We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In our opinion, DON'T STAY HERE!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Extended Stay America - Winston-Salem - Hanes Mall Blvd.

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Winston-Salem - Hanes Mall Blvd.
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in Winston Salem
Moyock, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“In our opinion, DON'T STAY HERE!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2010

1st PROBLEM: reservation made via telephone with email confirmation which was not received until calling back to discover email address wrongly entered. Ah, those things happen - or do they?
2nd PROBLEM: room reservation made based on website pictures of renovatated rooms, which we were supposedly in, was not nearly as presentable as the pictures we reviewed online but appeared to be otherwise clean so we stayed.
3rd PROBLEM: extended original reservation for two days after arrival, day by day. No problem 1st day extended. 2nd day was shocked when 2 women and a small boy unlocked & entered our room. Said front desk had assigned room to them. Confirmed room nr with them (same room nr) and told them there had obviously been a mistake as we were still in the room. All of us were embarrassed.
4th PROBLEM: WRT 3rd problem, was more or less accused of not extending for 2nd day by on duty manager and basically ordered to return to front desk to re-register for "additional" day. The on duty manager only backed off on his accusations when I reminded him that rooms vacated are supposed to be cleaned before being reassigned to anyone else. If the housekeeping crew had attempted to clean the room they would have found our belongings therein, stopped any further intrusion, and would have reported same to front desk. That never happened. When I returned to room around 5:15 PM our baggage & other belongings had not been touched. The room had not been touched by house cleaning folks and front desk had not been told that there was still someone's "stuff" in the room, hence the room reservation had, in fact, been extended but subsequently rented to someone else.
5th PROBLEM: Slide-in door keys at this motel are a bad security risk in my opinion. I won't go into the why and what for in great detail, but keys being issued to current occupants and subsequent occupants simultaneously, can be a serious security problem. Not a really big problem if you're in the room but a potentially bad one if you're not. Much more modern keylock system needs implementation.
6th PROBLEM: Minor compared to the above. Don't count on the "wireless" internet connection working. I spent more time trying to get on the net than I could thereafter use it. I'd see 5 bars signal strength on the motel network but only two or three, at best, if and when I could connect. We frequently lost the lash-up once established. Another area for improvement in this day and age.
BOTTOM LINE: In our opinion, DON'T STAY HERE!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPA89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    3
    6
    11
    10
See reviews for
8
7
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2009

Travel on long-term assignments all year. Was in need of accomadations in Winston. First the reservation was wrong & to "amend" for their error they let my 11 pound dog stay on the first floor because pets are only allowed on the third floor - told dog's stay would be free but they charged the card the $150 fee and denied saying it would be free,. Of course the room didn't have heat, then 3/4 weeks the room did not get clean, (you have to ask for towels because they give you 2 for a week), the sink handle came off in my hand (and no evening maintenance staff) and then the door lock wouldn't work for three days. Inquired with the manager about upgrading to one of the three suites, first she denied speaking with me, then she said no monthly rate available. For the two months I've been here, 2 of the 3 suites have been vacant and with all the local competion, they will stay empty. The manager is rude, flipant and incompetent. She is arguementative and has no common sense.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank interimadministrator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2006

The check in staff at the hotel are friendly and helpful. The rooms are "one star" hotel quality: My room had an overfirm king bed, a very small tv with limited channel selection, a shower that I could not bring myself to use since it looked dirty, a large fridge (it was nice that the ice cube trays were full), a microwave, a stove, a doorless closet with a bent up shelf/hanging rack, a very small wooden table with two wood chairs and an upholstered armchair. The overall impression was of an old and dirty motel that hadn't been well maintained. The highway noise kept me up at night. No hair shampoo is offered, though there were two bars of soap and plenty of clean towels. The air conditioner worked well though it was a bit noisy and right next to the bed. The exterior appearance was nice and it was easy to park near your room (all rooms had outside entrances). The prices are fairly low (about $55 per night for short term stays) but my personal preference would be to spend more money elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2006, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ghartfeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2005

I went through priceline and got this room for two nights 40 bucks plus taxes. These rooms through priceline accomodate two people only. You get one queen bed or two twins (for a 10 dollar upcharge). There are rooms that have a queen bed and a pull out couch, but that is not the room you get through priceline.

The room seemed faily clean. The bulb over the cook top was burned out. I didn't want to eat off the dishes since there was no dish soap available. The carpet had large cuts (8 inch long) in it and the shower fixtures were actually LOOSE from shower/bath surround.

I called before I went to see how many the room would accomodate...since I had never heard of Extended Stay America. It accomodates two people. I packed the sleeping bags for the kids and we survived, but I will never book blindly through priceline again. There are two winston-salem hotels they push through winston-salem on priceline. It was probably worth exactly what we paid for it. Outdoor entry. No attendance between 11 and 7 in the am. Not sure if they had any security there.

The good part.....the refridgerator and the heater/air conditioner worked great. It was very quiet at night. It is very close to the mall and many restauants......so location is wonderful. The Sleep Inn and Hampton Inn are right next door.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank quickgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2005

Very reasonable priced for the extended stay, under $40/day for 7 days. Clean and comfortable. As with any lower priced motel, the maintenance was a little in need of attention. For example, the recliner in the room had missing bolts, and while maintenance came to fix it, they admitted it really needed replacing. Also the shower curtain bar was loose from the wall. Little items like that.
Conveiniently located for access to Winston-Salem area attractions like Old Salem, and golf courses, wineries etc.

Overall a good value. I will stay there again

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Hanes Mall
Sleep Inn Hanes Mall
#20 of 37 in Winston Salem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Winston Salem
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall
Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall
#23 of 37 in Winston Salem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Winston-Salem
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hanes Mall Hotel
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winston-Salem Hanes Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Winston-Salem - Hanes Mall Blvd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Winston-Salem - Hanes Mall Blvd.

Property: Extended Stay America - Winston-Salem - Hanes Mall Blvd.
Address: 1995 Hampton Inn Ct, Winston Salem, NC 27103
Region: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Winston-Salem - Hanes Mall Blvd. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Extended Stay so you can book your Extended Stay America - Winston-Salem - Hanes Mall Blvd. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Winston Salem
Winston Salem Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing