We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, extremely friendly staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Winston-Salem University
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Winston Salem
Canada
Level Contributor
192 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Very nice, extremely friendly staff!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed a night in September while on college visits. The hotel has been renovated (a few years ago). Overall, very nice. The beds were extremely confortable. The staff went out of their way to be welcoming and friendly. We had dinner and breakfast - a nice choice of "bar food for dinner" and good breakfast! My only complaint was the cleanliness of the bathroom - quite a few hair in the bath and around the toilet...
Note: not a lot of "walk to" restaurants around the hotel itself.
But overall, good price quality.
We would stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UnVentdeFolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard Winston-Salem University, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you so much for your kind remaks. Our award winning staff is why our hotel is so successful! Taking care of our guest and their needs is our goal. Thank you for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    52
    18
    17
    7
See reviews for
49
18
9
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galax, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

This hotel is very nice, modern, clean, and a overall great place to spend the night. It is also centrally located to shopping, food, and entertainment. We stayed here after a concert a Ziggy's. A cab was 10 dollars each way to and from the hotel. Beds were comfortable. The bathroom was clean.The vanity is separate from the rest of the bathroom so was a great place for two couples. One of us could get ready while the other showered. New flat screen TV. The room also had a fridge. I would highly recommend this hotel. They also had a night time security guard. A little higher in price but WORTH the good nights rest.

Room Tip: There are only two floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard Winston-Salem University, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review that you gave our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will allow us an opportunity to accomodate you again! A customer like yourself help us to succeed and we apreciate you!

Regards,

Vickie Koger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

This hotel was just that...okay. Not the worst hotel I've ever stayed in, but not the best. I typically stay at the Courtyard a couple of miles away, and do like that one better. The front desk staff here was great, the breakfast staff was okay. I overheard what I think was the manager of the hotel complaining about some of the guests who had checked out. I never like to hear employees talking about their clients/customers. Just kind of unprofessional. Other than that...nice and clean, food was good. The other Courtyards rooms seem a little nicer, but these weren't bad.
I was only here for one night, and maybe I just missed it, but it didn't seem like there were a lot of restaurants or anything within walking distance.

Room Tip: They actually didn't have room service. Just accidentally clicked it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pengy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard Winston-Salem University, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you Pengy 80 for your review. We strive to improve on service and guest experience here at the Courtyard. Your comments are appreciated and will be used to improve on our delivery of service. If you are in the area again please allow us the opportunity to accomodate you again.

Regards,

Vickie Koger
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galax, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed one night July 12, 2013. This was the cleanest, most quiet and best hotel we have ever stayed. The rooms were emaculate and beautifully decorated. The desk staff and every employee made a point to be extra friendly. It was by far the best hotel experience my wife and I have ever had. It really impressed us that even the bedspread was snow white. How many motels have a white bedspread? The bathroom was sparkling clean and fully stocked. There was not a piece of lint anywhere on the carpet. The entire night was quiet and peaceful, even though there were more than a hundred college aged students staying there for a wedding the next day. At about $100 for the night it was wonderful. If I ever stay in Winston Salem agian this will definately be the ONLY place i stay. I highly recommened this hotel to anyone staying in the Winston Salem area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard Winston-Salem University, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you Brian R for this wonderful review about our Courtyard!! I'm ecstatic that our accomodations were comfortable and enjoyable for the entire family. Anytime you are in the Winston-Salem area, we hope that we will be your first choice.

Regards,

Vickie Koger
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

I highly recommend staying at this quiet, well-priced hotel.

After a terrible night in the nearby Spring Hill Suites, we moved to this hotel and couldn't have been happier that we did. The friendly staff was very sympathetic, and gave us a very quiet room away from the main hallway, along with a discounted rate on the room.

The hotel looks recently built or re-done, so there are plenty of little touches, like doors that are spring-loaded to close, but not slam. The lobby has a neat giant touchscreen where you can get maps, weather, and other information.

Room Tip: There are only two floors here, and you should probably ask to be on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard Winston-Salem University, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thank you Joseph M for allowing us to accomodate you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you on the next trip!

Regards,

Vickie Koger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lick creek, KY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

We booked this hotel for our return from Myrtle Beach and upon arriving, we realized it was a mistake. The hotel was fine--no problems there, it was just small and was LITTERED with college students that were staying there to enroll that weekend. Probably should have taken the hint with it being on "university parkway", huh? Just walking down the hall we passed two large groups of kids with beers in hand. Not the hotel for a family with a 3 and 5 year old. HOWEVER--the hotel itself was nice and we wouldn't have had a problem at all staying there without this problem. The front desk staff was EXCEPTIONAL in that they helped us cancel our reservations with them and even booked us with another Courtyard a few minutes away. They didn't have to do that but they did and that just shows how wonderful they are. It wasn't their fault that they were overloaded with college kids so I can't hold that against them. The staff was friendly and wonderful. Again, I have no fault with the hotel at all, just wasn't the place for my family with all the college kids.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fulltimemommy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard Winston-Salem University, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thank you so much fulltimemommy11 for your comments about our Courtyard. We are very pleased with our recent renovations and even though you had to move to the other Courtyard, we are happy that we were able to accomodate you. Please think of us the next time that you visit Winston-Salem.

Kind regards,

Vickie Koger
Courtyard Winston-Salem University
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

This was a spur of the moment stay but what a lovely experience! The front desk staff were so very pleasant and accommodating. The rooms were clean and very well kept. It's proximity to the stadium was a plus.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Selina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard Winston-Salem University, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Greeting Salina P!! Thank you so much for the kind remarks about the hotel and your stay. Those last minute trips are always better if you have a good night's sleep. It is good to know that we did our job to make your brief visit in Winston-Salem a good experience. Please come back and visit when you have more time to enjoy all the wonderful things Winston-Salem has to offer!

Kind regards,

Vickie Koger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
0.1 mi away
Winston Salem Hotel & Spa
Winston Salem Hotel & Spa
#26 of 37 in Winston Salem
3.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
2.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winston-Salem Downtown
1.5 mi away
Graylyn Estate
Graylyn Estate
#2 of 37 in Winston Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Winston-Salem University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Winston-Salem University

Property: Courtyard Winston-Salem University
Address: 3111 University Pkwy, Winston Salem, NC 27105-4231
Region: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Winston-Salem University 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Winston-Salem University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Winston-Salem University Hotel Winston Salem
Courtyard Winston Salem
Winston Salem Marriott
Winston Salem Courtyard
Courtyard Hotel Winston Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing