We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food…Great Stay…Not so nice Sofabed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food…Great Stay…Not so nice Sofabed!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My family and I arrived at this hotel on our way to the girls Deep South Basketball tournament by way of Michigan. To our surprise, this hotel is located just a few miles away from Wake Forest. The hotel was very nice and clean. The staff was very pleasant. I had more interaction with the friendly staff at the front desk and "The Breakfast Ladies". The breakfast was absolutely AMAZING! My daughter is on a travel basketball team, so we are on the road every other weekend to NC, Chicago, TN, OH, and more from Mar-Jul and we even have a trip to Vegas to play. We KNOW hotels! This place has an outdoor rim that we were able to use just to get some shots up. The weight room was a little small but, we were able to accomplish what we needed to. Some things I did NOT like were the fact that Yellow-jacket bees were EVERYWHERE!!! And the sofa bed was horrid! We usually sleep with my husband and I in the bed and 2 on the sofa bed if we have a single room. This time, three people slept in the bed. I am 6'2, my husband is 6'3 and my daughter is 6'4. My other daughter opted to take one for the team and sleep on the dreadful sofa bed. All in all, GREAT stay and MAJOR KUDOS TO THE BREAKFAST LADIES: THERESA, WANDA AND BETTY! Belgian Waffles with strawberries/blueberries and whip cream, excellent turkey sausage and eggs, red potatoes, parfaits, and much much more!!! Enjoy your stay! There are probably some spelling and grammar mistakes, which i apologize for. We just left breakfast and are now packing to make our way to Raleigh! Wish us luck!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tylar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    78
    16
    13
    13
See reviews for
181
35
8
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stone Mountain, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We traveled to WS for a special Easter Weekend at Olde Salem, God's Acre and Home Church. Everything at Residence Inn was wonderful. The only problem I noticed, being a hotel employee myself, was our keys expired after one day of a two day stay. We were not asked for positive ID upon reissuing our new keys. This was not a big issue and everything else was excellent. The Breakfast Ladies, Ms Wanda, Ms Theresa and Ms Betty, were truly special. Their upbeat positive service always started out our day perfectly. Thank you for a wonderful and memorable stay. I look forward to our next stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lowrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone Mountain, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed at the Residence Inn to attend the Moravian Easter Great Sabbath and Sunrise service in Old Salem. The room was clean and accommodating as one would expect but what made the stay most memorable was the genuine welcome and accommodation from "The Breakfast Ladies", Ms Wanda, Ms Theresa, & Ms Betty. From the moment we went upstairs to the breakfast area and were greeted enthusiastically. We were encouraged to enjoy a substantial breakfast including Ms Betty's home made biscuits and sausage gravy. Ms Wanda offered to make the waffles and bring them to the table and stopped by throughout breakfast to ask if we needed anything. Ms. Theresa made sure no one was neglected as the room filled up. Overall a great example of personal hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2014

2nd Great trip here. Staff great. Breakfast with Betty an Wanda. Was Excellent. I highly recommend .A must stay.A friendly atmosphere. House keeping speaks while getting out of car. They go the extra mile. I will come back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kind67ghyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY, USA
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for just one night while in the area for business. I was by myself and didn't need a large room with kitchen but I wanted to see what the Trip Advisor #1 rated hotel in Winston-Salem looked like. Very nice, as it turns out.

The rooms are in two story buildings arranged on the property like an apartment complex. In the center is a small "sports court" like a small tennis court, for basketball or badminton. A pool is nearby, behind the lobby building. Thk

My room was basically a spacious studio with a full kitchen. I could easily see using it for a long term stay.

A free full breakfast with a hot buffet is served in the main building. The room isn't large but seating capacity seemed to be fine. A real feature of the meal were the ladies who greeted the guests, kept the buffet stocked, and cleaned up. They were very friendly and I saw several guests converse with them as if they were old friends. I could easily see how this hotel could be a home away from home.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank jack783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blacksburg, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My family traveled to Winston Salem for a dance competition. I saw the reviews online and everyone spoke of the 'breakfast ladies'. The hotel was set up more as clusters of town homes/suites and we stayed in the penthouse. Very comfortable, very well priced and all the staff we encountered seemed to go out of their way to ensure our comfort or to just say hello. And just like most of the other reviews, the breakfast ladies are truly the BEST!! And the food was delicious!!! Saturday morning was very busy but these angels took it all in stride and kept yummy hot food coming, attended to our needs and they were very engaging to talk with. They certainly started our day out on a very good foot!! Hang on to these ladies...they are your biggest assets!!! Thanks again for a wonderful comfortable restful stay!!!

Room Tip: we stayed in the penthouse suite so be prepared for terraced steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Not only is this hotel recently renovated (loved the decor) but they have a FULL breakfast (eggs, bacon,biscuits & gravy, french toast..varies by the day, but lots of protein :). The best part was "The Breakfast Ladies" - Betty, Wanda & Theresa! It was like Mom cooking for you at home!! The mingled with the guests and made sure we had everything we needed. Everyone at the front desk was extremely helpful & friendly, taking care of all of our needs! It was a really enjoyable stay while at a 2 day conference!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cutiger80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
2.2 mi away
Graylyn Estate
Graylyn Estate
#1 of 38 in Winston Salem
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
#2 of 38 in Winston Salem
212 reviews
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Winston-Salem University
3.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Winston - Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area

Property: Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area
Address: 7835 N Point Blvd, Winston Salem, NC 27106-3209
Region: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
#4 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
#8 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes away from Wake Forest University, WSSU, and downtown Winston-Salem, the Residence Inn Winston-Salem hotel’s also near local businesses like Hanes Brands, AON, Reynolds American, Pepsi, and BB&T. Our Winston-Salem Marriott hotel’s suites offer a fully equipped kitchen as well as spacious living and sleeping areas, which include our new luxurious bedding that will rival the coziness of your own bed. Start your day with our complimentary hot buffet breakfast in our Winston-Salem hotel’s gatehouse. Also located in our Residence Inn Winston-Salem gatehouse are our meeting room, fitness center, and business center. Have your own computer? Our Winston-Salem Marriott provides free wireless Internet throughout the hotel. Take advantage of our Winston-Salem hotel’s pool, heated spa, sport court, and complimentary use of the local YMCA to melt tensions away. End your day with our Residence Inn Winston-Salem Marriott complimentary evening social or a late night snack from our market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Winston-Salem Hotel Winston Salem
Winston Salem Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing