We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“glad it was only one night.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Winston Salem Hotel & Spa
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“glad it was only one night.”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We we're in town for a special assembly in the area so we decided to stay here since it was right across the street from the venue and reasonably priced. The hotel front desk staff was pleasant and checked us in promptly. The actual hotel looks like it underwent some sort of remodel, but still needs a lot more work. We stayed in a king room. It was an average king bed room, with a pull out bed and desk... very typical. The room did have a microwave and fridge, but I think they have been there since the 1960s. We placed some fruit in the fridge and it really didn't keep them cold. The room was ok clean wise, but many upgrades are in order. The bathroom was tiny, even for a hotel, and the mirror on the bathroom door was about to fall off...It was flapping all over the place. We did not use the spa or try the breakfast, but I was told it was a hot one, so that's a perk, but can't really comment on it. Overall it was an ok stay, but but as my title states, glad it was only for a night. I will not be returning.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbdecoske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    44
    37
    41
    46
See reviews for
85
39
23
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Wasn't expecting much (know the area of Winston-Salem) but the hotel was very convenient to the convention center and the staff was very friendly and nice. Room was clean, but older. Some updates have been made in interesting ways (trying to make the hotel more artsy?) but the new additions just seemed to create a greater contrast with the parts that are old and out of date. Breakfast was decent, coffee was good. We were on the first floor and could hear conversations in the hallway, and our neighbor's TV in the next room.

Room Tip: First floor was noisy - but our friends on higher floors did not have the same experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2013

The Sundance Hotel has become a home away from home. This was my third stay here this year and I look forward to visiting this area and staying at this hotel even after my nephew graduates from WF this spring. Clean, comfortable, GREAT staff and prime location make it hard to beat. The people here really do make me feel right at home.
THANKS

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinj58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We booked this hotel through groupon not knowing the area. We were very disappointed when we arrived. The fitness room was out of order, the ice machine was broken, the room was dirty, the pull out couch and contents in the couch were questionable (at best). Our 8 and 11 year olds were even Leary immediately! The carpet was unclean, the security doors did not work. We did not stay to see what other adventures we may experience. The only staff person working was fine. Needless to say, it was worth the extra money to stay elsewhere! Never Again. I cannot believe that any of the positive posts on this site are truly from guests!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Agpmichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Winston Salem hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We stayed here for Valentines Day and had an absolutely amazing time! We ate dinner at the hotels restaurant and were greeted with a fresh cut rose and two glasses of champagne! The food and atmosphere were amazing! Candlelight dinner with live guitarist, out of this world food, amazing service... Our next day was spent at the spa. As a first for me, the spa day was amazing. Wine, steam room, massage, and facial... I must say, do NOT underestimate the spa. The masseurs are phenomenal and I felt like a princess my entire stay here!!!! I highly recommend this hotel. The entire staff, especially Demetria who worked so hard for us, was extremely nice and they go out of their way to make sure your stay there is fabulous. We will be going back!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren6339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I recently had the pleasure of staying for three days at the Sundance Plaza Hotel & Spa in Winston-Salem, NC over this past St. Patrick’s Day weekend.  As soon as I arrived, the staff greeted me in a very warm and friendly manner and promptly registered me at the hotel.  The bell staff happily assisted me with my luggage and escorted me to my room.  My room was nicely decorated, impeccably clean and very spacious with elegant sculptures, accent lighting, a king size bed, separate sitting area with desk, TV, mini bar and most importantly, Wi-Fi access.  The bath was well stocked with towels and luxurious Swiss toiletries.  I was also very happy to see them promoting water conservation, an important issue to me.  They have an immaculate spa that offers an extensive menu of services, perfect for a romantic weekend getaway.  The hotel is conveniently and centrally located in the heart of Wake Forest University’s campus and within walking distance to their many sports venues.  With such a gracious staff, comfortable accommodations, Zen-like spa services, great location and excellent service, I look forward to staying there again in the very near future.       

Room Tip: Room 400 on the fourth floor is on the top floor, nicely decorated, spacious, quiet, and close to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bahar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2013

While my review comes late, it was definitely not on purpose. We stayed during valentines day and were privileged to be a part of the valentines day dinner. First the food for the dinner was Excellent and the evening could not have been better, compliments to the chef. The next morning you had a full breakfast which consisted of eggs, grits, bacon, and sausage with the usual cereal and muffins etc. The best part of the stay was the spa. Demetria (Hope I spelled it right, even though if I didn't she will forgive me as she got my name wrong multiple times) made our spa visit one to remember. I have never been to have a massage or facial done and as a man I will be back let me tell you. Give them a try for you will not be unsatisfied.The staff was also very accommodating and nice. As far as the outer exterior of the hotel you can see they are renovating some, but as I stated we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Winston-Salem University
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall
Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall
#23 of 38 in Winston Salem
148 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hanes Mall Hotel
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn University
Quality Inn University
#28 of 38 in Winston Salem
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winston Salem Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winston Salem Hotel & Spa

Property: Winston Salem Hotel & Spa
Address: 3050 University Pkwy, Winston Salem, NC 27105-4230 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Winston Salem North)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Winston Salem Hotel & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and leave the details to us at Winston Salem Hotel & Spa, minutes from Interstate 40 and walking distance from Wake Forest University, the Lawrence Joel Veterans Memorial Coliseum Complex, the Dixie Classic Fairgrounds, Ernie Shore Field, shopping and dining. Our lovely boutique-style Inn is pet-friendly and close to cultural attractions such as the Reynolda House Museum of American Art, as well as hiking, fishing and local wineries. The Winston Salem Hotel & Spa features a refreshing day spa and onsite restaurant and lounge as well as free Wi-Fi Internet throughout the hotel and free continental breakfast. Our spacious guest rooms include Microwave, Mini Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Hairdryer, 32 inch flat panel TV, and free high-speed Wi-Fi. Soak up the sun in the outdoor pool and work out in the fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Winston Salem Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundance Plaza Hotel Winston Salem
Sundance Plaza Hotel And Suites
Clarion Winston Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing