We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the decline”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2012

I have stayed at this hotel 6-10 times over the past several years. Although the property is dated and somewhat shabby, the rooms are spacious, the facility has a pet-friendly policy, and the location is convenient. My last stay, however, was a huge disappointment. The hotel is clearly in decline, both in facility and service.

Sounds from other rooms, especially footsteps from above, have always been a problem at this hotel. On my last visit, however, this was the least of my concerns. My room was never serviced in the course of a three-day weekend. When I complained to the desk, I was told, "We're an extended stay facility. We don't clean the rooms daily." Later, someone else at the front desk confirmed that this is untrue, as I already knew. In addition, amenities were not working properly, including the tv remote (inoperable) and room card key (worked occasionally, and only with repeated attempts). Complaints to the front desk were either ignored or inadequately addressed. I was given a $10 discount on my room rate, I assumed per night, but when I received my bill, the discount was a total of $10. Another call to the front desk resulted in an additional $10 discount. Even so, I consider this minimal compensation for the inconveniences.

I will not stay in this hotel again. The shabby facility, lack of service, poor response from the management, and problematic amenities far outweigh the good location and spacious rooms. A major renovation of both the facility and attitude of the staff is needed to live up to the Marriott name.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelereda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janelle R, General Manager at Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

I would like to thank you for spending the time to communicate with us about your recent visit. Honest and open feedback allows us to celebrate when we have success and compels us to focus upon areas where we can improve. I am sorry you experienced a number of issues during your last stay and that this placed a negative impression of our hotel compared to over visits in the past.

Certainly we value and appreciate our returning guests. It is our goal to ensure every guest has a positive stay. Unfortunately, we did not accomplish this in your case. Your comments have been shared with the staff as a training tool to improve communication. As stated in the email I sent to your account, I would like the opportunity of another chance to show you the great service I know we can offer.

Thank you,
Janelle Richard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

387 - 389 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stay here recently for a dog show. There were 4 of us sharing the room and for a group this is a perfect setup. The bedrooms are separate with two complete bathrooms (we stayed in the 2 level, 2 bed suite). One person slept on the sofa bed, and honestly, that was barely a step up from sleeping on the floor! It was old and saggy and awful. It wasn't even a comfortable couch to sit on when not a bed. The place is older, an in the need of a renovation, but our room was clean. The kitchen was well stocked and had everything we needed. It's a bit tired, but the room setup is great for groups, and clean.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tobandals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAnnie H, General Manager at Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2015

Good Afternoon Tobandals - I apologize for your experience, and it has been addressed with the relevant department. Thank you for giving us your feedback and we invite you back to our property when visiting the Winston-Salem area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: フロントデスクがある棟に近い部屋
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tokyosingle_aki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAnnie H, General Manager at Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
2.2 mi away
Graylyn Estate
Graylyn Estate
#1 of 38 in Winston Salem
548 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Winston-Salem University
3.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Winston - Salem
4.0 mi away
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
#2 of 38 in Winston Salem
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area

Address: 7835 N Point Blvd, Winston Salem, NC 27106-3209
Region: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
#4 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
#8 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range: £97 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes away from Wake Forest University, WSSU, and downtown Winston-Salem, the Residence Inn Winston-Salem hotel’s also near local businesses like Hanes Brands, AON, Reynolds American, Pepsi, and BB&T. Our Winston-Salem Marriott hotel’s suites offer a fully equipped kitchen as well as spacious living and sleeping areas, which include our new luxurious bedding that will rival the coziness of your own bed. Start your day with our complimentary hot buffet breakfast in our Winston-Salem hotel’s gatehouse. Also located in our Residence Inn Winston-Salem gatehouse are our meeting room, fitness center, and business center. Have your own computer? Our Winston-Salem Marriott provides free wireless Internet throughout the hotel. Take advantage of our Winston-Salem hotel’s pool, heated spa, sport court, and complimentary use of the local YMCA to melt tensions away. End your day with our Residence Inn Winston-Salem Marriott complimentary evening social or a late night snack from our market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Winston-Salem Hotel Winston Salem
Winston Salem Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing