We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our experience was wonderful and staff was so very nice!!”
Review of Brookstown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Brookstown Inn
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our experience was wonderful and staff was so very nice!!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The Brookstown was wonderful. The location is close to interstate and easy to get to. We will go back again!! The rooms are beautifully decorated and the quaintness of the hotel is peaceful and relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane3912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookstownInn, General Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thanks you so much for the compliments to the staff! I will pass along to them. It is so nice for them to be acknowledged for their efforts in pleasing our Guests! They certainly take pride in making sure everyone has a comfortable and enjoyable time. I am happy that you enjoyed the décor in the rooms too. They are all unique in some way. The best compliment is a happy guest that will come back again! Thank you for sharing your experience and for recommending us to other travelers. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    140
    35
    12
    6
See reviews for
185
180
22
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I was staying with my 17-year-old son for a Wake Forest baseball camp, so we needed something larger than the typical hotel room. We picked Brookstown Inn initially because it was priced lower than the Embassy Suites or comparable suite hotel, and we wouldn't be spending much time there anyway. We were in for a nice surprise! We stayed in a Jr. Suite in the East Wing - two levels with a pull out sofabed for my son. The rooms had so much character. The decor/bathroom fixtures were a little dated, but everything was very clean and well-maintained. It is like staying in a large B&B. The breakfast is strictly continental fare, and there is no onsite restaurant. We walked a few blocks to Willows and had a great dinner, and walked to Old Salem another day.
The best thing about the inn was the staff. They were responsive to all of our requests, friendly and professional. When we were 2 hours into our drive home, my son realized he had left his wallet in the room. We called the hotel, they located it and overnighted it to us in Birmingham. Would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: The Jr. Suites are great two-level rooms with a sitting room and a "loft" bedroom. The si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKubiszyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookstownInn, General Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
MKubiszyn,
Thanks for taking the time to give us an Excellent review and for recommending us to others. I’m so glad we found your son’s wallet and was able to return it to him. I hope he had a great time at WF baseball camp. If you return to the area again to visit Wake Forest, you have a place to stay with us! I’m happy you had a great experience and enjoyed the large rooms. All the rooms in the Main Inn have received updated fixtures, and we are currently upgrading the fixtures in the East Wing. All rooms have the new Bedding Package, flat screen TV’s, Microwaves, Refrigerators, Keurig Coffee Makers – the WORKS! Thanks for the kind compliments and I will pass along to the staff. They enjoy and take pride in being courteous, attentive and friendly to our Guests. We look forward to seeing you again next time you travel to Winston-Salem!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

What a wonderful time we had at the Brookstown Inn. So much character to the old cotton mill which is now the hotel. Stay in the East Wing -- rooms are very nice with a lower level sitting area. Was told that each room is different in some way. Bed was amazingly comfortable!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryEllenSantee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookstownInn, General Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Mary Ellen,
Thank you for your EXCELLENT review and for sharing your experience with others. I’m happy your enjoyed the character and history of the old Cotton Mill.
The East Wing is very unique in that it was built 50 years later than the Main Hall, and every room is bi-level. You are correct in that every room in different in some decorative way! The highlighted upgrades they all share are the new bedding package featuring Sealy Posturepedic mattresses and Mattelasse Coverlets with high thread count ultra soft linens; hi-def flat screen TV’s; and Keurig Coffee makers. The differences are in the color palettes, granite surfaces, furnishings, size and room layout.The 800 square foot Suites are popular too! We would love for you to stay with us again next time you return to Winston-Salem! Thanks again!


“best room ever !”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This was my first time in Winston Salem, and my choice of residence for my week long stay was not disappointing. The Brookstown Inn was just as elegant, and beautiful as it was on-line. I loved the floor plan of the suites, the common areas and garden patio where my family and I gathered many evenings. The beds, and linen were always fresh and relaxing...slept like a baby every night.
This was a very hospitable hotel, and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. I wish to personally thank the Sales Director Allison for allowing us to use the dining room for my wife's birthday party...thank you Allison, you're the best. Loved my stay.

Room Tip: There were many celebrities at the time, and I'm told its a common thing; so if you like this so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reginald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookstownInn, General Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Reginald C.,
We were so happy to have you for a week, and I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay! Thanks for your kind comments. It’s always good to hear when our guests sleep well, relax and enjoy family gatherings. The Brookstown Courtyard has the ambiance that lends itself to an inviting respite. I will pass your compliments of the staff along to them as the strive hard to provide friendly service. Allison is a GEM, and she says “thank YOU”. We look forward to you staying with us again the next time you travel to Winston-Salem. Thanks again for sharing your experience with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Room was cleaned exceptionally well and was exactly what was promised. Front desk attendant was kind and respectful even at 1:00AM which is when we checked in. Breakfast was promptly served at 8:00AM which was a pleasant surprise considering many of my other experiences.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookstownInn, General Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Anthony S.,
Thank you for taking the time to give us an EXCELLENT 5 Star review and for sharing your experience with others! Our Night Desk Associate, Vickie Underwood, has been with us for nearly 28 years, and she takes pride in being extra attentive to weary late night arriving guests. I will share your kind comments with her. Also, thanks for recognizing the promptness of our breakfast staff. They love to hear when guests feel like they receive the valued experience they deserve. We look forward to you staying with us again next time you are traveling to Winston-Salem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Hill, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is our fourth stay at the Brookstown Inn. The staff is friendly and helpful. The inn is charming. We love that it is within walking distance of several restaurants, a bakery, and the children's museum.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trhb27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookstownInn, General Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Trhb27,
Thank you for your WONDERFUL review!!!! And thank you for being a valued return guest! I’m so happy you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed your strolls to the area Eateries and Attractions. We look forward to your 5th stay with us and the opportunity to continue exceeding your expectations! It means so much to us for you to recommend to other travelers. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I had been to a wedding there before & found the place very interesting. So, when I had to stay in the area, I knew this was the place I wanted. It's a very unique hotel with a lot of character and history. It's close to anything downtown. The staff was very friendly, The room was very clean and everything looked new. I've never seen a place that serves milk & cookies before (in addition to a wine/cheese reception). I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrookstownInn, General Manager at Brookstown Inn, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Timothy S.,
Thank you for your Excellent 5 star review and sharing your experience with other travelers!! We love it when a guest returns after attending an event in our Grand Ballroom. Our milk and cookies reception in the Parlor is a popular delight amongst our Guests. I am happy you were able to enjoy the history and character of the Inn and that you found our staff friendly. They work hard to provide warm hospitality to all of our Travelers. Thanks for being a valued guest and for recommending us to others looking for an exceptional experience. Next time you are in town, please ask for me as I would love to personally thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
2.8 mi away
Graylyn Estate
Graylyn Estate
#2 of 38 in Winston Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
#1 of 38 in Winston Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winston-Salem Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookstown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookstown Inn

Property: Brookstown Inn
Address: 200 Brookstown Ave, Winston Salem, NC 27101-5209
Region: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
#3 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
#4 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brookstown Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rate includes hot breakfast, complimentary wine and cheese reception in the evenings, cookies and milk at bedtime. The Brookstown Inn was built in 1837. The Inn has the charm and ambiance of old-world architecture with all the conveniences of a modern conference facility. Its hallmarks of exposed brick walls and wooden beams enhance its Early American decor and help you escape to the charm of yesteryear. We are within a short walk of the restored 1766 Moravian village of Old Salem and convenient to the Winston-Salem business district, North Carolina School of the Arts, the Southeastern Center for Contemporary Arts (SECCA), Winston Salem State University, Wake Forest University, and Salem College. The property is also only a short distance from Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center and Forsyth Memorial Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Brookstown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookstown Hotel Winston Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing