We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Winston Salem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Chattanooga, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Winston Salem”
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Last March a group of ladies from Chattanooga traveled to Winston Salem and had a very pleasant stay at the Hawthorne Inn. The staff is very accommodating and friendly; the rooms are clean, and the location is excellent. It is a great value for a group, and Jackie Malloy, Director of Sales and Marketing, was very helpful in planning our trip and hotel stay. We cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigPrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    127
    42
    19
    15
See reviews for
107
56
29
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2011

This was a great stay and I look forward to next time we are Winston Salem! We received the best service from the moment I booked the reservations to the time we left! All the hosts were gracious, had great personalities and very helpful!
The hotel and rooms were very clean and well kept and that was beyond great!
The location was not as far as I thought :) to get to the main area of downtown winston-salem! Thank you again and Look forward to a future stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

My daughters and I stayed at the Hawthorne Inn last night. The employees were friendly and helpful, the hotel was clean and nicely decorated, and the rates were reasonable. My dog, who is house-broken, quiet and well-behaved was with us. The pet fee was a reasonable $15 per night. Before I arrived I was concerned about the safety of walking her late at night in downtown Winston-Salem, but I felt comfortable walking her in the well-lighted parking area of the hotel. We did not try the complimentary breakfast, but it looked nice. The hotel is only blocks away from Salem College and Old Salem. I'd certainly stay again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vahorses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

The Hawthorne Inn is located within an easy walk to downtown and provides some of the amenities of a much pricier hotel. It's an excellent upgrade of an older property and employs skilled and gracious staffing. An easy walk to historic Old Salem and the increasingly lively downtown scene. I recommend to travelling business people and visiting tourists!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheltolb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Our group booked almost the whole hotel and everything was terrrific, the rooms were clean and comfortable, the banquet food was unbelieveable, we were even shocked at how good it was. Most of all the entire staff is first class, everybody obvioulsy enjoys working at this hotel and it shows.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RBMalloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2010

Our room was large and spotless with comfortable beds and climate control. Room service was just average and overpriced but that's to be expected w/room service. The big complaint I have is that you don't really enter the hotel through the "entrance". After pulling up to the front and registering you pull around to the back and bring luggage into what I can't describe as a lobby but a plain elevator landing. It feels like they merged two adjacent buildings to form an ungainly whole. Still, I'd still recommend it as long as you can deal with the peculiar logistics.

Some reviews have complained about cleanliness but ours was great. We had a handicapped room and since we were going to the hospital we may have gotten a preferred accommodation but I'm not sure. I believe it is owned by the hospital.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmaxdmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Stayed here while visiting the Dixie Classic Fair and suited my needs perfectly. Close to fair as well as close to highway. Clean rooms and friendly staff. They offered a special rate for fairgoers which was very reasonable. Restaurant in hotel was convenient and food was good.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sawyerfan_rockville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
0.2 mi away
Brookstown Inn
Brookstown Inn
#4 of 38 in Winston Salem
594 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
#1 of 38 in Winston Salem
200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winston-Salem Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Winston - Salem
4.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Winston-Salem
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hanes Mall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center

Property: Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
Address: 420 High St, Winston Salem, NC 27101-5037
Region: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
#7 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
#12 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recipient of 2014, 2015 & 2016 "Certificate of Excellence Rating" by Trip Advisor,3-Diamond AAA Rating Direct access from Business 40 and conveniently located to Highway 52 *Located in the heart of Winston-Salem with easy access to downtown attractions and within walking distance to restaurants and Old Salem *A total of 146 bright and spacious guest rooms: all with coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, iron/board, 32-inch flat screen TV's & in-room safe and all new Sealy Chalet Plush Mattresses' *Recently upgraded Wireless Internet with the capacity to handle 1200 devices *The Bayberry Bistro Restaurant & Lounge is open daily from 6:30am -10:00pm *Complimentary hot breakfast each morning and Winston-Salem Journal Monday-Friday *Business Center ~ On-site fitness center ~ Large outdoor swimming pool ~ Ample free parking ~ Each room includes a Refrigerator and Microwave ~ Complimentary Business Center ~ Free High Speed Wireless Internet Service ~ Seasonal Outdoor Pool ~ Bayberry Bistro ~ On-site Fitness Center ~ Laundry Facility *Over 9,500 square feet of meeting and banquet space, all renovated within the last 2 years ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Winston Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing