We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smelly” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Wilson I-95

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Wilson I-95
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Wilson
York, PA
Level Contributor
196 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Smelly”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Driving from Florida back to PA we picked this hotel as a midway stop for the night. Being a gold priority club member it was strange the receptionist did not acknowledge this, which is rare. The lobby was okay but when we got to the second floor the first thing we noticed was the strong odor of cigarettes. The signs on all the doors of the rooms said no smoking however this was not being enforced. We hoped our room wouldn't stink but it was equally reeking of smoke. We tried to open the window but it had wasps on the sill. I haven't been in this kind of smoking situation in a long time. Usually you have to sign a paper that says you will be charged a gigantic fee if you smoke in the room. What is going on with this hotel? Other then that the room was small and very dated with a chain lock on the door. Didn't get much sleep there, the bed wasn't very comfortable and the air conditioner/heater was extremely noisy. I would never stay there again, couldn't wait to leave.

Room Tip: Get a room somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amsirius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wilson I-95, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
I am sorry to hear about your experience at our hotel. I will certainly be speaking with our front desk staff to remind them of the importance of acknowledging Rewards Club members. Loyalty is important to us and yours should have been recognized. We do have 6 rooms in the property that are smoking and they are on the second floor. I am sorry that you had to experience the smell of the cigarettes in your non smoking room. All of the rooms on the first floor are non smoking. Our front desk staff should have spent more time with you to educate you on the hotel and find a room that would best meet your needs. Once again, I apologize for your unsatisfactory stay and hope you will give us another chance. Please feel free to contact me if you would like to discuss your experience in more detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    47
    25
    15
    11
See reviews for
52
45
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
164 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

we are partial to holiday inn express facilities-specially when they're new which this one is apparently not. slightly faded around the edges but otherwise ok and a good value. our dog is on the larger size but the clerk at the desk said it was a slow night and booked us in - thankfully 'cause it was christmas night and so nice to find room at the inn.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mb300sr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wilson I-95, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel with others. We are always working to improve our property and feedback such as yours helps us to highlight what we need to focus on. I am glad you and your pet found room at the inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

We were driving down from New York to Florida for Christmas when we hit a deer on i95 and got stuck on the hotel exit. They accommodated every one of our needs, offered any help possible, and took a lot of stresses associated with damaging your vehicle off of us with their friendly and helpful demeanor. The next day when we were stuck waiting for our rental car for hours, they accommodated us by allowing us to have as late a check out as we needed. They even brought us some cake from the staff Christmas lunch they were having and offered to help with the cost f the room the second night if we were still stranded. I am constantly driving back and forth from ny to ga and I know that I will stay here every time I travel from now on! They were amazing!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pandaqu33n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wilson I-95, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words about your stay at our property. We are just happy that we could be a help in such a stressful situation. We hope to see you again as you travel back and forth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Here for a soccer weekend. Old property but nice staff who work with you, breakfast was really pretty good. The last match was on a rainy cold day. Manager let us check out really late so my daughter could take a warm shower and change into dry clothes for the 7 hour trip home. For the price the property was worth it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigHungryAsian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wilson I-95, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you so much for sharing the good experience you and your team had at our hotel. We enjoy hosting the larger groups and it was a pleasure to have you all. We hope we get to host your team next year and hope you had a good and safe trip home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithfield, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

We were driving to Florida for Thanksgiving but weather and traffic prevented us from making it to our planned stopping point in Florence, SC... we pulled into this hotel with no reservation. The hotel was bright and the room clean and quiet. The staff was very friendly and helpful. On our return trip we had a negative experience at our hotel and walked out. We stayed here again as a back up so they saved the day twice on one vacation

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LewAndBobbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wilson I-95, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
I am so glad that our hotel and staff made your Thanksgiving travel a pleasant experience. We love to hear when guests enjoyed their stays. We hope to see you the next time you are traveling to Florida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Convenient to I 95 with a Cracker Barrel in the back parking lot was a plus. Hotel was clean but small. Lobby has couch and two chairs and "business area" is a desk with a desktop computer and chair. Rooms were outdated with old card locks that did not work 8 out of 10 tries; however, we were told the hotel is in the "process of changing locks" and we were to expect difficulty with the locks. GREAT NEWS when you are bleary-eyed checking in at 11 pm after driving all day. Front desk staff courteous and patient each of the 12-15 times I had them walk down the hall to unlock my room with a master key. Management obviously frustrated with the situation, and so was I. They did make the situation right with me by comping a nights' stay (1 of 4). Breakfast was typical, and area to eat is small and was very crowded every morning. Just seemed cramped. Room has split sink and toilet/shower area. Again very odd and outdated. Room was normal sized, but mattresses were new and firm. Flat screen TV good. AC/heat was good. Overall, older hotel compared to newer HIE which have bigger lobbies, bathrooms, dining areas. Management (Kathleen) very nice and honestly trying hard to make guests happy with stay

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GBO22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wilson I-95, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel with others. I would like to once again apologize for the issues with your door lock and thank you for your patience in dealing with it. I would also like to thank you for your kind words and compliments towards our staff. They are a great bunch of people who really enjoy taking care of our guests and it is always nice when their efforts are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Phyllis and Kathleen really took care of my family while they stay at Hotel during our family reunion from the first day when,I book the rooms Phyllis was very nice and respectful person,I will recommend this Hotel to my family and friends in the near future thank you was again for making my family very welcome and showing good customer service. Gwen Lee

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwendolynevettelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wilson I-95, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your enjoyable experience at our hotel. We take great pride in our customer service and love it when guests feel appreciated and valued. We enjoyed having your entire family with us for the reunion and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilson hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilson I-95
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wilson
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Wilson I-95
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilson
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilson
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 17 in Wilson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Wilson I-95? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Wilson I-95

Property: Holiday Inn Express Wilson I-95
Address: 5000 Hayes Place, Wilson, NC 27896
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Wilson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Wilson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Wilson I-95 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Wilson NC. Located off I95 in Wilson, NC. Whether traveling I95 South or North, we are located midway between NY and FL. This best Wilson NC hotel offers you service dedication and a memorable room experience. Attractions: Imagination Station Wilson NC, Southern National Speedway, Botanical Garden, Rose Garden, Outlet Mall North Carolina, JR Outlet, Babe Ruth Baseball Museum, Carolina Mudcats Baseball, County Line Raceway, and the Historical Walking Tour and Antique. Local Businesses: Merck, BB T Bank, Walter Kidde Aerospace, Bridgestone Firestone Tire, Cott Beverage, Leiner Health Product, Saint Gobain, Livedo, Ball Corporation, Perdue Pharmaceutical, and Stock. Cities nearby: Rocky Mount NC, Kenly NC, Goldsboro NC, Greenville NC, Selma NC, and Zebulon. Schools: Barton College NC, Wilson Technical Community College, Eastern NC School for the Deaf, and ECU. Golf: Wilson Country Club, and the Wedgewood Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Wilson I-95 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Wilson i-95 Hotel Wilson
Holiday Inn Wilson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing