We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip Re-Do of Marriott Courtyard Made for a Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Winston-Salem University
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
VA
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Hip Re-Do of Marriott Courtyard Made for a Great Stay”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed here two nights while visiting Wake Forest. As others remark, this is a very friendly hotel, and the rooms are clean and updated. The exterior of the hotel makes it look like the property is perhaps 30+ years old. But clearly the rooms and lobby have been extensively remodeled. Don't know the year, but looks like in the past 2-3 years.

Sleep quality good -- despite being right off of University -- very quiet. Only complaint was that we'd have liked "thinner" pillows -- softer.

Lobby was much more lively than in prior Marriott Courtyard stays (there was a wedding one night). There is a minor restaurant with limited menu operating most of the day - breakfast/coffee/other meals. The default is no longer a free breakfast -- but we tried our hand elsewhere in Winston-Salem (good IHOP down University, Breakfast of Course),

There must be something in the water but every hotel we have stayed in throughout North Carolina has exceeded by a big margin in friendliness and cleanliness what we experience elsewhere in the USA.

Business center was good -- two computers -- with good printers. Although I had to move to the second computer, when the first printer wasn't responding. Reported to the Front Desk and the employee went right over to the computer.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FredTravelVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard Winston-Salem University, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
It is truly a New Stay at the Courtyard by Marriott!! We are very pleased with the updates and so glad you enjoyed your stay. We love being your home away from home while you are traveling, and would love the opportunity to serve you again if you are in Winston-Salem!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    54
    18
    17
    7
See reviews for
50
18
9
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atwater, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed here 3 nights while attending baseball games of the Winston-Salem Dash. It is a little pricey, but so are the other hotels in the University area. It was truly clean and the maid staff are very friendly and attentive, but never in the way. I liked how close the parking is to the lobby entrance and that they have a security guard there every night. Perhaps one of the reasons for the increased cost; if so it's worth it. Nice lobby and pool area. Even though Courtyard doesn't provide complimentary breakfast, this one does have a little cafe in the lobby, with a truly nice outgoing lady serving the customers. And if you want for local fare, there are plenty of great restaurants in the area and downtown. And I can't say enough about the ballpark. It is probably the best in all of the minor leagues east of the Mississippi. Big league type seating, with great food and friendly helpful folks from the parking lot attendants to the seating attendants, to the food servers. True southern hospitality! If you're in the area, take in a game there!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard Winston-Salem University, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful comments about our hotel! We would love an opportunity to serve you the next time that you are in the area!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

nice clean hotel. The lobby is very nice and our rooms were clean and updated. hotel staff was nice. I reserved two rooms with a late arrival and they were able to keep us two adjoining rooms. The hotel seemed nicer than their rates indicated to me. The only minuses were they don't have complimentary breakfast (but they have a bistro that serves few breakfast items) and our room's carpet had thinned out on some edges to the point that some sharp edges from the tack strips came through.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Clay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard Winston-Salem University, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you Mr. Burgett for the wonderful comments about your stay. We are so happy that your stay was enjoyable. I appreciate the information about the carpet, and I will address that immediately with the maintenance department. If you are ever in the area again, please make us your choice for your overnight needs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My family of four stayed two nights at the Courtyard W-S University during a college tour of NC/VA/MD. We were very impressed with the level of friendliness and courteous service of everyone on staff there. It might have been a bit more expensive than other alternatives but I would not hesitate to stay again and would look forward to it. These folks may have been the friendliest people I've ever experienced at any hotel - anywhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Well-deserved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard Winston-Salem University, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
What a wonderful Review!! Your kind words mean so much to our staff. Providing excellent service is very important to us, and we are pleased that we achieved that during your stay. If one of our local Universities becomes your choice, we welcome the opportunity to accommodate you and your family again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This Courtyard is one of the cleanest I have stayed in as well as the nicest staff I have experienced. This was a welcome experience after traveling all day! It is very close to Wake Forest and has to be the most convenient of locations for a visit to campus.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappytravelerAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard Winston-Salem University, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful comments! The entire staff appreciates you taking time out of your busy schedule to let us know that you enjoyed your accommodations. Anytime that you are in the area, we would love for you to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have 748 total stays at Marriott Courtyards - this the best property I have ever stayed at. Everything is excellent - this should be their training model! If you are in Winston don't waste time with anything else. Just stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard Winston-Salem University, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you Gregg for this wonderful review! The entire staff appreciates your wonderful comments. We strive to exceed the expectations of our guest, and we are overjoyed that you had a good experience at our hotel! Please visit us anytime you're in Winston-Salem!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This is exactly what you would want from a place charging what they did. This is not for the economically-minded traveler. The check-in was nice and I appreciated the fitness room. The vacuuming of the lobby was a little annoying when my business associate & I were trying to watch a hockey play-off game on TV. You think they may have figured out to stop vacuuming until the guests had cleared out of the TV area in the lobby.

Green Features: They were aware of environmental issues and offered options for towel service.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetinman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard Winston-Salem University, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience here at the Courtyard by Marriott University. We are sorry if you were inconvenienced by the vaccuming in the lobby. Unfortunately, with the nature of what you were watching, the houseman may have assumed that the vaccuuming would not disturb you. In any case, it would have been appropriate for someone to ask you before continuing their duties. We would like to thank you again for your business and hope this visit did not deter you from visiting us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
1.5 mi away
Graylyn Estate
Graylyn Estate
#1 of 38 in Winston Salem
465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Winston Salem Hotel & Spa
Winston Salem Hotel & Spa
#28 of 38 in Winston Salem
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
#2 of 38 in Winston Salem
211 reviews
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Winston-Salem University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Winston-Salem University

Property: Courtyard Winston-Salem University
Address: 3111 University Pkwy, Winston Salem, NC 27105-4231
Region: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Winston-Salem University 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Winston-Salem University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Winston-Salem University Hotel Winston Salem
Courtyard Winston Salem
Winston Salem Courtyard
Winston Salem Marriott
Courtyard Hotel Winston Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing