, which is about 100 yards away and can be seen from the our window, wafting through the room.

If we hadn't checked in at 10 pm we would have asked to move or maybe just looked for something else in town. As it was, we only stayed there one night and THAT was enough. Yes, yes, breakfast is included and check-in was easy (there wasn't anyone else checking in or indeed anyone else to be seen except the rather uninterested clerk at the front desk.) And yes, the walls seem thin, even though we were given a room on the top (of two) floors. We could still here people in the next room watching tv. The hotel is about two minutes away from the I-95 exit but I don't think proximity to the road makes up for the unappealing property.

In short, if you do have a choice when staying in Wilson, do not stay in this hotel. Please, do yourself that favor!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jamacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wilson I-95, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2012

Dear Jamacat,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you liked the location of our hotel as well as our breakfast. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry your room accommodations fell below your expectations. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

The Holiday Inn Express in Wilson, NC was a nice surprise! The staff was friendly, rooms clean, beds firm, flat screen TV, and a nice free breakfast selection. This hotel is sandwiched between a McDonald’s and Cracker Barrel!!!! I was most impressed with the number of TV channels because I LOVE TV! It’s basically like having the advanced cable package.

The only disadvantage about the hotel is that it is a true travel one night stop hotel. I was able to hear doors closing and people talking in the hall. Other than that, I was pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NTR2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

On our way back from Florida we booked a night at this hotel. It is very close to I-95, the rooms are very clean, comfortable beds, easy check-in and breakfast included.
I agree with other reviewers that wall are thin and you could hear the steps above, but there is always an option to ask for top floor if available.

Room Tip: Top floor for less noise and further away from entrance door
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYLulu21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

This is a wonderful hotel the rooms are clean the suite is gorgeous I love it cannot wait to come back again and again and again. It is right off of the highway there are places to eat all around very convenient to I 95 housekeeping is very friendly and concerned about your comfort

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qsheba71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Check-in was efficient and front desk staff was excellent, very helpful and polite. Lots of eatery beside this HIE. Room, bed and bathroom were in tip-top condition. Breakfast was typical of HIE and portions were generous. As pointed out by past reviews, the walls are thin and one may hear the neighbours when the TV is turned off.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zeatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed here one night last weekend and were very surprised at how thin the walls were. We could hear the animated conversations in the room next door and had to call the front desk to request that they keep their voices down. It was a shame because they were not overly loud, the walls were just so thin. I would not recommend that anyone who needs to sleep and have not lost their hearing stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilson hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wilson
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilson I-95
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Wilson I-95
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilson
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 17 in Wilson
201 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilson Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Wilson I-95? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Wilson I-95

Address: 5000 Hayes Pl W, Wilson, NC 27896-9740
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Wilson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Wilson
Price Range: £81 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Wilson I-95 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Wilson NC. Located off I95 in Wilson, NC. Whether traveling I95 South or North, we are located midway between NY and FL. This best Wilson NC hotel offers you service dedication and a memorable room experience. Attractions: Imagination Station Wilson NC, Southern National Speedway, Botanical Garden, Rose Garden, Outlet Mall North Carolina, JR Outlet, Babe Ruth Baseball Museum, Carolina Mudcats Baseball, County Line Raceway, and the Historical Walking Tour and Antique. Local Businesses: Merck, BB T Bank, Walter Kidde Aerospace, Bridgestone Firestone Tire, Cott Beverage, Leiner Health Product, Saint Gobain, Livedo, Ball Corporation, Perdue Pharmaceutical, and Stock. Cities nearby: Rocky Mount NC, Kenly NC, Goldsboro NC, Greenville NC, Selma NC, and Zebulon. Schools: Barton College NC, Wilson Technical Community College, Eastern NC School for the Deaf, and ECU. Golf: Wilson Country Club, and the Wedgewood Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Wilson I-95 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Wilson i-95 Hotel Wilson
Holiday Inn Wilson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing