We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Poor Service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winston Salem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Augustus T. Zevely Inn
Washington, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location - Poor Service”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

If you want to enjoy Old Salem and the Tavern across the street you can't beat the location. As for service and facilities, far from perfect. The B&B is historical, which is great, but historical and not maintained is a big difference. We had sink handles falling off, sink would not drain, a/c can't easily adjust. For the breakfast side of the B&B, they are strict that breakfast doesn't start till 8:00, not 7:45 when we were getting ready to leave, but 8:00. However, we could hear them start to fix breakfast at 5:00am, banging dishes to let you know they started and if there you were not sure the owners managed to set off the smoke detector at 5:30am to let you know they were fixing the breakfast you could not have till 8:00am. We won't be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    34
    17
    11
    7
See reviews for
24
96
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
HIlton Head Island
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

A group of us were there for several nights when visiting Old Salem. Charming old house and you just walk out the front door into the heart of Old Salem. Delicious breakfasts. Linda, the innkeeper was a fount of helpful information. We would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: The Doctor's room on the second floor was large (bath small) and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryAnnHHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

A lovely really old building in Old Salem. We were greeted and booked in efficiently and allocated our room. It was a bit of a trek up a couple of flights of outside stairs and porches to the room. the room was comfortable and we had a good nights sleep. Breakfast is continental style.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dougandsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Brunswick, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

If you are a history buff and looking for a trip with a focus on the History of Winston Salem and you just need an “OK” place to rest your head, then this is a nice spot, for the furniture, art, etc. is of an old Salem collection and It is located in what is called the historic district of Old Salem. As for customer service, the innkeeper that greeted us was a delightful woman that had interesting stories to share with a warm personality. When we got in the room, it was smaller than what the picture indicated on the website, but its charm quickly elevated the disappointed, for the three of us were excited about the jet steam tub with a steam shower, however, when we tried to use it, that night after a somewhat stressful incidents with the local cab taxi service, it was a big letdown when it did not work. When I brought it to the attention to the morning shift innkeeper, in a not so friendly response she said, “I know that is why we do not advertised on the website. When arrived it would have been nice to know then. Secondly, one my friends traveling with us was experiencing some health challenges. When I went downstairs to fix a continual style breakfast to take up to her, the morning shift innkeeper was not very accommodating and slightly rude, for I found myself having to plead with her in an emotional manner in the presence of other guest, assuring her we would be careful. My judgment may be somewhat jaded, with over a dozen stays at other B&Bs in the south, but it was a letdown , since this was a first experience of a bed and breakfast with one of the guest among the three of us. Again, if you are visiting Winston Salem strictly for tourism, and uninterested in spending time at the Bed and Breakfast for rest and relaxation then it is an OK place to stay.

Room Tip: The room David Blum Room appears larger in the photo on the website and it more ideal for a couple w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dogloveryesterdayand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The room was just what you needed with a bed, extra blankets and a bathroom. The house was built almost 200 years ago, so the floors are uneven, but who cares that's the charm of the location.

The Inn is in the center of Old Salem, perfect for walking around each morning to see the sights. The breakfast is great with a choice of cereal, muffins, coffee, juice, berries and typically some quiche as well. The staff is super accommodating, even letting us check in late due to a long drive in to town.

They know the area, so ask about what to see or just read the travel guides or sit down with a book. The history of the Inn itself is on the walls of the breakfast area so read while you wake up -- very interesting!

Highly recommend, especially for the old Salem Tavern across the street -- cannot recommend enough for dinner!

Room Tip: Choose a room with an exterior entrance , no noise for us on second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This is our third visit to the Augustus T. Zevely Inn in Old Salem NC. We are thrilled to be back in this comfortable Moravian Inn. It is close to Wake Forest U, which is our reason to visit. On this last visit we had my mother who is 87 years old share the Winter Kitchen suite with us. Our room had a king size bed , electric fireplace and private bath. Attached was a sitting room, another bedroom and bath. It is on the same level as breakfast so there were no stairs to climb. The room was large enough to accomodate us and we were very comfortable there. The breakfast are delicious served in a warm eatting area to mingle with other guess. Two other friends joined us overnight and they were able to set us up for breakfast in the formal dining room which is able to accomodate a larger group. There is a large multi level deck, in the back of the house which was perfect even in Feb to sit outside on the rockers and watch the squirrels play while having our early evening wine. Across the street is the local Tavern/ resturant which you just walk to. Food is served in a old fashion setting and is a nice way to finish the day. Old Salem has pleasant shops and historic tours also. I plan on going back , several more times , and you should too!!

Room Tip: winter or summer kitchen our the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtantum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnsboro, South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I have lost count of the number of times my wife and I have had the unforgettable pleasure of immersion into the luxurious history and hospitality of the Augustus T. Zevely Inn at Old Salem in Winston-Salem, North Carolina. One could not imagine a more authentic experience of Moravian life brought forward to the 21st century. The Innkeepers are genuine, compassionate, and professional people who go out of their way to accommodate their guests with quality and comfort. We just spent a glorious weekend in the Lucinda Blum Zevely room. In early December, 2013, we shared the Winter Kitchen Suite with our son and his wife. The fireplace is heavenly! Every breakfast is a culinary delight -- the old world ambiance of the breakfast room insures its memory. After the meal, we savor hot drinks in rocking chairs on the three-story veranda before beginning our stroll through Old Salem to the C. Winkler Bakery at the top of the hill.

I'm dumfounded by the negative review I read below. All I can say is, beware of error-ridden comments replete with bad grammar. In our many visits, we have found housekeeping to be meticulous and the rooms to be as fresh and clean as could possibly be.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Errol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
0.4 mi away
Brookstown Inn
Brookstown Inn
#4 of 38 in Winston Salem
594 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
#1 of 38 in Winston Salem
200 reviews
3.2 mi away
Graylyn Estate
Graylyn Estate
#2 of 38 in Winston Salem
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winston-Salem Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Winston - Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augustus T. Zevely Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augustus T. Zevely Inn

Property: Augustus T. Zevely Inn
Address: 803 South Main Street, Winston Salem, NC 27101-5332
Region: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Augustus t. Zevely Hotel Winston Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing