We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Gem of a Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Sometimes it makes sense to trust the judgment of others. This hotel is a great example of that. I was drawn to the hotel through TA reviews and it ended up being an outstanding hotel experience. Nondescript from the front and in an odd part of town, the hotel excels, as so many have noted, through remarkable customer service and attention to detail. I had a very nice two bedrroom suite with the second room elevated in a loft. The gentlemen who checked us in was incredibly friendly and helpful, going out of his way to assist. The workout facilities were spot on clean and with good equipment that worked. Breakfast was a true southern experience -- great food and service from some of the nicest ladies you will ever meet. The hotel has a nice pool, a sports court and several grills to allow folks to socialize and to enjoy the hospitality on afternoons or weekends.

I cannot give the hotel a higher rating for what it is. In its class, this hotel knocks it out of the park and you should not hesitate to stay here if you are looking for a home away from home in Winston-Salem.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheDeacon87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAnnie H, General Manager at Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Good Afternoon - Hope all is well. We appreciate your taking the time to provide us feedback, as we stirve to provide the best Guest Service experience at all levels. We look forward to your next visit, and thank you for choosing to stay at our Property while in the Winston-Salem Area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

Extremely friendly and professional customer service. Very accomodating...never had to ask for anything while attending the evening social. Cynthia is the best! Will be back and will visit Cynthia in the evenings!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAnnie H, General Manager at Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for recognizing our commitment to Service, and taking the time to respond on this site. We look forward to your staying with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Upon arrival and to the end of our four days there, my family and I received nothing but the best customer service we have ever received to date. The three rooms we had were spacious and clean and housekeeping was always there for us when we needed anything. But, the best start to our day was the courteous and friendly service we received from the wonderful Breakfast Ladies (Wanda; Cynthia; Betty and Theresa). Breakfast each day was outstanding, but nothing compared to the Service we received. They all had a smile for us and couldn't do enough for us and even when they were busy, they still took the time to make everyone feel welcomed and special. Again we can say enough about the cleanliness and overall customer services we received at this Residence Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebbeHNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAnnie H, General Manager at Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for providing us feedback on your stay. Our "Breakfast Ladies" and the rest of the team thank you for recognizing their efforts, and we look forward to hosting your family again in the future. Please let us know if we can provide any further assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Great stay at the Residence Inn in Winston Salem. The entire staff was excellent especially Cynthia, Wanda, Betty and Theresa for breakfast in the mornings. They were awesome. Every morning for breakfast was great. The rooms were very nice and a perfect set up for our family for the weekend. Would definitely stay again next time in the area.

Mike C

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAnnie H, General Manager at Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Your feedback is important to us, and is highly appreciated. We have passed on your recognition of the Breakfast Team to the Ladies, and they wanted me to send their appreciation your way. We look forward to hosting your family again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Beautiful and spacious, very nice and courteous was my opinion upon arrival. But after meet-ing the staff that was so friendly and helpful beyond good customer service was great! That was not the tip of the iceberge, every morning having breakfast was out of this world. The atmosphere from the breakfast ladies took my breath away, so nice, kind, respectful, delightful, helpful beyond excellence, anything and wayway possible they were there for you. Made you feel so-so special and pampered and I believe it was all from their hearts and they love what they do. I even watched and noticed that all was treated the same every morning, nothing change, all was excellent! Breakfast Ladies are the BOMB. 3/sisters and mom thank you all!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This has been my favorite Residence Inn yet, and believe me, my family and I have stayed with this hotel brand many times. I especially enjoy waking up to the courteous and friendly service of Wanda and "The Breakfast Ladies" at complementary breakfast. The entire atmosphere at this hotel resembles that of an actual apartment complex or friendly neighborhood, with your fellow guests stopping to say hello and engaging in lively conversation. I appreciate how the entire staff, including those at the front desk and the cleaning and maintenance crew are very attentive to the customer's needs and go above and beyond my expectations. Yes, I am going to do what I rarely ever do and recommend this hotel to anyone looking for relaxing, friendly environment to settle down a couple of days in Winston- Salem. I wish I could stay longer, but those four days here was indeed a luxury!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jewelia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Ms. Wanda and "The Breakfast Ladies" have great customer service and make a wonderful breakfast! The dinners were also great. Rooms had good wifi and the rooms were plush and renovated. All TVs were HD flat screens, but the real gem is the hotel customer service. Its great.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Ryan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAnnie H, General Manager at Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Good Afternoon - Thank You for choosing to stay with us at the Residence Inn - Winston-Salem. We strive to exceed our guests' expectations, and the team is very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Please let us know if we may provide any further assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Winston-Salem University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Winston - Salem
2.2 mi away
Graylyn Estate
Graylyn Estate
#1 of 38 in Winston Salem
609 reviews
6.3 mi away
Residence Inn Winston-Salem Hanes Mall
Residence Inn Winston-Salem Hane...
#18 of 38 in Winston Salem
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area

Address: 7835 N Point Blvd, Winston Salem, NC 27106-3209
Region: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
#4 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
#8 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range: £84 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes away from Wake Forest University, WSSU, and downtown Winston-Salem, the Residence Inn Winston-Salem hotel’s also near local businesses like Hanes Brands, AON, Reynolds American, Pepsi, and BB&T. Our Winston-Salem Marriott hotel’s suites offer a fully equipped kitchen as well as spacious living and sleeping areas, which include our new luxurious bedding that will rival the coziness of your own bed. Start your day with our complimentary hot buffet breakfast in our Winston-Salem hotel’s gatehouse. Also located in our Residence Inn Winston-Salem gatehouse are our meeting room, fitness center, and business center. Have your own computer? Our Winston-Salem Marriott provides free wireless Internet throughout the hotel. Take advantage of our Winston-Salem hotel’s pool, heated spa, sport court, and complimentary use of the local YMCA to melt tensions away. End your day with our Residence Inn Winston-Salem Marriott complimentary evening social or a late night snack from our market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Winston-Salem Hotel Winston Salem
Winston Salem Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing