We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Defintely NOT upscale”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Winston Salem Hotel & Spa
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Defintely NOT upscale”
Reviewed 20 July 2007

The carpet was stained, chair in room broken, large screen TV was broken and a smaller working TV sat on top of it. The next day upon returning to my room, it had not been cleaned at all. Dirty towels had been left, dirty coffee cups, no replacement coffee cups or coffee packs. I complained to the front desk and they assured me someone would come in and reclean my room. This did not happen. My bathroom sink filled up as I brushed my teeth - the drain was extremely slow. There was also a ring in the toilet and I was told it couldn't come clean because the water in the hotel was very hard.

Not a good experience and I would not stay there again.

  • Liked — Room was large
  • Disliked — Dirty, very poor housekeeping, poor staff followup
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Ohio47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    44
    38
    40
    46
See reviews for
86
39
23
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2007

Stayed here for High Point Spring Furniture Market and was very disappointed when I checked-in. Had to stay though as all other hotels were booked up for the market week.

When I arrived only one person was available to check-in everyone waiting in line, the restaurant and room service were unavailable and were for the rest of the week, and the room was awful.

Old saggy mattress & pillows, dirty & dusty surfaces & light switches (yuck!) , torn and mildewy shower curtains & tub.
Only thing in the room that seemed new was the sloppy new paint job.

It says 'Spa' on their sign as well, but nothing was open there either.

Staff was friendly & nice, but overall the facilities were poor & I won't be staying again.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bcgiftgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilyManBahama, Owner at Winston Salem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Dear guest:
Thank you for staying at our hotel and thank you for taking your time and providing us with your feedback with regards to your stay. We truly strive to meet and exceed each customers expectation. We value all of your input and use it to take corrective action where necessary or to provide additional training to our staff. We do share your comments with the staff - good and comments for improvements. You input make a big difference -- thank you again.
Hope to welcome you back to our hotel real soon. We would like to spoil you with some Southern Hospitality and the services of the Spa and Bistro.
Best wishes,
Mike Geissler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Winston Salem hotels

Fordyce, Arkansas
Level Contributor
215 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2007

This hotel is located on University Parkway, less than a mile from Wake Forest University. In that respect, location is ideal if you're looking for something close to Wake.

The lobby is nicely decorated and appointed. The restaurant just off the lobby features a complimentary continental breakfast and when we were there, a breakfast buffet option.

As some have noted, the rooms themselves are nothing special, slightly less than you'd expect for the price. All in all, the hotel satisfied our need for a decent place to sleep close to Wake Forest.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank santhony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilyManBahama, Owner at Winston Salem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Dear guest:
Thank you for staying at our hotel and thank you for taking your time and providing us with your feedback with regards to your stay. We truly strive to meet and exceed each customers expectation. We value all of your input and use it to take corrective action where necessary or to provide additional training to our staff. We do share your comments with the staff - good and comments for improvements. You input make a big difference -- thank you again.
Hope to welcome you back to our hotel real soon. We would like to spoil you with some Southern Hospitality and the services of the Spa and Bistro.
Best wishes,
Mike Geissler
Owner
919 2159372
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2006

Hotel has been recently renovated and the lobby area is nice but the rooms are still pretty dated. They've given the hotel the "boutique" treatment (they've hotglued sticks to the room number plaques for instance) but the elevators, major funiture, bedding and curtains all look dated (The microwave looked like something that might have been equipment onboard on the trip to the moon back in the 60's). Mattress felt and looked cheap. Lamps were modern as well as carpet in the hallways. First night the hot water only got to warm. We were told to let the water run for about 15 minutes. This was after multiple calls to the front desk as no one seemed to answer the phone. After an in-person visit to the front desk to complain again they did adjust my room rate down from 93.50 to 79.99 per night for both nights. The hot water finally started working late in the evening and worked for the rest of the stay. The "Free" breakfast was very limited with no hot items. You could pay $8 if you wanted an omlette or $2 if you wanted a waffe. Although the hotel has been updated it is still a Sow's ear. A bright point was the staff. The front desk clerk (Young Female) handled the water situation well and was very friendly. All the staff were very friendly and made a point of saying hello in the hallways, etc. I would probably not stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matty_k182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilyManBahama, Owner at Winston Salem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear Guest:
First of all – thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking time in writing your review. We love to hear from you, our guest, because it provides us with an opportunity to find out where we have met or exceeded your expectations and where we need to improve. It is clear that we failed our goal with you. However, every review will be shared with the relevant staff, management and myself. Your comments will be used to prepare a corrective action plan. I assure you we all listen carefully. This is the only way to reach our goal of meeting and exceeding your expectations.
For the issues and areas where we failed I am truly sorry and I apologize.
Please call me to when making arrangements for a future trip to our city and I will make it my business to point out the corrective action we have taken.
Again – thank you for your review
Mike G
Owner
919 215-9372
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 November 2005

This place is old dirty and unkept. There were no non-smoking rooms and the room stunk of cigarette smoke The room was dirty and our room was not cleaned one night. There were not 2 beds as reserved but one bed and a hide a bed with no sheets. There was no hot water in the morning and the bathroom was not clean when we arrived, it had excriment on the side of the commode.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilyManBahama, Owner at Winston Salem Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear Guest:
First of all – thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking time in writing your review. We love to hear from you, our guest, because it provides us with an opportunity to find out where we have met or exceeded your expectations and where we need to improve. It is clear that we failed our goal with you. However, every review will be shared with the relevant staff, management and myself. Your comments will be used to prepare a corrective action plan. I assure you we all listen carefully. This is the only way to reach our goal of meeting and exceeding your expectations.
For the issues and areas where we failed I am truly sorry and I apologize.
Please call me to when making arrangements for a future trip to our city and I will make it my business to point out the corrective action we have taken.
Again – thank you for your review
Mike G
Owner
919 215-9372
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Winston-Salem University
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall
Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall
#23 of 38 in Winston Salem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn University
Quality Inn University
#27 of 38 in Winston Salem
3.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hanes Mall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winston Salem Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winston Salem Hotel & Spa

Property: Winston Salem Hotel & Spa
Address: 3050 University Pkwy, Winston Salem, NC 27105-4230 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Winston Salem North)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Winston Salem Hotel & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and leave the details to us at Winston Salem Hotel & Spa, minutes from Interstate 40 and walking distance from Wake Forest University, the Lawrence Joel Veterans Memorial Coliseum Complex, the Dixie Classic Fairgrounds, Ernie Shore Field, shopping and dining. Our lovely boutique-style Inn is pet-friendly and close to cultural attractions such as the Reynolda House Museum of American Art, as well as hiking, fishing and local wineries. The Winston Salem Hotel & Spa features a refreshing day spa and onsite restaurant and lounge as well as free Wi-Fi Internet throughout the hotel and free continental breakfast. Our spacious guest rooms include Microwave, Mini Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Hairdryer, 32 inch flat panel TV, and free high-speed Wi-Fi. Soak up the sun in the outdoor pool and work out in the fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Winston Salem Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundance Plaza Hotel Winston Salem
Sundance Plaza Hotel And Suites
Clarion Winston Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing