We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy cookies”
Review of Winkler Bakery

Winkler Bakery
Ranked #1 of 25 Dessert in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 8 November 2018

When you visit Old Salem a visit to this bakery is a must. We tried the cheese stars from the discount shelf and they were fine. But the cookies were great especially the chocolate chip.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank journalmytrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2018

Every time we visit Old Salem the bakery is a tradition. The Ginger Snap Cookies are great and we always get enough to have them at Christmas time!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank VLSepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Don't forget to stop at the Winkler Bakery! Old Fashioned sugar cake, Moravian cookies, etc. You can tour and see how the ovens were made. There is a small shop upstairs with several rooms to sit in. Don't forget the Sugar Cake! Best warmed up with a cup of coffee!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Curious791551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

We went to the Bakery every week for many years since my Mom was a guide at Old Salem. You must try the Moravian Sugar Cake and the Moravian Cookies there. My family makes them better (it's the love) but this is the only bakery I would buy them from!! If you come to Salem you have to get your sugar fix here!! The bread is also amazing!

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mythmage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

You have to stop and try the delicious warm bread and a coffee. When we were there, there were also 2 or 3 school trips so it was a bit chaotic and there was nowhere left inside to sit. But we just took our coffee outside and sat on the benches along the main street. Was really interesting to watch the baking process.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank CartoonsL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Winkler Bakery also viewed

 
 

Been to Winkler Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing