We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap & Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Winston Salem Hotel & Spa
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in Winston Salem
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Cheap & Convenient”
Reviewed 16 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Hotel looks like it's under renovation. The rooms are a little quirky. They're all a little different and have local artwork. The hotel staff was very accommodating to our requests. The location can't be beat. It's across the street from the Wake Forest football stadium and basketball rink.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank loveKristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    43
    37
    39
    45
See reviews for
85
37
23
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

I was greeted with smiles and extremely courteous professional staff. The room was updated (though some aspects were a bit dated) the room was VERY CLEAN (no bugs nor other silly stuff) with 6 cup coffee maker and large dorm size refrigerator.
When it came to food, The Bistro had a small menu but reasonably priced in correlation to the amount on your dish and scrumptious taste. (I totally recommend the sautéed red potatoes)
While on this trip, the area came under a severe winter weather advisory. The front desk was most accommodating while I decided if I should try and make it home or stay over an extra night. That made me feel safe and quite at ease as I was not pressured by the factor of having to check out or stay. The spa was very inviting however I did not take the opportunity to use it.
All in all, my stay was superb....will DEFINITELY STAY here again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Talmadge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Hotel is worth a look. This is a slightly dated but still very adequate hotel. The decor is about 10 years behind the times but the rooms are spacious, clean, and the hotel has reasonable amenities. Breakfast is fair. Proximity to colleges and down town is excellent. The neighborhood is very safe. The staff was friendly and they did try hard. All in all, for a weekend visit to a college or a business trip it is one you can use with confidence.

Room Tip: Watch out for smoking rooms. Rear upper floor is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTraveller023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2013

In town to move our son into dorm at Wake Forest. This hotel is in desperate need of renovations. Our room was musty & such high humidity that it literally made me sick - had to go to bed because of the moisture level in our room. After our first shower, the tub was stopped up and it took a very long time to drain. Left room for the day and, upon our return, the tub had been worked on because the tub stopper was left in the tub and it was disgusting to see the mildew/rust on the underside of the stopper and the drainage hole in the tub. When we brought it to the attention of the service desk, we were given another key to the room across the hall and told that we could shower in that one. I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jewels06413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Winston Salem hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I usually do well with booking a hotel on the internet. This hotel is my exception! They lost my reservation. I wish i would have looked at that as a sign and left! Paper thin walls. Stiff, itchy sheets. Shady neighborhood. Seemed dirty. STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelingmama73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a college visit to Wake Forest University. The hotel is tired and in need of updating. There is no a/c in the hallways and they smell musty. The first 2 rooms we tried were noisy and smelled musty and disgusting . We were supposed to have a poolside room and we did not get one. The third room we tried had large bugs all over, the door looked like it didn't fit (light coming in from all around) the a/c unit was VERY loud. The pool is a pit. I am warning you DO NOT stay here! There is a Courtyard Marriott right across the street.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pschultz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Winston-Salem University
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Graylyn Estate
Graylyn Estate
#2 of 37 in Winston Salem
389 reviews
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn University
Quality Inn University
#28 of 37 in Winston Salem
83 reviews
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall
Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall
#23 of 37 in Winston Salem
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winston Salem Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winston Salem Hotel & Spa

Property: Winston Salem Hotel & Spa
Address: 3050 University Pkwy, Winston Salem, NC 27105-4230 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Winston Salem North)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Winston Salem Hotel & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and leave the details to us at Winston Salem Hotel & Spa, minutes from Interstate 40 and walking distance from Wake Forest University, the Lawrence Joel Veterans Memorial Coliseum Complex, the Dixie Classic Fairgrounds, Ernie Shore Field, shopping and dining. Our lovely boutique-style Inn is pet-friendly and close to cultural attractions such as the Reynolda House Museum of American Art, as well as hiking, fishing and local wineries. The Winston Salem Hotel & Spa features a refreshing day spa and onsite restaurant and lounge as well as free Wi-Fi Internet throughout the hotel and free continental breakfast. Our spacious guest rooms include Microwave, Mini Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Hairdryer, 32 inch flat panel TV, and free high-speed Wi-Fi. Soak up the sun in the outdoor pool and work out in the fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Winston Salem Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundance Plaza Hotel And Suites
Sundance Plaza Hotel Winston Salem
Clarion Winston Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing