We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ehhhh....”
Review of New Town Bistro & Bar - CLOSED

New Town Bistro & Bar
Price range: US$13 - US$26
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ehhhh....”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

92 health rating....

Tomato pie was good, but there are many other restaurants that are loads better for the price. Second time we have eaten there after a period of six years. We still weren't impressed.

Waitress was friendly, introduced herself about 4 times.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wsknittingmom22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle A, Owner at New Town Bistro & Bar, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thanks so much for visiting our Bistro, after 20 plus years in Winston Salem we take every comment to heart and always try to improve upon our errors. I am so sorry we were not made aware of the problem that so so our staff or myself could have corrected the issues and tried to make it better.
Please contact me directly to discuses and so that I can attempt to remedy the issue.
Kagha@newtownbistro.com

In reference to the 92 heath grade since the new Food Code went into affect grades across forsyth county and that stat have fallen, an average score is 93 these days.You will find that any inspections that have been done since January are graded on the new scale. I encourage you to go online and you can ready area inspections, you will find with ours it is not related to cleanness but more of issue because we are a 20 year old place. Lighting, tiles, ect things that are grandfathered in but for todays current code can be updated.
Most of our back of the house are all servesafe certified, which means that they have been through health and safety classes in regards handling food and products.
Again thanks for your comments and we will continue to strive to do better
Kyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A small place with big heart”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Kyle & his staff are a friendly and professional lot that will give you a great experience in hospitality. Chef Donny D Smith is preparing simple good food with a lighter twist. Order the Crispy Fried Saltine Oysters, and The Cackalacky Shrimp if in season. Ask your server about the specials and don't fear to try something new. While a casual place, it would be a good place to take a special someone for a romantic evening.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle A, Owner at New Town Bistro & Bar, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thanks for stopping in its always a pleasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great local Bistro”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Almost a WS landmark for the last 18 years New Town has been one of the community shinning stars. Creative consistent cuisine ! Sunday Brunch Build your own bloody mary bar has so many great options, you have to try it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tarheel967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

We have eaten here several times before. The staff is always friendly and very helpful. My husband enjoyed the shrimp and grits. I had the short ribs and the dish was excellent. We will be back

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yadkinville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Food is good and service is very attentive. Nice place to take a date. Candlelit tables, cloth napkins, and interesting art work all over restaurant for sale. Good variety on menu.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New Town Bistro & Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing