We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

Friendly staff, convenient location, healthy breakfast options, Precor gym equipment, quick and easy check in/out process, and paperless receipt! Great proximity to Hanes Mall, Piedmont Triad airport, and downtown. Couldn't ask for anything more!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
It is so nice to hear that you couldn't ask for anything more then what our hotel the Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem had to offer. Thank you for such a great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    112
    36
    18
    21
See reviews for
135
86
35
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

I'm a Hilton Diamond member who spends 300+ nights a year in hotels. This is the best hotel in Winston-Salem, Greensboro, or High Point area. Remarkable service, solid breakfast choices, respectable amenities. You won't find a better hotel, regardless of brand, in the Triad region.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
First of all thank you for being a Hilton Diamond member, we appreciate your loyalty to our brands. Second thank you for all your kind words concerning our hotel the Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem. It was a very nice review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

I am a a Hilton Diamond Member and stay, regularly, at HGIs across the US. This is a relatively new, well maintained property located in in the main retail area of Winston-Salem. Plenty of shopping and dining options around. The hotel is QUIET. My room was fairly sized, comfortable, and well maintained. Room service was reasonably priced (Chef Salad, Bowl of Tortilla Soup, and a bottle of water was under $20.00, delivered promptly, and was delicious.

My only complaint, and its a small one, is their receipt policy. In what I can only describe as a "BS blame it on trying to be green" claim, they post a sign in the elevator that states they will no longer be delivering receipts on the day of checkout. They will be emailing them, instead. This is a cost-savings measure-pure and simple. Saves paper and time and in NO WAY benefits the guest. Nice try at "green washing" and making things more difficult for the guest. Just a note--i still haven't gotten an email copy of my receipt!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravlinMan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
We are sorry you did not like the receipt policy but we would be happy to print you out one when requested. We are glad to hear you liked our "QUIET' hotel. We hope we will be able to host you again in the future with this new information on the receipt policy. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunwoody, Georgia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

Am a regular at Hilton and particularly Hilton Garden. Have become fond of the HG/Homewood Suites combo. This was a 4 year old Hilton Garden stand alone. Property at first seemed a bit "off the beaten path," but turned out to be a reasonable locale in the end. Had a convention to attend "in town," but access was a breeze. Up-scale chain restaurants in the area were a plus. Room was fine, staff were attentive. Hard to find a negative. There is easy access to the large local shopping mall.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
It is nice to hear you would have a hard time finding a negative about our hotel the Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem. Thank you for such a good review and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

I have stayed at this property 2-3 times a month for the past 2 years and would highly recommend it to anyone. The property is clean and well maintained. Breakfast is one of the best in the business. The staff is courteous and friendly. Everytime I arrive, I am recognized by name and all of my expected benefits are in place.

Rooms are comfortable and well maintained.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
The Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem would like to thank you for all your compliments regarding our hotel and to let you know they are appreciated. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

I have been staying in this hotel since it opened in 08'. On my last stay I noticed that there was no mattress pad on the beds. Called front desk with concerns and they told me that they didn't have any. OMG!!! The only thing between the bottom sheet and mattress is a fuzzy wool toper. Think about it! If someone sweated or addition bodily fluids went threw the bottom sheet you were sleeping on it. I'm sorry but that is gross & nasty, and a serious hygiene issue. I was told by management that they were trying to get some. Last week prior to making my reservation I asked if they had mattress pads and they did but only 5. I was willing to stay if I received a room with a mattress pad. The beds have gotten extremely uncomfortable and I won't be staying there anymore until things improve. Great location and nice staff but the owners need not to be so cheap. The hotel is still fairly new and this shouldn't be happening.

Room Tip: Ask for a mattress pad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 398Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you chose our hotel during your stay in the area and we apologize for the problems you encountered. We want you to know that we have addressed the mattress pad situation and we assure you that if you give us another opportunity, you won't be disappointed in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
397 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

Although this inn is a few years old, it has been kept in like-new condition. The decor is still trendy, housekeeping is good, and the staff is helpful and friendly. I particularly like the back of the inn with its serene view of the woods (over the parking lot). My husband likes the ability to adjust the mattress firmness. All of the electrical items were in good working order (microwave, 'fridge, coffee maker, lights etc.).

There is no temperature vent in bathroom and the door would not stay open so we had to prop it open with the waste can so it wasn't freezing. The shower pan was slanted at an angle toward the door and the drain is in the center, so water accumulates and stays in the corner.

We also had some issues with the (not) fresh fruit at breakfast being so macerated from sitting in its juices so long it had turned effervescent.

Beware of the current construction next door. The access road in and out has one-way lanes and the contractors next door routinely block them so one has to carefully navigate against traffic.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pucgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
 Your complimentary review of our hotel is much appreciated! We also regret to hear about your dissatisfaction in the breakfast you experienced and would like to let you know that we have been working hard to make certain our guests receive a breakfast that offers fresh and healthy options. Hopefully, we'll have the opportunity to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
8.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Winston-Salem - I-40 / Hanes Mall
9.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winston-Salem Hanes Mall
4.9 mi away
Brookstown Inn
Brookstown Inn
#4 of 37 in Winston Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
5.2 mi away
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
#1 of 37 in Winston Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem
Address: 1325 Creekshire Way, Winston Salem, NC 27103-3063
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
#9 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem Hotel Winston Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing