We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place especially if you're at the wfubmc (hospital)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great place especially if you're at the wfubmc (hospital)”
Reviewed 9 December 2010

Our room was large and spotless with comfortable beds and climate control. Room service was just average and overpriced but that's to be expected w/room service. The big complaint I have is that you don't really enter the hotel through the "entrance". After pulling up to the front and registering you pull around to the back and bring luggage into what I can't describe as a lobby but a plain elevator landing. It feels like they merged two adjacent buildings to form an ungainly whole. Still, I'd still recommend it as long as you can deal with the peculiar logistics.

Some reviews have complained about cleanliness but ours was great. We had a handicapped room and since we were going to the hospital we may have gotten a preferred accommodation but I'm not sure. I believe it is owned by the hospital.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmaxdmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    127
    43
    20
    15
See reviews for
108
57
29
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Stayed here while visiting the Dixie Classic Fair and suited my needs perfectly. Close to fair as well as close to highway. Clean rooms and friendly staff. They offered a special rate for fairgoers which was very reasonable. Restaurant in hotel was convenient and food was good.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sawyerfan_rockville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

I was not pleased with my recent visit to the Hawthorne Inn. The towels and linens are thin and cheap. They did not clean our room on Saturday (DND was not left on the door) and when I called them to complain late that evening the man was unapolegetic and actually tried to blame it on me! He sent someone up with two towels and a set of sheets. When I called back and said I needed another set and some TP he got even more of an attitude with me. I will not be staying there again!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wal27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate N.Y.
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Stayed 3 nights here due it's proximity to the hospital where my niece was being attended to. Room was small, but clean. In room safe in the closet was the weight of a breadbasket, could have easily been removed under an arm- was not attached to anything. Continental breakfast wasn't bad, more offerings than some, and the person in charge ensured it remained clean and well-stocked. The main restaurant was awful. The alfredo pasta bowl had less flavor than the canned mac and cheeze I ate as a kid, and was even more mushy. The burger was overcooked because they only cook burgers well done. The chef, I use the term lightly, yelled at the server, who was actually pleasant, for relaying my request for avacado, which they didn't have. The slaw was finely ground. I didn't know you could screw up cole slaw. If you need to stay close to the hospital, this place will serve a purpose. But bring a sandwich, and leave your valuables.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swampknot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
474 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

We stayed for two nights for a discounted wedding rate. For that rate it wasn't bad, but I would not pay full price for what we got. Despite some nice artwork in the lobby, other parts of the hotel seemed to be showing its age. Thin walls and doors mean you hear what's going on in other rooms and in the hallway. The elevators were tiny. I was okay on our bed but my wife couldn't stand it and ended up first in a chair and then on the floor with a comforter. The complimentary hot breakfast is nice but the room was packed. Some extra seating nearby would have been nice. Keep in mind also that if you're traveling here from I-40 the turnoff is really quick -- blink or try to adjust to other merging vehicles and you might miss it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TarHeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2010

We used the Hawthorne Inn for our daughters wedding and reception. We booked the hospitality suite which accomodated all of our needs. There was 6 that stayed in the room and it was plenty of room for all. The room was clean and very spacious.

We were allowed to decorate the night before and the staff was very accomodating and very friendly and meet all of our needs.

The day of the wedding, the staff was great. We had a sit down luncheon and the food was great. All of our guests complimented the food, coffee and tea. The only thing I would not spent the extra on is the punch. Everything else was exceptional. It was a perfect place for the private cermony and then the extened luncheon. We use the Sycamore I and II rooms which were great. I would recommend this hotel for all events.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2010

My family and I stayed at Hawthorne January 11, 2010 to take my mother to a surgery consult at Baptist Medical Center. I read reviews here and almost did not stay at Hawthorne. I called and talked to an employee and told them how horrible the reviews were here. They suggested I try other travel sites for reviews where customers had to pay for their room and there was actual proof they had been there. I did, and the reviews are much better on two other sites (don't know if I can mention names here). So, we took a chance, and we had a good experience. Staff is friendly and very helpful. The hotel is older but the rooms have been updated somewhat. It is basically a clean, comfortable place to stay for a reasonable rate, which is all we asked for. The free breakfast in the morning is awesome! Bacon and eggs, waffles, toast, bagels, hot or cold cereal, juices, fruit. We may have to be back in Winston-Salem again in March and we will definitely stay at Hawthorne.

Another plus for me is that I had work to do while I traveled, and the room we were given had a separate bedroom, living area with a nice large workstation, and wireless Internet access was easy and gave a reliable connection.

I would suggest that if you have any desire to stay at Hawthorne, but have read the awful reviews here, call them. Check other review sites, also. If you need a clean place to stay for a very reasonable rate, this will do nicely.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
0.2 mi away
Brookstown Inn
Brookstown Inn
#4 of 38 in Winston Salem
616 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
#2 of 38 in Winston Salem
218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winston-Salem Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Winston - Salem
4.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Winston-Salem
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hanes Mall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center

Property: Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
Address: 420 High St, Winston Salem, NC 27101-5037
Region: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
#7 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
#12 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recipient of 2014, 2015 & 2016 "Certificate of Excellence Rating" by Trip Advisor,3-Diamond AAA Rating Direct access from Business 40 and conveniently located to Highway 52 *Located in the heart of Winston-Salem with easy access to downtown attractions and within walking distance to restaurants and Old Salem *A total of 146 bright and spacious guest rooms: all with coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, iron/board, 32-inch flat screen TV's & in-room safe and all new Sealy Chalet Plush Mattresses' *Recently upgraded Wireless Internet with the capacity to handle 1200 devices *The Bayberry Bistro Restaurant & Lounge is open daily from 6:30am -10:00pm *Complimentary hot breakfast each morning and Winston-Salem Journal Monday-Friday *Business Center ~ On-site fitness center ~ Large outdoor swimming pool ~ Ample free parking ~ Each room includes a Refrigerator and Microwave ~ Complimentary Business Center ~ Free High Speed Wireless Internet Service ~ Seasonal Outdoor Pool ~ Bayberry Bistro ~ On-site Fitness Center ~ Laundry Facility *Over 9,500 square feet of meeting and banquet space, all renovated within the last 2 years ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Winston Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing