We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You got to be kidding--I am not sure what the other reviewers were staying!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Winston Salem Hotel & Spa
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in Winston Salem
DarienJim
Level Contributor
161 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“You got to be kidding--I am not sure what the other reviewers were staying!”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Ok, first about my rating. I stay all over so when I rate something a five star hotel, it is world class.

Hence, the ratings contained by my fellow reviewers confound logic. I stayed here recently for Wake Forest graduation. We had two rooms both with double beds, but when I asked to bring a cot in since my third son would not sleep in one of the beds with his brothers, I was told they had no cots and it was a fire hazard.

The hotel itself is in state of disrepair and needs upgrading. We stayed in third floor and the hallways stank of an ashtray, all the hotel rooms are non smoking. One of our two rooms reeked of cigs.

Beds are very soft. Bathrooms are small. Eventhough we were away for five hours, housekeeping never came, and then the one hour we were in the room, they knocked and said they would not come back. Front desk service was snooty. There is breakfast included but it was pretty poor.

This hotel is convenient near campus but that's its only redeeming quality.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DarienJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    43
    37
    39
    45
See reviews for
85
37
23
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2013

I enjoyed many weeks with the wonderful staff at the Sundance Clarion hotel.

Their staff and facilities are second to none. Walking distance to downtown, and convenience of all of Winston-Salem's greatest.

Keep this one on your list for value and style.

Keep it up Sundance!

Pat the Happy Traveler

Room Tip: All good rooms but I like the North side toward Wake Forest University and golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murphsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I had a conference to attend at Wake Forest and this hotel was booked for me by my company. It is the most outdated hotel I have stayed at in many years. Hallway carpet in bad shape. My room was clean which is always good, but in need of an update in many areas. The fridge in the room froze all the drinks overnight. Took clothes with me so I could work out while I was there but the workout facility was closed. The staff was friendly. Did not go to the Bistro so cannot comment on the food there or the spa. I think that $119.00 a night is extremely high for the quality of this hotel. I would think $79.00 a night would be more accurate.

Room Tip: I would book a room on the first floor if possible. One of the elevators was down and it is a long w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfodor218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

This Clarion Collection Hotel in Winston Salem is one of kind. I will tell you the front desk staff is amazing friendly and always going out of their way for us. My wife loves their spa. It is first rate. She loves to get a massage while I relax at their beautiful pool. I enjoy the made to order omelets and Starbucks coffee which is included in the price of the room. The beds are super comfortable. I would suggest this property to anyone I know! It is a very central location because it is near the mall and Wake Forest Campus. It will always be my room of choice while in Winston Salem.

Room Tip: Ask to be upgraded to their jaccuzzi suite. It is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KFC41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2013

There was a mix up in reservations with my elderly father. The mix up was not the fault of the hotel, however they did everything possible and more to help my father and resolved the issue. The customer service he received was above and beyond any I have seen before. I highly recommend the clarion collection hotel sundance plaza in winston salem nc. Their customer service will restore your faith in people!!!

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank robintr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We we're in town for a special assembly in the area so we decided to stay here since it was right across the street from the venue and reasonably priced. The hotel front desk staff was pleasant and checked us in promptly. The actual hotel looks like it underwent some sort of remodel, but still needs a lot more work. We stayed in a king room. It was an average king bed room, with a pull out bed and desk... very typical. The room did have a microwave and fridge, but I think they have been there since the 1960s. We placed some fruit in the fridge and it really didn't keep them cold. The room was ok clean wise, but many upgrades are in order. The bathroom was tiny, even for a hotel, and the mirror on the bathroom door was about to fall off...It was flapping all over the place. We did not use the spa or try the breakfast, but I was told it was a hot one, so that's a perk, but can't really comment on it. Overall it was an ok stay, but but as my title states, glad it was only for a night. I will not be returning.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbdecoske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Wasn't expecting much (know the area of Winston-Salem) but the hotel was very convenient to the convention center and the staff was very friendly and nice. Room was clean, but older. Some updates have been made in interesting ways (trying to make the hotel more artsy?) but the new additions just seemed to create a greater contrast with the parts that are old and out of date. Breakfast was decent, coffee was good. We were on the first floor and could hear conversations in the hallway, and our neighbor's TV in the next room.

Room Tip: First floor was noisy - but our friends on higher floors did not have the same experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Winston-Salem University
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Graylyn Estate
Graylyn Estate
#2 of 37 in Winston Salem
389 reviews
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn University
Quality Inn University
#28 of 37 in Winston Salem
83 reviews
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall
Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall
#23 of 37 in Winston Salem
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winston Salem Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winston Salem Hotel & Spa

Property: Winston Salem Hotel & Spa
Address: 3050 University Pkwy, Winston Salem, NC 27105-4230 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Winston Salem North)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Winston Salem Hotel & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and leave the details to us at Winston Salem Hotel & Spa, minutes from Interstate 40 and walking distance from Wake Forest University, the Lawrence Joel Veterans Memorial Coliseum Complex, the Dixie Classic Fairgrounds, Ernie Shore Field, shopping and dining. Our lovely boutique-style Inn is pet-friendly and close to cultural attractions such as the Reynolda House Museum of American Art, as well as hiking, fishing and local wineries. The Winston Salem Hotel & Spa features a refreshing day spa and onsite restaurant and lounge as well as free Wi-Fi Internet throughout the hotel and free continental breakfast. Our spacious guest rooms include Microwave, Mini Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Hairdryer, 32 inch flat panel TV, and free high-speed Wi-Fi. Soak up the sun in the outdoor pool and work out in the fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Winston Salem Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundance Plaza Hotel And Suites
Sundance Plaza Hotel Winston Salem
Clarion Winston Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing