We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Two-Week Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Two-Week Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

The Residence Inn became my home away from home during my two-week stay. The staff is second to none. Attentive, knowledgeable, and always willing to go the extra mile. DeCarlos at the front desk and Cynthia who runs the evening social hour most nights are two of the nicest and helpful hotel employees I've ever come across.

The rooms are large, well-appointed, and clean. I was impressed by the kitchen as well. There is a full-sized refrigerator, stove, microwave, and a good selection of pots and pans to cook with. Plus they throw in some bags of popcorn everyday free of charge!

The property also features a nice pool and communal seating area, which includes a fire pit. It was great to be able to relax by the fire on some nice late summer nights.

You won't regret your decision to stay at the Residence Inn...

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank AdamSccki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAnnie H, General Manager at Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Our team is committed to providing exceptional Service to our guests. Your compliments to DeCarlos and Cynthia will be relayed to them, and we thank you for recognizing their service. Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    71
    16
    11
    13
See reviews for
169
35
8
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

With the exception of the security guard (who was unprofessional, rude, and arrogant) this hotel had an incredibly welcoming staff. The Breakfast Ladies made our party feel right at home. We had a large party staying for two weeks and Wanda, Theresa, and Betty treated us like family. Cynthia, who ran the Happy Hour, was also wonderful. The folks at the front desk were also so nice to everyone. DeCarlos Brown really bent over backwards to accommodate our group. When we would return from a long day, he was always helpful. Really first rate hospitality. Stephanie was nice as well. We stay at many hotels and have always loved the Residence Inn. This crew was wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

I traveled here on business and my 2 consecutive stays.. From the sales staff that arranged my reservation to the front staff that were always accommodating with any request... Also, the evening socials, especially the evening ones lead by Cynthia (sp) were always very nice...

The only down part to the stay was some guests that would hang out outside the hotel until late at night, into the morning...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We love road trips and love staying at Marriott affiliate hotels (Fairfield Inns, Residence Inn, SpringHill Suites and TownePlace Suites). In June we traveled almost 8000 miles coast to coast through 20 states and the breakfast ladies in Winston-Salem made this hotel by far the most memorable. It was easy to tell that this was not just a job to them but they truly loved what they were doing and truly loved children. They went above and beyond to make us and our kids feel special. We will definitely stop there again if we are in the area. Thank you ladies!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mchebert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAnnie H, General Manager at Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
The recognition you have given us is highly appreciated.The associates, including the Breakfast Ladies, work hard to exceed our guests' expectations. We appreciate being able to host your family as part of your trip, and look forward to your next visit to our Property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Betty, Wanda, and Theresa made our visits to the continental breakfast very wonderful. They were all very nice and helpful towards me and my family. They made us feel comfortable by being very friendly. The food was also great, and our whole experience at the hotel was great. We had no complaints, and we hope to visit the hotel in the future.

Sincerely,
Anita Irby

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAnnie H, General Manager at Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
It is wonderful to get such great feedback on our Team. Wanda,Betty, and Theresa would like to express their appreciation for your recognition of their committment to our guests. We look forward to seeing you soon at the Residence Inn - Winston-Salem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape May, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Perfect location to stay when visiting Wake Forest. What makes this hotel unique is the top-notch staff who go out of their way to be friendly and accommodating. The breakfast ladies, Betty, Wanda and Theresa kept the Breakfast area warm, inviting, clean and fully stocked with a delicious assortment of breakfast foods.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LLW7312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAnnie H, General Manager at Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you very much for your taking the time to respond on TripAdvisor. Our "Breakfast Ladies" are the secret to our success, and we will pass on your compliments to Wanda,Betty, and Theresa. We hope to see you on your return to the Winston-Salem Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
423 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

I booked this hotel since it was close to Wake Forest University. I was taking my sons on the college tour there. The hotel was neat and clean and was in a great location for visiting Wake...literally up the road. The gentleman at the desk put us in a room on the first floor which was convenient for my boys to go watch the FIFA finals on the large TV in the lounge area, and it made it easier for us to come and go.

Room Tip: We really liked having a room around the corner from the front desk on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LibbyH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAnnie H, General Manager at Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
We appreciate your choosing to stay with us at the Residence Inn - Winston-Salem. Thank you for taking the time to respond on TripAdvisor. We look forward to providing you great service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
2.2 mi away
Graylyn Estate
Graylyn Estate
#3 of 37 in Winston Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Brookstown Inn
Brookstown Inn
#4 of 37 in Winston Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
4.0 mi away
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
#1 of 37 in Winston Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Winston-Salem University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area

Property: Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area
Address: 7835 North Point Boulevard, Winston Salem, NC 27106
Region: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
#4 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
#8 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes away from Wake Forest University, WSSU, and downtown Winston-Salem, the Residence Inn Winston-Salem hotel’s also near local businesses like Hanes Brands, AON, Reynolds American, Pepsi, and BB&T. Our Winston-Salem Marriott hotel’s suites offer a fully equipped kitchen as well as spacious living and sleeping areas, which include our new luxurious bedding that will rival the coziness of your own bed. Start your day with our complimentary hot buffet breakfast in our Winston-Salem hotel’s gatehouse. Also located in our Residence Inn Winston-Salem gatehouse are our meeting room, fitness center, and business center. Have your own computer? Our Winston-Salem Marriott provides free wireless Internet throughout the hotel. Take advantage of our Winston-Salem hotel’s pool, heated spa, sport court, and complimentary use of the local YMCA to melt tensions away. End your day with our Residence Inn Winston-Salem Marriott complimentary evening social or a late night snack from our market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Winston-Salem Hotel Winston Salem
Winston Salem Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing