We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Murder Mystery Weekend””
Review of Graylyn Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Graylyn Estate
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Hoschton, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
““Murder Mystery Weekend””
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I have to third the previous reviews of Graylyn. We had such a great weekend! Everything was great and if I had to complain about something it would be that we requested a king size bed but was put in a room with a queen size. Staff told us they could switch rooms but it would have been in the cottage which is not attached to the main house. We decided to stay in our room because the activities were in the main house and it was very cold outside and would need to be picked up/dropped off by the Butlers. Graylyn went above and beyond with the food and every meal was five stars. The murder mystery was an added bonus. I got the booby prize for being all wrong. People sitting at our table were some of the actors. Never saw that one coming. Fun, Fun, Fun! Definitely will do this again. Trust no one…..

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    67
    27
    10
    8
See reviews for
166
104
13
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I have to second the previous review of Graylyn. I was just there for the second time for murder mystery weekend. This place is amazing. Absolutely gorgeous. We stayed in the main building and our room was huge, great bathroom. Loved all the sitting areas, lounging rooms, little bar with fireplace. All of it is has so much uniqueness and charm. Loved the hospitality room. A small room to get coffee, tea, hot chocolate and ice cream bars. We had 2 breakfasts, 2 dinners and lunch. Every meal was 5 star. The men at the door were great. Above and beyond friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvacationing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annandale, VA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This is my third year staying at Graylyn for the murder mysteries. The staff far exceeds any of all the places I have ever stayed. They are gracious, friendly, helpful, and funny. The butler was able to give us a private tour filled with historical facts of this great house. I talked with staff on every floor and everyone said they were very happy to be working there and had worked there for no less than 3 years and most for more than 10 years. Yes, I indulged in the free ice cream from the ice cream that is open 24/7 but the presentation of all the food is wonderful. Even in winter, it is a place to behold with the loverly artwork and working fireplaces. I look forward to seeing it in the summer sometime since all of my visits have been in winter. The grounds are glorious.

Room Tip: I've stayed in large rooms and small rooms. Each have their own charm and all are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louandlouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed at Graylyn in conjunction with a wedding reception. It was an outstanding experience. This is a historic property so recognize that aspect. The architecture was extraordinary. The staff was attentive. Every detail was attended to.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed at Graylyn Dec. 22 and 23 visiting our parents at Arbor Acres Retirement community nearby. It's wonderful that Graylyn offers a discounted price for rooms in conjunction with the retirement community! This was our second Christmas at Graylyn and it was once again a delight. We stayed in "The Bungalow" and our siblings stayed in "Bernard Cottage." All rooms were cozy, comfortable and well appointed. The butler staff was superb. Breakfast in the glass arbor room, with rain drumming on the metal roof, was such a calm and beautiful experience we could have sipped coffee there all day.

We look forward to our next Christmas in fairy tale land!

Room Tip: All rooms are different and wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbfuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwood, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Graylyn in December 2013, and found the facilities and service to be nothing short of spectacular. Every one of the staff we encountered was most courteous and extremely helpful. We have stayed at the Greenbriar and the Homestead, as well as other resort hotels, and the Graylyn's service was simply superior to anything we have ever experienced. You can't go wrong at the Graylyn. And, on top of everything else, the rates are quite reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the Manor House, which is the main building and where meals are served. There are so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Land, South Carolina
Level Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We had seen ads in the North Carolina magazine, Our State, and my wife finally decided to give it a try for my birthday weekend. So four of us went, two couples, and bought the deal where you get a room, breakfast, dinner, tour of Graylyn and tour of Reynolda House.

We stayed in the house, itself, in room 208. The other couple had room 211. Both were very nice. Old style - not modernized, but extremely cozy and wonderful.

We checked in a little early with no problems. After grabbing a lunch in downtown Winston-Salem, we went and availed ourselves of our free tour of the Reynolda House. It, too, was very beautiful and we wished we had saved more time for it. The grounds were also very beautiful.

Our dinner in one of the enclosed porches in the Graylyn was very good. Nice, quiet atmosphere, excellent service and great food. As one can imagine, the selection was limited but covered all the bases (pork, fish, beef, poultry).

After dinner, we wandered around the house a bit, including a bit of an outside walk though it was getting quite cool. We felt like we had the house all to ourselves. There are so many rooms to explore, including the basement where the lounge (bar) was located.

After a wonderful night's sleep, we took in breakfast which was a hot buffet and got to sit in the Persian Card Room to eat! The food was very good, as was the service. After breakfast, we had our butler tour, which was the highlight of the weekend. Bill, our guide, was fabulous. We saw every nook and cranny in the house, including several of the more plush suites. He took us to the Mews which has some interesting rooms, including a two-story room in a silo! He was an EXCELLENT guide.

All in all, we had a wonderful time at the Graylyn and recommend it to anyone who wants a quiet, old world atmosphere.

Room Tip: Although the Mews seemed quite nice, I would try to stay in the house, itself. It's just easier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rudeman_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
2.6 mi away
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
#1 of 38 in Winston Salem
200 reviews
2.8 mi away
Brookstown Inn
Brookstown Inn
#4 of 38 in Winston Salem
594 reviews
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
2.2 mi away
Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area
2.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Winston - Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graylyn Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graylyn Estate

Property: Graylyn Estate
Address: 1900 Reynolda Rd, Winston Salem, NC 27106-5100 (Formerly Graylyn International Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
#7 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
#8 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Graylyn Estate 4.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the private home of Mr & Mrs Bowman Gray, Graylyn is now a historic boutique hotel with all of today's modern amenities. Graylyn features 85 well-appointed and uniquely decorated guest rooms attractively situated throughout the pristine 55-acre estate just minutes from downtown Winston-Salem. An unforgettable experience awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Graylyn Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graylyn International Hotel Winston Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing