We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I would stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
GILBERTSVILLE
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“I would stay here again”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I stay in Hampton Inn all the time and this is one of th best that I have stayed in. The staff was great, they were friendly and always there to help if needed. I was given an upgrade (I am an Hhonors diamond member) which for me was a first. The room was clean and kept clean. I guess the only negative comment and this is more for Hampton than this hotel is that they should get some variety to the breakfast. It is becoming the same ole same ole. So if you are in the university area of Winston-Salem you should stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 781JOHNB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for being a valued guest, and taking the time to let us know about your experience. We love upgrading our Diamond Members when they visit the hotel and we have availability. I noticed you were not particularly pleased with the Hampton breakfast as a whole. I will be sure to pass along your comments to our corporate office, as they are always looking to improve the brand. We hope that when you visit our area again you will be our choice of hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    105
    24
    5
    6
See reviews for
219
92
24
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Conneaut, United States
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The staff at this hotel will go out of their way to see they you have excellent service. We left clothing behind. We were called and the clothing was nicely packed and shipped to our home. It arrived the day after we did.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank C Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for being our guest while visiting the Winston Salem area. I’m glad you were able to experience great service and accommodations. Our staff really takes pride in the service and accommodations we provide. Thank you for staying at our property, and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here for a lacrosse tournament and even though it was far from BB&T Soccer Park it was worth it for the quiet and nice accommodations. The staff was very welcoming and helpful. Rooms were clean and well appointed. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast was good - again the staff was wonderful. The only thing was the elevator smelled sour. The carpet needs replacing or cleaning. This was the only thing I found lacking at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for visiting our hotel during your lacrosse tournament! We strive to provide great service and accommodations each and every time. Thank you for making us aware of our elevator carpet! I will make sure maintenance takes care of that issue. We hope that when visiting the area again we will be your choice in hotels in the area. Thank you for being out guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel during a recent trip to NC where we were traveling from place to place visiting various family members. We checked into this Hampton Inn at the end of a very long day of hiking with our 2 children. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the check in was speedy, our room was immaculate and the beds were heaven on earth. We will definitely stay here again, the next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank traceyt944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our property! We are glad to hear you were able to check in with ease and that you enjoyed our beds! They are my favorite part about the brand as well! I know that when staying with Hampton I will always get a great night rest! Thank you for being a valued guest and I look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrillville, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I had a great stay!I had a great stay!I had a great stay!I had a great stay!I had a great stay!I had a great stay!I had a great stay!I had a great stay!I had a great stay!I had a great stay!I had a great stay!I had a great stay!I had a great stay!I had a great stay!I had a great stay!I had a great stay!I had a great stay!I had a great stay!I had a great stay!I had a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jon E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for being a valued guest at our hotel. It appears we have exceed your expectations and that is awesome! This is one of my favorite Trip Advisers ever so Thank you!!! I will make sure to pass along your kind words to the staff. We hope that when you are visiting Winston Salem again in the future we will be your choice in hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
312 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Spent several nights in this hotel on a recent business trip To Winston Salem, and the hotel was
a newer one and everything was good. Air conditioning was noisy even when it wasn't running
there were mechanical noises emitting from the AC. Smoke alarm was directly over your head when you were in bed and it had a very annoying light shining down toward the bed very annoying when trying to get to sleep. Breakfast was the same as with all Hampton's with the same poor quality food served, biscuits were as hard as bricks, eggs rubberized, the sausage
was good along with the fruit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhollingsworth11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us and other travelers know about your experience. It appears we have fallen short of your expectations with our hotel in a few areas with the noisy AC, smoke alarm placement, and the quality of our breakfast items. Please contact me at your convenience to discuss these items and on how we can not only meet your expectations, but exceed them. Thank you for being a valued guest at our hotel, and I look forward to hearing from you soon. Summer Combs – General Manager – 336 377 3000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldsboro, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Hotel was very clean and the service was excellent. There was plenty for us to choose from for breakfast. Located near restaurants and shopping and an easy drive to WFU or the downtown area. Plan to stay here again next year when we visit the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kurt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us and other travelers know about your experience while visiting our hotel. We strive to provide clean rooms, friendly service and great accomodations each and every visit! We are excited to hear we will be your choice of hotels when visiting Winston Salem again. We look forward to the opportunity to continue to earn your business! Thank you for being a valued guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
6.9 mi away
Brookstown Inn
Brookstown Inn
#4 of 37 in Winston Salem
571 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Winston-Salem - I-40 / Hanes Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
#1 of 37 in Winston Salem
177 reviews
4.9 mi away
Graylyn Estate
Graylyn Estate
#2 of 37 in Winston Salem
389 reviews
8.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winston-Salem Hanes Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
Address: 309 Summit Square Ct, Winston Salem, NC 27105-1483
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
#2 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
#2 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn&Suites Winston-Salem/Univ. area is the city's newest hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area Hotel Winston Salem
Hampton Inn And Suites Winston-Salem / University Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing