We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Would stay again”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I had to stay at this hotel for 6 nights for business. The room was very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Loved the parking in front of the hotel as I left very early and came back very late every day and always felt safe.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Amy J, thank you for letting us and other travelers know about your experience to our hotel. We hope you enjoyed yourself on your business trip, and maybe it wasn’t all business but a little play. We hope that when traveling to the Winston Salem area again you will be sure to choose our hotel for your accommodation needs. Thank you for being a valued guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    105
    24
    5
    6
See reviews for
219
92
24
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hackettstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Good hotel, clean, all parking up front, which is good for security. Wish I had brought my swim suit, small pool, but looked great. The front desk can give you a list of many restaurants. Most located within 5 to 10 min.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
On behalf of the management and staff, we would like to thank you for taking the time to let others know about your experience. We strive hard to provide great service and accommodations to each and every guest. It’s unfortunate that you did not get to enjoy our salt water pool during your visit. It really is a great way to relax and enjoy some down time. We hope that when traveling to Winston Salem in the future you will not only choose our hotel, but bring your suit for a dip in our pool! Thank you again for letting us know about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunnvile
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Driving all day since 3:00 am stopping for a room that will accommodate 2 adults and 5 kids is hard to say the least about 9:30 pm. most places wanted us to book two rooms for 7 of us. No way all our kids are from 2yrs old to 11. and why pay for two rooms. The staff here was very accommodating they let us have a king suite, with a pull out couch, that was all that was left, and instead of the $190 regular rate only charged us the double room rate of $119. Great room, Very clean, Huge room, comfy bed, and free buffet breakfast for 7 of us, all for $119. Cant beat it. Desk staff was great, and very helpful. The breakfast was good, but slow, they ran out of eggs and sausage and had to ckk more. But that was fine we were relaxed there. Hamptons have my vote.

Room Tip: King queen rooms, have a huge desk, to work off of, for business people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lochliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay while visiting our hotel! Our staff really works hard to exceed the expectations of every guest. We hope that you and your children had plenty of room in one of our spacious suites. They really are great rooms for a large family. I will make sure to pass along your kind words during our next team huddle. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to earn y our business. We hope to see again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Loved this hotel. Very clean. Staff was great. Stayed in king suite which was reasonably priced, very spacious and appeared to be newly renovated. Room had complete business accomodations. Breakfast had great variety. Cannot say enough good about the stay.

Room Tip: Ask for room 327
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whattimestheflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
We would like to thank you for being our guest while visiting the Winston Salem area. We are glad you enjoyed our spacious rooms, and we hope you were able to take advantage of our free “hot” breakfast! We strive to provide great service and accommodations to each and every guest. Thank you for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, SC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I LOVE that this Hotel has walk in showers and got rid of bathtubs that I suspect are always filled with germs. There is plenty of counter space, and the bathrooms are well lit. They also have a nightlight feature that turns on the light when you walk into the bathroom late at night.
The beds are comfortable, and the room feels very clean.
Downstairs, at the free breakfast, the common area is laid out well for conversations, as well as eating. They have the weather channel on so you can plan your day. And I fond everyone we came in contact with was friendly and interested to make sure our stay was comfortable. We checked in late both times that we stayed, and the M.O.D. Wanted to make sure we were well taken care of. This will be on our list for our future stays in Winston, Salem.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms should be spacious & comfortable. We stayed there twice in the span of 10...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at our hotel! All of our standard kings have the shower’s verses the bathtubs, and our guest love them! I’m glad you were able to experience our friendly staff, and I hope we you were able to take advantage of our lobby area as well. It’s a great place to watch the game or catch up with family and friends. We hope that we see you again when traveling to the Winston Salem area. I will make sure to pass along the kind words to our staff during our next team huddle!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The suites are particularly spacious, the bed comfortable. The bath towels and washcloths are overdue for replacement. Breakfast was fair at best. The dried out prefab omelets were brown and curling up at the edges they were so dry. The previous day's scrambled eggs were not particularly appealing but better than the omelets. I suppose it's better than nothing although Sunday morning we left and found a restaurant for breakfast. After all, this is North Carolina where the locals make a GREAT breakfast. Why serve frozen, cheap stuff at the Inn?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Hoya81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for being a valued guest and choosing our hotel for your accommodations while visiting the Winston Salem area. On behalf of our staff, I would like to apologize our breakfast fell below your expectations. We work hard to provide not only great accommodations, but also great amenities. Hampton is currently looking at revamping our breakfast items, and our guest will start to see this change as early as December 2013. We will be offering items such as fresh cut fruit, and hard boiled eggs with the shells on them. We are also changing up our egg selection along with some of our meats. I hope that in 2014 you will give us another opportunity to earn your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, Virginia
Level Contributor
369 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Hamptons as a rule are great places; but this one is outstanding. Very friendly without being meddlesome. Great for offering local suggestions. The rooms are clean and quite. What more could you ask? Close to some shopping and walking distance to at least three restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 414Bookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
We hope you enjoyed your stay while visiting the Winston Salem area, and thank you for letting us know about your experience at our hotel. At our next team huddle I will share your experience with our staff! We hope you were able to enjoy some shopping while visiting the hotel, and were able to rest and relax! Thank you again for letting us know about your experience, and we hope you will visit our hotel again when traveling to the Winston Salem area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
6.9 mi away
Brookstown Inn
Brookstown Inn
#4 of 37 in Winston Salem
571 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Winston-Salem - I-40 / Hanes Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
#1 of 37 in Winston Salem
177 reviews
4.9 mi away
Graylyn Estate
Graylyn Estate
#2 of 37 in Winston Salem
389 reviews
8.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winston-Salem Hanes Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
Address: 309 Summit Square Ct, Winston Salem, NC 27105-1483
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
#2 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
#2 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn&Suites Winston-Salem/Univ. area is the city's newest hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area Hotel Winston Salem
Hampton Inn And Suites Winston-Salem / University Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing