We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Winston Salem Hotel & Spa
Ranked #29 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Very clean, but outdated. Very hard mattress. Old televisions. The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast is very spartan. Continental type. Cereal, instant oatmeal packets. Yogurt and apples. Bread and bagels. If your expectations are about the same as a Super 8, you will be happy. Hard to find as no sign on road.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank GweninTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

Not one good thing to say about this hotel. It is really old and in bad shape, and it did not even have good service to make it up. The old, dirty, and extremely noisy heating unit kept us awake all night.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I needed to find a hotel with bar and restaurant, and this is the one that popped up...I called ahead and was told the restaurant stayed open till 9 and the bar open till 11, but the first night we wanted to go down to eat and have a drink at about 6:30, both were already shutting down!..We were given a decent room way in the back if the hotel but out of the two elevators in the whole hotel, only the one near the front worked..The hallways were littered with trash , The hot water took forever to come and pressure was poor. Disappointed!!!!!!

Room Tip: Avoid!..We were disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Hotel looks like it's under renovation. The rooms are a little quirky. They're all a little different and have local artwork. The hotel staff was very accommodating to our requests. The location can't be beat. It's across the street from the Wake Forest football stadium and basketball rink.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank loveKristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

I was greeted with smiles and extremely courteous professional staff. The room was updated (though some aspects were a bit dated) the room was VERY CLEAN (no bugs nor other silly stuff) with 6 cup coffee maker and large dorm size refrigerator.
When it came to food, The Bistro had a small menu but reasonably priced in correlation to the amount on your dish and scrumptious taste. (I totally recommend the sautéed red potatoes)
While on this trip, the area came under a severe winter weather advisory. The front desk was most accommodating while I decided if I should try and make it home or stay over an extra night. That made me feel safe and quite at ease as I was not pressured by the factor of having to check out or stay. The spa was very inviting however I did not take the opportunity to use it.
All in all, my stay was superb....will DEFINITELY STAY here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Talmadge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank John G R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Hotel is worth a look. This is a slightly dated but still very adequate hotel. The decor is about 10 years behind the times but the rooms are spacious, clean, and the hotel has reasonable amenities. Breakfast is fair. Proximity to colleges and down town is excellent. The neighborhood is very safe. The staff was friendly and they did try hard. All in all, for a weekend visit to a college or a business trip it is one you can use with confidence.

Room Tip: Watch out for smoking rooms. Rear upper floor is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentTraveller023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
5.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Winston-Salem
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Hanes Mall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall
Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall
#25 of 38 in Winston Salem
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Winston-Salem University
5.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Hanes Mall
Sleep Inn Hanes Mall
#20 of 38 in Winston Salem
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winston Salem Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winston Salem Hotel & Spa

Address: 3050 University Pkwy, Winston Salem, NC 27105-4230 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Winston Salem North)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Price Range: £60 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Winston Salem Hotel & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and leave the details to us at Winston Salem Hotel & Spa, minutes from Interstate 40 and walking distance from Wake Forest University, the Lawrence Joel Veterans Memorial Coliseum Complex, the Dixie Classic Fairgrounds, Ernie Shore Field, shopping and dining. Our lovely boutique-style Inn is pet-friendly and close to cultural attractions such as the Reynolda House Museum of American Art, as well as hiking, fishing and local wineries. The Winston Salem Hotel & Spa features a refreshing day spa and onsite restaurant and lounge as well as free Wi-Fi Internet throughout the hotel and free continental breakfast. Our spacious guest rooms include Microwave, Mini Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Hairdryer, 32 inch flat panel TV, and free high-speed Wi-Fi. Soak up the sun in the outdoor pool and work out in the fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Winston Salem Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundance Plaza Hotel And Suites
Sundance Plaza Hotel Winston Salem
Clarion Winston Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing