We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, good bones, but desperately needs remodel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Winston Salem Hotel & Spa
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We booked this hotel on Priceline due to it's good price and location for our son's activity in Winston-Salem. The hotel had friendly staff and had good bones, but is definitely in need of a makeover. It appears that Ramada is in the process, but it may take a while before it catches up to other newer hotels. The pool was frigid in late August which was a huge disappointment to husband and son. Room was clean, bed was OK. Room had hair dryer, microwave and fridge. Breakfast was OK, could be better, but could be a lot worse. Also looked like spa services were available although we didn't utilize this service. All in all, an OK stay but look forward to the updates.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

Daughter had an early tour at Wake Forest and we wanted something close. Price was right. (By the way.....if you choose the cheap hotel, don't expect a luxury spot!) Room was adequate - good beds, a/c, frig AND microwave in room (in case you're hauling food on your vacation). Clean. Basic hotel at very bargain price so I have no complaints at all. Hallway passages are not well insulated and therefore were HOT during our July visit. (No biggie - but when carrying luggage it's noticeable.) Room was kinda smelly. (Not smoke...but not clean smelling.) Coffee was good but unless you want cereal or a packet of oatmeal don't count on the breakfast - pastry/bread/bagels pretty yucky.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisacamriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Day 1: there had been no water so the rooms were late being cleaned. My friends were offered a room choked with cigarette smoke, so they left immediately and went to the Marriott over the road. I wish I had done the same. Internet not working, hotel is very old and shabby. Bathroom is so small you have to stand beside the toilet to open the door. The bed is some kind of Murphy bed. The a/c is noisy, the elevator is noisy.
Day 2: still no internet despite calling down 3 times since I arrived. Went to check out the hot tub advertised on the website and there isn't one. Not just "its out of order" but there just plain isn't one and the Ramada website lies. Also reflected that the hotel advertises itself as newly renovated ... in about 1963...
Day 3: power outage in the morning. Still no internet. Thank goodness I am leaving tomorrow.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HMC001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The Hotel is in obvious need of a good reno, cleaning, updating. Not impressed with anything until I found that Spa!! Beautiful oasis in the middle of a filthy Hotel. The spa saved a very disappointing stay. Nothing was in operation, Kitchen, bar, pool, ice machine, keys, doors, clock, etc. Now you have a fab staff, with great attitudes and a 4 star spa. Invest some time and $ into cleaning and updating. Lower your prices a little, have a good breakfast, you have alot of competition out there! You could be up there with the better Hotels. Marilyn and the spa personnel wonderful and very professional. And your floor staff seemed to be accommodating and helpful as well. But someone needs to train those housekeepers to do more than make the bed and empty the trash! Everything was dusty and sticky. Oh, sheets were not changed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Was clean and staff was very friendly and helpful but some of outside had old structures that needed fixed. Room air conditioner worked great temp outside was 90 but cool in the room. Overall my stay was great.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed here once before when they served a hot breakfast which included an omelet station which they discontinued what they have now is a continental breakfast. The bed was fine for me, my wife felt the bed could have been more comfortable. I do like the soap they have to wash up with it has an orange fragrance to it. The staff were very nice people! .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Outdoorsman1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I walked in, everything looks clean, and I checked in faster than a lightning, Woow!
I walked into the room, and I honestly feel really satisfied for the price and quality. The room was very clean, and fresh.

Room Tip: I know it is very difficult to control, but I found small spider, so look for them hidden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leotravel1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
5.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Winston-Salem
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Winston-Salem University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Graylyn Estate
Graylyn Estate
#1 of 38 in Winston Salem
634 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Hanes Mall Hotel
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn University
Quality Inn University
#30 of 38 in Winston Salem
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winston Salem Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winston Salem Hotel & Spa

Address: 3050 University Pkwy, Winston Salem, NC 27105-4230 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Winston Salem North)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Price Range: £52 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Winston Salem Hotel & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and leave the details to us at Winston Salem Hotel & Spa, minutes from Interstate 40 and walking distance from Wake Forest University, the Lawrence Joel Veterans Memorial Coliseum Complex, the Dixie Classic Fairgrounds, Ernie Shore Field, shopping and dining. Our lovely boutique-style Inn is pet-friendly and close to cultural attractions such as the Reynolda House Museum of American Art, as well as hiking, fishing and local wineries. The Winston Salem Hotel & Spa features a refreshing day spa and onsite restaurant and lounge as well as free Wi-Fi Internet throughout the hotel and free continental breakfast. Our spacious guest rooms include Microwave, Mini Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Hairdryer, 32 inch flat panel TV, and free high-speed Wi-Fi. Soak up the sun in the outdoor pool and work out in the fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Winston Salem Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundance Plaza Hotel Winston Salem
Sundance Plaza Hotel And Suites
Clarion Winston Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing