We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to unwind..”

Wine Merchants & Vin205 Wine Bar
Ranked #114 of 661 Restaurants in Winston Salem
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We are a wine and craft beer bar and restaurant. We have 16 wines and 20 beers on tap, as well as hundreds of wines by the bottle and beer by the bottle and can. We have live music on Fridays and some Saturdays. It is a small, intimate, boutique-style restaurant with friendly service and knowledgeable staff.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to unwind..”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The food here is top notch. The menu is small, but has a bit of everything. Warm crab-dip is one of my favorites. Last week they featured a tuna tartare tower…should be on the menu every day!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    7
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good place to sample wine and snack”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Vin 205 is a small cafe attached to a wine shop (Wine Merchants Gourmet). Most Saturdays the wine shop has a free tasting of featured wines. The small plates or appetizers in the restaurant are great. Do not pass up the meatballs. There is a large variety of wines for sale by the glass. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great celebration dinner”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Vin 205 has definitely stepped up since they first opened. Our first visit was maybe a month or so after they first opened. They only offered tapas and small plates. Now, the menu has plenty to choose from and everything was fantastic. On friday night, there was only one table left, tucked into the corner. We didn't mind. The waitress was friendly. I only have 2 negatives: one is that we were going there for the multi-course meal with wine pairing. Unfortunately, they only offer it every other weekend, and it wasn't on the weekend we went. It would have been best to say that on the menu. Second, we ordered a bottle of white wine, and it would have been nice to have it in an ice bucket.. Back to all of the positives: We started with the pork tacos. My husband is very picky with pork since he smokes his own, and these were so delicious that we could have licked the plate. I had the scallops, you get about 5 or 6 large ones with rice and spinach. Very great. My husband had the crab cakes, which were very large and filling. For dessert, we shared the bananas foster (to die for!). Overall, our experience with above expectations and I would recommend this to anyone.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dani2414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n.c.
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“What a nice surprise!”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Having long believed this was just a wine store, was pleasantly surprised to find the connected bistro. Our dining experience here was perfect....great service, entrée choices and wine/beer selection. Also, a very attractive outdoor patio. Will certainly return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ebbtide2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food/wines/service/live music... great experience overall!”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

I checked out Vin 205 last night for the first time and I have to say that it was an exceptionally great wine bar experience from the moment I walked through the front door until I left. I was initially drawn in for the live music by Mosaic, but was just as quickly drawn in by the classy, but comfortable, atmosphere and great service of Vin 205. I had three different wines, an appetizer and tried a few samples of new wines (friends also ate and enjoyed entrees). The weekly wine menu was great and the food was as well, but what really sealed the deal for me was the personable, attentive and approachable staff (even with a full house & bar) - I mostly spoke with Mike & Lindsay (hopefully I got their names right), but honestly the entire front-of-the-house staff seemed on-target and friendly. Great place for a bon vivant to hang out and I look forward to going back in the future, especially when there is a fun, lively vibe like there was last night! After looking at their website, I was also excited to see that they are doing a complimentary tasting today with the owners of Grassy Creek Vineyard (Elkin, NC vineyard). So, they get extra props from me for supporting NC's Yadkin River Valley vineyards!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wine Merchants & Vin205 Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Wine Merchants & Vin205 Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing