We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice halfway break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice halfway break”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Stopped with family on the way to the beach for an overnight. Nice stay. Pool was nice. Breakfast was busy and they were out of a few things but restocked quickly when asked. Room was clean, nice and quiet. Ice machines were in semi sound proofed rooms. Lots of chain restaurants and big box shopping close by. Would stay again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LocalRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thank you for being our guest, and choosing our hotel for your stopping point on the way to the beach. Friday and Saturday nights during the summer months are filled with travelers using our convenient hotel as there “breaking point”. We hope that when traveling next year we will be your choice of hotels in the future. Thank you for being our guest, and we love having you here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    109
    25
    5
    6
See reviews for
224
93
24
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California City, California
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I have recently become a frequent traveler, and many times have been disappointed with my hotel choices... not this time. Great customer service, beautiful roomy rooms, nice breakfast and great location. I was traveling with a group of people and every one of us was impressed with this hotel. I highly recommend it to anyone and should I ever have the occasion to travel to Winston-Salem again I will definitely stay at this hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thank you for letting us and other travelers know about your experience. Our staff truly strives to provide exceptional accommodations, and service to each and every guest. It is our goal to, earn your business not just get it! Thank you for being for being our guest, and we hope that when you visit the Winston Salem Area in the future we will be your choice for hotel accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We enjoyed absolutely everything about this hotel -- the pool, the breakfast, the location ... But most impressive of all was the wonderful staff. Everyone was very warm, friendly, and competent. We'd stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank GratefulTraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thank you for being our guest, and thank you for taking the time to let us and other travelers know about your experience while visiting our area. Our staff truly works hard, to provide great service and accommodations to each and every guest. Thank you also for the warm comments on the staff, and I have passed along the compliments to them in our most recent team huddle. We hope that when you visit our area again we will be your choice in hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My Wife and I were in town for the USTAF competition last weekend. The hotel was perfectly located, about 2 miles from Wake Forest Univ. Our King Suite was very clean and nicely appointed. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The Free breakfast was just what we needed. The workout room was also surprisingly nice, with recently updated equipment! The ONLY negative was our maid kept forgetting to restock our shampoo, conditioner, soap and lotion, so we had to make two trips to the front desk for refills. (not a big deal) We were there three nights.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petersons608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel while visiting the USTAF competition. We are glad you enjoyed our convenient location, and we hope you were able to relax in our deluxe suite! We strive to provide great service and accommodations to each guest, and we are glad you experienced that while visiting us. Our Complimentary Breakfast seems to have a little something for everyone, and we are glad you took advantage while you were here. I do apologize that our housekeeping staff did not restock your amenities while staying. I will make sure to use this as this week’s training topic. We hope that when visiting the Winston Salem area again we will be your choice for accommodations. Thank you for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Josh at the front desk is awesome. Attempted to check in and was told I didn't have a reservation. Checking my email and confirmation, I indeed had reserved a room at "the other" Hampton Inn. He promptly took charge, called and cancelled my reservation at "the other" place and registered me at my preferred location with a great suite. This is my preferred hotel when working every month in Winston-Salem. The staff is always friendly, courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCGator1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
I would first like to thank you for your compliments on Josh. I have shared your comments, and recognized him at our most recent team huddle! We truly strive to provide great service and accommodations to each and every guest. Although you were booked at another property, I am glad we were able to get you in to ours. We hope that when visiting the area again we will be your choice in hotels. Thank you again, for being our valued guest, and we look forward to serving you again in the future!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I stay here frequently. I'm always greeted by friendly staff (Josh & Roger). The breakfast is extensive with many choices. The rooms are quiet and clean. Each room has a fridge and microwave. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OH2NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
I would first like to thank you for the kind words about our staff, specifically Josh and Roger. I have shared your comments with them along with the rest of our staff. We strive to provide great service and accommodations to each and every guest. We are certainly glad you were not disappointed, and we hope when you visit the Winston-Salem area in the future we will be your first choice in hotels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sand Creek, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The room was a little pricey, however, it was very spacious and was nice. The hotel was very quiet and had very little outside noise. There was plenty of food for breakfast! The only suggestion I would have for ANY hotel is to hand out a map upon request, showing where some restaurants and other surroundings are for out of town guests.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us and other travelers know about your experience at our hotel. Our staff truly strives to provide great service and accommodations each and every time. We hope that when you are visiting the Winston Salem Area again in the future we will be your choice of hotels in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
6.9 mi away
Brookstown Inn
Brookstown Inn
#4 of 38 in Winston Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
6.4 mi away
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
#1 of 38 in Winston Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Winston-Salem - I-40 / Hanes Mall
4.9 mi away
Graylyn Estate
Graylyn Estate
#2 of 38 in Winston Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
8.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winston-Salem Hanes Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
Address: 309 Summit Square Ct, Winston Salem, NC 27105-1483
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
#2 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
#2 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn&Suites Winston-Salem/Univ. area is the city's newest hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area Hotel Winston Salem
Hampton Inn And Suites Winston-Salem / University Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing