We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just O.K.”
Review of Hutch & Harris Pub

Hutch & Harris Pub
Ranked #51 of 730 Restaurants in Winston Salem
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 1 September 2018

Went to H&H twice this week. Once for lunch. Once for dinner. It was O.K. Nothing special.

Crab Cake 5/10
Not a Maryland crab cake

Soup of the day (Tomato Basil) 10/10
Excellent soup

Hummus 10/10
Delicious

Pulled Pork 6/10
Too much slaw made bun super soggy which was nasty. Meat had good flavor

Service 7/10
Dinner service was 8/10 but lunch service was only 6/10 (pretty slow)

Might try them again for the steamed shrimp special but likely wouldn't order the crab cake again. It was just O.K., but I expected more when the waitress said the owner was from Maryland (and this wasn't even close to a Maryland crab cake - no lump crab meat whatsoever)

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FamilyManMd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2018

Walk in and no greeted us. Asked an employee where to sit to get food service. Pointed to dining room area. Sat ourselves and had to go ask for someone to give us a menu. Waiter finally came and took our order. Brought the food and never came back! No refills on drinks - nothing! Had to ask for our bill. Took it to the person at the front door and asked him to run my credit card. Food was so-so but service was the worst I have ever experienced. Will never go back. Read other reviews and people raved about it - maybe it was a bad day but never going back!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KimMcCleary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

Started with a Sangria special for $5. Then moved on to the Boars Head Cheese plate which samples Italian herb dry rub cheese, Swiss cheese and Basil Rosemary cheese with Antipasto and bread slices. Then the best hands down Blue Lump Crab cake platter came out with 2 huge patties with sweet corn relish and a side of seasoned tortilla chips. Chef is from Maryland if that says anything to the training he has had. For dessert we shared a Creme Brulee. The waiter was a ecstatic he could use the torch. Friendly staff, casual dining in first class atmosphere. A best visit when downtown Winston Salem.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Z8469KSangelaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Enjoyed Father's Day Brunch. Christopher, our waiter, was attentive and knowledgeable. Enjoyed the guitar music by a talented musician. Never disappointed when stopping in to enjoy a meal in Winston.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rescuemom2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

Walking down 4th Street reading menus to decide where to eat and picked this place. A good choice indeed. Ordered the Asian Salmon and it was simply one of the best meals I've had in awhile. Priced at $18 and a good deal considering taste and size portion. My we had the Spinach Salad and again, outstanding. Be cautioned, the nuts are spicy. Excellent service by Jordan. Very glad we picked this place.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank RobertLivonia_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hutch & Harris Pub also viewed

 

Been to Hutch & Harris Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing