We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel but hard beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Clean hotel but hard beds”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We recently stayed there for a family weekend at Wake Forest University. The facility overall is nice, lobby is attractive and clean, rooms were clean & quiet. However, the bathrooms are very small and the beds are very hard. The beds have the ability to "adjust" the firmness but even with multiple attempts to adjust it, it was still hard and uncomfortable. Also, the air conditioner ran continually (it was in the high 80s while we were there) and even though we had set it to 68, it never went below 71. Even at 71, it was still warm in our room. The ice machine on the fifth floor was not working and we needed to go to another floor to get ice. We did not eat there but the breakfast selection looked nice and food is made to order. There is a small bar in the lobby that is a nice amenity. The hotel is located next to possible apartment building (?)that is under construction and is directly across from two closed businesses. At the opposite end of the plaza there are a few restaurants and there is a Target within 2 minutes of the hotel. It is not that close to WFU, probably about a 10-15 minute drive depending on which way you go.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ahebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
I am so sorry you found your guest room unacceptable. Thank you for your honest feedback. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    129
    38
    21
    21
See reviews for
154
97
37
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised. Room was very large and quiet. Felt better insulated for noise than other hotel rooms. restaurant downstairs offered hot cooked breakfast on demand instead of usual dreaded hot buffet. Location is about 5 min driving time from Hanes Mall. We stayed here for WFU parents weekend, worked out to about a 20 min car ride from campus, and 15 min from downtown WS. Free wifi throughout is another nice touch. Good value for money overall, quite reasonably priced.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BigSur707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
We are glad you were pleasantly surprised and thought our rooms were large and quiet. Thank you for your business and for your nice review of our hotel the Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, United States
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We had so many reasons to stay at this hotel, the spa,room,pool,breakfast & overall excellant. I would recomend staying here to my friends and will look for a Hilton Hotel next time I travel. we stayed at other hotels in the area and were unsatisfied with all we stayed at.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Mickey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
We are glad to read you think we have a great hotel here at the Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem. Thank you for your business and for such a nice review. We look forward to your next visit to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at a number of hotels in Winston Salem. This property by far is the best. It is the cleanest and the staff is the best. We also have a lot of guests stay there and there is never any issues. There is not another hotel in winston that I would even consider

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Raugy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
I thank you very much for your review and your loyalty to our hotel the Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem. It is great to read you would not consider any other hotel in our area. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansville, United States
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We were traveling, it became late and started raining. We called and was able to find we had just passed this hotel. We called and they had a room available. Pleasant staff and great Breakfast. A little difficult to get to from the side of the road we came in on.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Nancy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
We are happy to read you were able to find us during the rain that night and are happy you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem. We hope you will be able to come back and stay a little longer on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The design of the handicapped accessible (roll-in shower) bathroom is fundamentally flawed. The floor slopes away from the shower enclosure and easily floods the rest of the bathroom. The floor drain inside the enclosure is too small. The floor drain outside the enclosure is exactly where you place a bath mat which causes flooding. Also, there is almost no counter space at the sink.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input and we will use your comments on our services and amenities as we constantly evolve to best meet and exceed our guests' expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibsonville, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I was accommodated quickly and with an eye to making my stay comfortable. This is the first time I have received a curtesy call approx. 20 minutes after arrival to ask if my room had everything that I needed and to offer additional services if needed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Robin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Here at the Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem our team members are working harder than ever to deliver the exceptional service you have come to expect and appreciate your thoughtful comments! Thank you for such a nice review and for your business. We hope you will be able to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Winston-Salem - I-40 / Hanes Mall
8.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
9.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Hanes Mall Hotel
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Winston-Salem
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Winston-Salem Hanes Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem
Address: 1325 Creekshire Way, Winston Salem, NC 27103-3063
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
#9 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Winston Salem Hotel Winston Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing