We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”
Review of Brookstown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brookstown Inn
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We had a nice stay at the inn. Breakfast, wine and cheese and cookie and milk were very good. We loved the building, room and location. The only negative was the front desk staff. They did provide service but across all four shifts that I interacted with none of them seemed like they wanted to be there. I would have to describe their demeanors as flat. It was a bit of an effort to get information from them. The one exception was the bartender-he modeled excellent service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookstownInn, General Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for the nice comments about our hotel. We are always trying to improve our quality and service. Normally our staff gets great reviews. We are so sorry that they disappointed you.
If we can help you in the future please let me know.
Steve Lawson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (670)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

628 - 634 of 670 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

My family needed a place to stay suddenly when our father was admitted into Wake Forest Baptist Hospital. After a day in hospital room in was a relief to enter a hotel that visually delighted us. Brookstown Inn is charming, spacious, and delightful to explore.
The room was spacious with hard wood floors and a modern bathroom with a fabulous shower. The beds of course were the best characteristic. Deep and luxurious with plenty of fluffy pillows and lots of warm bedding. I have never been this comfortable in a hotel. And because this is a converted cotton mill, the walls are thick. The silence was fabulous!
There are complementary toiletries, hair drier, iron and board available. And enough towels for 4 people. The really nice surprise was a Kourig coffe machine. So nice!
Besides the wine and cheese hour and the following cookie and milk hour, there is a large lovely brick courtyard for seating or smokers. There is also a nice large comfy seating area inside that I was able to make phone calls at and just relax with a coffee. We arrived too late to have dinner but there are several restaurants just across the store that we easily walked to.
The staff was super pleasant and very accommodating as well. They will even take guests on a tour of the mill if asked. We didn't partake of the continental breakfast because even though it was a lovely array of pastries and cereal, I prefer a more substantial breakfast. At checkout, we were told that they provide a special rate for families with loved ones at Baptist Hospital.
If this sounds good to you, I wouldn't hesitate to book. The only downside to this Inn is that it's so good it fills up quick!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IAMitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookstownInn, General Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for your business and the nice comments. We are always looking to improve our
quality and service.
Steve Lawson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Wonderful place to stay. Can walk very easily to Old Salem. Clean, comfortable beds. Wine and cheese served in the evenings as well as milk and cookies before bed in the lobby. Chocolates on our pillows. Excellent. Within walking distance also are several wonderful restaurants. Di Lisio's Italian restaurant has excellent high quality meals for a reasonable price just across the street from the hotel. Wonderful get away!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookstownInn, General Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for your business and nice comments. We are always trying to improve our quality
and service and your feedback is very important to us.
Steve Lawson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

While I often end up staying in a hotel chain for quick weekend trips, I chose this one after reading reviews here. It turned out to be the perfect spot and found it to be a charming hotel. From the wine and cheese and milk and cookies in the evening to the big, spacious room, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Great location for Old Salem or for visiting kids Wake Forest. Very quaint and unique which was a welcome change!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank margomcd5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookstownInn, General Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for your nice comments. We always want our guest to have a wonderful experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The Brookstown Inn has become our favorite place to stay while in Winston-Salem area. It is in walking distance of historic Old Salem and down-town restaurants, a short drive to Reynolda House, Village, Gardens, and is the best $$$$ deal available in hotels. The complimentary breakfast is good (even freshly sliced strawberries) as is the wine and cheese in the evenings. The staff is friendly and helpful, the accommodations are comfortable, historic, and clean. The housekeepers did about a 500% better job of making beds, cleaning bath w/fresh towels, etc. than we have seen elsewhere. We stay in their largest 'most expensive' room/suite and for two nights saved about $150 from what we normally pay for similar accommodations at Marriott. What is the downside: we would have liked to have had more 110v electrical plug-ins for all of our electronics. But this hotel is solid brick, once was a cotton warehouse/manufacturing building and it wasn't intended to have lots of 110v outlets! The renovations have been excellent, but a couple more outlets would have been nice, but then we are really spoiled with such luxuries!

Room Tip: Book early as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clayland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookstownInn, General Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for your comments. We are always trying to improve our services and facility.
We will look into adding more electrical outlets. Thank you for your business, and look forward to a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We choose this hotel through Hotels.com. The price and setting were just right. This converted manufacturing building was a nice conversion. However, there are a lot of steps and that should be considered for people with limited mobility. We tried to enter our room through the back way to cut down on stairs but the door didn't work. The sofa in the sitting area was extremely hard and that area could have used another easy chair. The hot water took a long time to come up but otherwise the room was pretty good. You have to be skinny to get between. The bed and the wardrobe to get to the bathroom. The Meridian restaurant across the way was great. We missed breakfast. I would try here again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookstownInn, General Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for your comments. We are always trying to improve our service and facility and depend on comments from our valuable customers. Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

With all of the cookie cutter hotels clogging the travel hot spots it is refreshing to find a unique, quality hotel. The Brookstown Inn is such a place. If you like large rooms, 180 year old brick exterior walls in you room, modern bathrooms, cleanliness, comfortable beds and a quiet neighborhood then you will want to stay at this place. If you are bothered by 12 foot high ceilings, exposed 24 inch wood beams and water sprinkler pipes overhead, then opt for the cookie cutter places.

One mile from Old Salem, walking distance from restaurants, friendly staff and impeccable handing of our reservations, we will return to this charming inn.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank TXDavid937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookstownInn, General Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for your business and the nice comments. We work very hard on trying to be unique and charming . Please visit us again very soon..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
2.8 mi away
Graylyn Estate
Graylyn Estate
#1 of 38 in Winston Salem
613 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
#5 of 38 in Winston Salem
237 reviews
6.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Winston - Salem
0.6 mi away
Winston-Salem Marriott
Winston-Salem Marriott
#17 of 38 in Winston Salem
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookstown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookstown Inn

Address: 200 Brookstown Ave, Winston Salem, NC 27101-5209
Region: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
#3 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
#4 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range: £89 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brookstown Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rate includes hot breakfast, complimentary wine and cheese reception in the evenings, cookies and milk at bedtime. The Brookstown Inn was built in 1837. The Inn has the charm and ambiance of old-world architecture with all the conveniences of a modern conference facility. Its hallmarks of exposed brick walls and wooden beams enhance its Early American decor and help you escape to the charm of yesteryear. We are within a short walk of the restored 1766 Moravian village of Old Salem and convenient to the Winston-Salem business district, North Carolina School of the Arts, the Southeastern Center for Contemporary Arts (SECCA), Winston Salem State University, Wake Forest University, and Salem College. The property is also only a short distance from Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center and Forsyth Memorial Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Brookstown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookstown Hotel Winston Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing