We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Winston-Salem
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed here for three nights over Thanksgiving. The hotel is in good shape for its age and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Check-in and check-out were slam-dunk easy and they were very prepared for us when we checked in late in the evening.
The room was clean and comfortable and in relatively good repair. The bed was very comfortable and the desk had a nice extra outlet that had 3 110v receptacles and 2 USB receptacles for charging up all the electronics.
The breakfast is good for what it is. Don't expect made-to-order, but for the price you pay it is a good value.
We did see several people with dogs while there, and occasionally we could hear them, but nothing that kept us awake or disturbed us. The walls do not seem to offer much sound-proofing, but again for us it was not a problem.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PGRoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (653)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

457 - 463 of 653 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013

One of my 3 favorite hotels anywhere Always clean friendly. Great location. Nice breakfast sparse but nice stay several times a year. Never dissapointed. Great staff ThTs all I gave to say But I need 200 letters so I am writing rugs

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank donnar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Typically, La Quinta Inn & Suites provides excellent value for its prices. However, the location in Winston-Salem, North Carolina disappoints. If you like La Quinta and in the Piedmont Triad area, I recommend the La Quinta in Greensboro. I have stayed at the Greensboro location before and it offers better value than its Winston-Salem location.

There were disappointments at this location. First, I was surprised I could hear toilets being flushed in adjacent rooms. It is such a jarring sound that I left the television playing while I fell asleep to cover up the noise. I can't remember being in a motel where I could hear a toilet flush from another room.

Second, I was disappointed in the logistics of parking. Parking in front and parking to the left of the motel is off-limits since it is claimed by the adjacent restaurants. This makes it difficult to do a check-in with luggage in tow. It is a definite minus when patrons of a motel are regulated to park behind the motel and use the keycard to gain entry.

Third, the broadband WiFi is very slow. I could not stream any on-line radio without the WiFi buffering every 30 seconds. I finally turned off the WiFi and used my carrier's 4g/LTE to avoid the WiFi issues.

In closing, the location is convenient and close to many restaurants and Hanes Mall. However, next time, I will stay at the location in Greensboro.

Room Tip: If you like La Quinta stay at the Greensboro location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

The hotel was easily accessible from the highway. There are several dining options within walking distance and a plethora within a few minutes drive. The hotel as a whole was fairly clean. The bathroom floor in my room was a little dirty or worn looking. There is nothing that stands out as superior nor inferior. The noise level is a bit high with seemingly thin walls (lots of audible hallway talk and next room flushing) and very loud heating/air unit.

If you are a fan of small touches, such as nice bathroom soaps, high quality toilet paper, extra soft towels, brand name coffee, etc, then this is not the place. However, for the price, the rooms are adequately sized and have good bedding. In all, I would certainly visit again for a business pass through but would not consider this a vacationing stop.

Room Tip: Avoid first floor - too much foot traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mnctriptaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The location of the hotel is convenient, parking is easy, it is clean and the bed is comfy. Quite good for the price. Walls are definitely thin, I could hear the toilet above me every time it flushed. Bathroom doors are saloon-style, which is a bit strange and doesn't offer much privacy. Breakfast was a typical continental breakfast, nothing extraordinary.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This hotel is a gem. Convenient location to the interstate, clean, very large rooms, pet-friendly, all at a price you'd pay for a cut-rate motel. Several excellent restaurants adjacent, as well as a drug store. I only gave it 4 stars because I reserve 5 stars for the best resort hotels. Fridge and microwave in rooms. Small exercise room if this is very important to you. This is a no-brainer for staying in Winston-Salem.

Room Tip: If the highly rated Tavern restaurant next door has a long wait time, try the equally good Jimmies O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swtraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

If you value your sleep, know that the pet policy allows dogs under 50 lbs. in any room. I love dogs, they aren't the problem. Their owners are the problem. At early hours, selfish guests go down to breakfast or leave the hotel and their dogs alone. The result? Barking which can be heard through the paper thin walls throughout the floor. Their policy should be amended to say that abandoning dogs during a stay results in a fine. And also for people that aren't traveling with pets, clearly flag on all websites that pets are allowed in all rooms. Then people with young children will know to expect that after 6 AM, they will likely hear barking. Again not the dogs, it's the stupid untrained people to blame and La Quinta for not policing, not caring.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hanes Mall Hotel
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Winston Salem/ Hanes Mall
8.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem
Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem
#7 of 38 in Winston Salem
560 reviews
9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall
Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall
#25 of 38 in Winston Salem
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Winston-Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Winston-Salem

Address: 2020 Griffith Rd, Winston Salem, NC 27103-5509
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Winston Salem
#4 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
#10 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
#11 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range: £59 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Winston-Salem 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Winston-Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Winston - Salem Hotel Winston Salem
La Quinta Winston Salem
La Quinta Hotel Winston
Winston Salem La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing