We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Wise, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

We were very pleased with our stay at the Hawthorne Inn in Winston-Salem. The hotel was very clean, and the staff was very helpful. We also enjoyed our meal from the Bayberry Bistro, located at the hotel. Will definitely stay here again when we need to travel back to Wake Forest.

Room Tip: If you are going to be a patient (have a dr. appt.) at Wake Forest, call the hotel to make your rese...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    119
    40
    18
    15
See reviews for
105
49
28
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

If ever you or a loved one or maybe an acquaintance has to go to Wake Forest Medical Center then do yourself a favor and stay at the Hawthorne. Everyone at the Hawthorne is so very helpful and they have a shuttle that runs every half hour and will take you and drop you off at Wake Forest at the building you need to get to and pick you up and bring you back to the Hawthorne. The food is excellent and the rooms are quite comfortable (no noisy AC/Heat units here) and the excellence of Wake Forest is exemplary also. Also if you like history, the Hawthorne if within walking distance from Old Salem and the Winston-Salem visitors center.

Room Tip: If every room is like ours was then any room if fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chichee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC Mountains
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

This is an older hotel but it has been kept up to date. Our accomodations were clean. The staff was professional and very helpful. The free breakfast was above average. Very convenient to restaurants downtown and historic Old Salem--all at a very reasonable price. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PleasantPlacesFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

I stayed here while interviewing at Wake Forest medical center. I have absolutely no complaints, except maybe that you have to lift luggage up and down a few steps to get to the elevator. Breakfast was great. The hotel was quiet, clean, and very good quality and provided free shuttle service to the hospital. Couldn't have asked for a better experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garner,NC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

I love this Hotel. The staff is always very helpful and courteous. Especially Ronnie, Karen, Wayne and Debra.My Husband and I stay here always when we have the Jehovahs Witness Conventions and I havent been disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 215,218 and 220 are really good and close to the Breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MOAJOA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conway, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

Our stay was the best. The staff was so helpful giving us accurate information and directions around the entire area. We all appreciated the shuttle service to the medical center; we could not have gotten around without this service. Our breakfasts were fresh, and excellent quality. Also the bistro for dinner was very good.
The rooms were extremely clean and the inn was well kept.
I highly recommend the inn for pleasure or just to be with family members while they are patients at the hospital.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor it was convenient to the lobby and parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llgetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

Have stayed at the Hawthorne Inn several times this year for business. The hotel was well maintained throughout. Rooms were clean, modern and equipped with microwave and refrigerator. Beds were comfortable but not exceptional. First rate service from a friendly staff on all visits. The free breakfast gives many choices beyond the typical hotel choices and includes something for everyone. On site restaurant plus several restaurants within short walk. It was a short (4 block) walk to the center of Winston-Salem. Quiet part of town near two colleges and historic area. Also attended a conference and was very pleased with meeting/seminar facilities. A lot of value for the money at this hotel.

Room Tip: Nice view of city from upper floors (5-6-7). I would avoid rooms on 2nd floor (main floor of hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
0.2 mi away
Brookstown Inn
Brookstown Inn
#4 of 37 in Winston Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
#1 of 37 in Winston Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winston-Salem Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Winston - Salem
0.5 mi away
Winston-Salem Marriott
Winston-Salem Marriott
#15 of 37 in Winston Salem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center

Property: Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
Address: 420 High Street, Winston Salem, NC 27101
Region: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
#7 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
#12 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recipient of 2014 "Certificate of Excellence Rating" by Trip Advisor,3-Diamond AAA Rating Direct access from Business 40 and conveniently located to Highway 52 *Recently scored a 98, highest grade in Forsyth County, on our state inspections in both sleeping rooms and food and beverage *Located in the heart of Winston-Salem with easy access to downtown attractions and within walking distance to restaurants and Old Salem *A total of 146 bright and spacious guest rooms: all with coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, iron/board, 32-inch flat screen TV's & in-room safe and all new Sealy Chalet Plush Mattresses' *Recently upgraded Wireless Internet with the capacity to handle 1200 devices *The Bayberry Bistro Restaurant & Lounge is open daily from 6:30am -10:00pm *Complimentary hot breakfast each morning and Winston-Salem Journal Monday-Friday *Business Center ~ On-site fitness center ~ Large outdoor swimming pool ~ Ample free parking ~ Each room includes a Refrigerator and Microwave ~ Complimentary Business Center ~ Free High Speed Wireless Internet Service ~ Seasonal Outdoor Pool ~ Bayberry Bistro ~ On-site Fitness Center ~ Laundry Facility *Over 9,500 square feet of meeting and banquet space, all renovated within the last 2 years ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Winston Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing