We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding historic house, grounds and Art Gallery”

Reynolda House Museum of American Art
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover Reynolda House, the centerpiece of the Reynolda Historic District in Winston-Salem, North Carolina. Explore the restored 1917 mansion of Katharine and R.J. Reynolds. An orientation video, oral history kiosk and audio tours, included in your admission fee, provide a unique window into the family and the life they lived. Enjoy masterpieces of American art and special exhibitions in both the historic house and the museum's new exhibition wing. Shop and dine in Historic Reynolda Village. Then, stroll the formal gardens, greenhouses and woodland walking trails of Reynolda Gardens. The Wake Forest University campus, adjacent to Reynolda, is accessible by walking trail or by car.
Reviewed 27 August 2018

The 100 year old house, the former home of R J Reynolds is in mint condition. The extensive gardens are a delight at every season of the year. The recently added art gallery has a schedule of nationally significant shows. Check their web site for "what's on".

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank mnewmanstufio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (586)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"reynolds family"
in 63 reviews
"ansel adams exhibit"
in 26 reviews
"bowling alley"
in 26 reviews
"grant wood"
in 12 reviews
"permanent collection"
in 11 reviews
"audio guide"
in 8 reviews
"shooting range"
in 9 reviews
"frederic church"
in 9 reviews
"squash court"
in 7 reviews
"indoor pool"
in 7 reviews
"special exhibit"
in 9 reviews
"rose garden"
in 6 reviews
"village tavern"
in 11 reviews
"on display"
in 18 reviews
"beautiful grounds"
in 12 reviews
"wake forest university"
in 17 reviews
"worth the trip"
in 10 reviews
Filter

17 - 21 of 586 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

That is no surprise that this tastefully decorated home is not dog friendly. So be it. As we toured the home with my friend Karel; famous artists of a bygone era decorate the walls beautifully. (Gilbert Stuart, Copely, Peake & My fab Frederick Church.) There are guided to help enhance your experience feel free to take advantage of their knowledge and skill. The homes and outbuildings in the neighboring Village of Reynolda have been repurposed into shops & restaurants to enhance your visit. Spends the day. Plan ahead and get a massage. Jump from restaurant to restaurant. What ever you do. Come

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank avicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

We enjoyed our second visit here. We especially enjoyed the art of Georgia O'Keeffe that was on exhibit.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank billgriesmyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

I have always loved Reynolda House, all the way back to the 1970’s when I would skate around and bowl, jump in the pool and enjoy the grounds. The house has always been part of the community and especially part of my life. During college I started worked there and worked off and on for over 7 years at the Reynolda House. I moved paintings, set up food for guests, and enjoyed the glorious surroundings of the gardens. Please do yourself a favor and drop by the house. It’s one of the great historic sites in our States wonderful history.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank petermilner99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2018

The Reynolds' home with their art and furniture. I have been to this and that museum and this and that gallery, but this one was different. A great display of llfe and games of the rich and famous in the 1920's, 30's, 40's. A squash court in the basement? The grounds are elegant and beautiful

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank roadgard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Reynolda House Museum of American Art also viewed

 

Been to Reynolda House Museum of American Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing