We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay All Around!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My family of four stayed here just one night while visiting Wake Forest. From the moment we walked into the lobby late on rainy night, to leaving few crumbs at breakfast, the staff made us feel welcomed and happy to be there. DeCarlos at the front desk was incredibly helpful and knowledgeable getting us settled and with directions; the breakfast ladies crew of Miss Wanda, Miss Theresa and Miss Betty were the real deal - warm, caring, and serving up an amazing breakfast. Our room was spotless, tastefully decorated, plenty of kitchen items to tide us over until breakfast! :) We wished the rain had let up to play with the various outdoor games, but it didn't...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele_M90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed here one weekend just to get a night out away from home and we were very pleased. The service was excellent and the room was very clean. The breakfast was very good for a hotel meal. Location was in a quiet area away from the highway and main roads.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjkiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We were traveling to Myrtle Beach and needed a half way point for our stopover. What initially made me choose this property was that for an extremely reasonable price i could accomodate my husband, parents and son in a spacious 2 bedroom 2 bath loft so that everyone had "their space" ~ the room was perfect and did not disappoint!

What i did not expect was meeting the "breakfast room ladies- Miss Theresa- Miss Wanda and Miss Betty! I can tell you that not only do they serve a mean and hearty breakfast - they serve YOU! They are quick to assist with making a waffle, refreshing your eggs and more important sharing a smile, story or piece of wisdom. THEY REALLY MAKE THIS PLACE WORTH STAYING AT! ( somebody tell Marriott that these ladies are bringing them the business )!! Hello Mr. marriott- feature these ladies on your website and for Goodnes sake GIVE THEM A RAISE- they represent you well!

(Note: every member of the staff that we met at this property were sweet and helpful! A special shout to the front desk gentleman who has learned how to manage the morning shift and still remember his wedding ring)!

My mom spent so much time talking to the ladies i thought she would invite them home with us! We enjoyed their hospitality sooo much that we altered our plans for our return stopover point and came back to stay at this property so that we could visit with the "ladies" again!!

I took a picture of my mom with the ladies- hopefully i can attach it here. If not i will attach it to a separate review ( i promised the ladies)!!!

Bottom line: if you need a great place to stay with an awesome atmosphere- swimming- bball- close to really cool things ( we went to the imax 3d theatre) plus a FABULOUS breakfast with The Ladies- this is your place!! YWJ and crew from Boston/pittsburgh

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beaches4days
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Araceli and Brenda always do a wonderful job not just cleaning my room but making my kitty, Rambo, feel welcome as well. Being in a strange place away from his other cats at home, I know he appreciates their attention. Whenever they enter or leave my room they are very cautious Rambo doesn't venture outside; a definite concern of mine.
Always friendly and pleasant Araceli and Brenda are a real asset to the hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed her for our first travel soccer tournament and could not have been more pleased. The reservations were exactly what we reserved. The hotel worked with our group to give us a reasonable rate for our group. The breakfast was one of the best that we have had included in a hotel. Hot food (eggs, bacon, sausage, gravy, waffles, etc.) The ladies that work in the breakfast area go out of their way to be helpful and keep the area well stocked. I would highly recommend this hotel for others and plan to stay there again when back in the area. The beds were comfortable, the room clean. Good location with several nice restaurants and fast food as well nearby. Front desk staff were very nice and helpful as well.

Room Tip: We had and upstairs two bedroom unit. If you have knee problems, you should request a ground floor...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WVFamilyBluefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My family and I arrived at this hotel on our way to the girls Deep South Basketball tournament by way of Michigan. To our surprise, this hotel is located just a few miles away from Wake Forest. The hotel was very nice and clean. The staff was very pleasant. I had more interaction with the friendly staff at the front desk and "The Breakfast Ladies". The breakfast was absolutely AMAZING! My daughter is on a travel basketball team, so we are on the road every other weekend to NC, Chicago, TN, OH, and more from Mar-Jul and we even have a trip to Vegas to play. We KNOW hotels! This place has an outdoor rim that we were able to use just to get some shots up. The weight room was a little small but, we were able to accomplish what we needed to. Some things I did NOT like were the fact that Yellow-jacket bees were EVERYWHERE!!! And the sofa bed was horrid! We usually sleep with my husband and I in the bed and 2 on the sofa bed if we have a single room. This time, three people slept in the bed. I am 6'2, my husband is 6'3 and my daughter is 6'4. My other daughter opted to take one for the team and sleep on the dreadful sofa bed. All in all, GREAT stay and MAJOR KUDOS TO THE BREAKFAST LADIES: THERESA, WANDA AND BETTY! Belgian Waffles with strawberries/blueberries and whip cream, excellent turkey sausage and eggs, red potatoes, parfaits, and much much more!!! Enjoy your stay! There are probably some spelling and grammar mistakes, which i apologize for. We just left breakfast and are now packing to make our way to Raleigh! Wish us luck!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tylar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We traveled to WS for a special Easter Weekend at Olde Salem, God's Acre and Home Church. Everything at Residence Inn was wonderful. The only problem I noticed, being a hotel employee myself, was our keys expired after one day of a two day stay. We were not asked for positive ID upon reissuing our new keys. This was not a big issue and everything else was excellent. The Breakfast Ladies, Ms Wanda, Ms Theresa and Ms Betty, were truly special. Their upbeat positive service always started out our day perfectly. Thank you for a wonderful and memorable stay. I look forward to our next stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lowrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
2.2 mi away
Graylyn Estate
Graylyn Estate
#1 of 38 in Winston Salem
544 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Winston-Salem University
4.0 mi away
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
#3 of 38 in Winston Salem
223 reviews
3.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Winston - Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area

Address: 7835 N Point Blvd, Winston Salem, NC 27106-3209
Region: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
#4 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
#8 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range: £97 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes away from Wake Forest University, WSSU, and downtown Winston-Salem, the Residence Inn Winston-Salem hotel’s also near local businesses like Hanes Brands, AON, Reynolds American, Pepsi, and BB&T. Our Winston-Salem Marriott hotel’s suites offer a fully equipped kitchen as well as spacious living and sleeping areas, which include our new luxurious bedding that will rival the coziness of your own bed. Start your day with our complimentary hot buffet breakfast in our Winston-Salem hotel’s gatehouse. Also located in our Residence Inn Winston-Salem gatehouse are our meeting room, fitness center, and business center. Have your own computer? Our Winston-Salem Marriott provides free wireless Internet throughout the hotel. Take advantage of our Winston-Salem hotel’s pool, heated spa, sport court, and complimentary use of the local YMCA to melt tensions away. End your day with our Residence Inn Winston-Salem Marriott complimentary evening social or a late night snack from our market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Winston-Salem Hotel Winston Salem
Winston Salem Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing