We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visiting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn University

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quality Inn University
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in Winston Salem
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“Visiting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

I came to Winston-Salem to visit a friend, and went online to book a room. I read some reviews that said this location was okay. When I checked in the lady at the front desk was really sweert. She gave me a map of the area and told me great places to eat other than your regular chain restaurants. I checked into my room and found that it was quaint and very clean. Before I commit to staying anywhere I check everything. Everything was in order. The room had a mini fridge and microwave which was very convenient. The price was great compared to the other hotels that I saw online. This place has everything you need at a reasonable price. I can't say enought about the price. I really had a great experience at this Quality Inn location. My stay was better than okay and I would definitely stay again. I would also recommend to other friends and family.

Room Tip: Rooms in the rear are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    17
    12
    15
    19
See reviews for
38
12
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

I have been staying at the Quality Inn for 3 weeks now, because I had an apartment fire. The Red Cross sent me here because they give displaced people like myself a discounted rate. After the Red Cross stopped paying for my room, they kept my rate the same. They know that I am in a difficult position, and they have been wonderful. I can't say enough about the staff and the owners. Not only is this a clean place to stay, they are very family friendly. I don't currently have a place of my own yet, but the staff makes me feel at home. I just wanted to say this is a great place to stay, even if it is by choice.

Room Tip: The rooms in second building, close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

This hotel has the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on. I wanted to take the mattress with me. I had a nice stay. I shopped around before I settled on this location, One of the hotels I checked out before I checked in to the Quality Inn was across the street, and the price was twice as much. I didn't want to pay that much for one night, I chose the Quality, and I was glad I did. The staff was very professional, the room was clean and the bed was awesome. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Any bed will be great, because of the beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brevard, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Stayed at this location last year, and the property was under renovations,so I was weary about staying here again. Ended up staying a couple of days ago and I was pleasantly surprised. The grounds were really kept. The front desk staff was friendly. The rooms were clean and alot nicer than before. New televisions and upgraded microwaves and refridgerators, Clean pool and area. The best part of the room was the bed. Slept good. For a continental breakfast it was great.Great price for a clean place to stay. Sometimes it pays to try a place again before you grade it.

Room Tip: If you need a place where location, price, and cleanliness, this the place is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

Several problems with this hotel. When we were there, the ice machine in our building didn't work, I didn't see any vending machines that were stocked (the ones I saw were all empty) and the plumbing was very confusing (the shower actually scalded my wife). Most disappointing was a credit card charge for $40 that appeared on our card a few days after our stay. According to the hotel, this was because of 'damage' to a bedspread (that we didn't even use!) At first, it seemed I was given the run-around when I called the hotel, and no one ever returned my calls. When I finally discussed this charge with the owner/manager, he asked if it was 'possible' that we somehow damaged the bedspread accidentally, implying that they could not have made an error. When I insisted that the charge be removed because we had not used the spread and could not have damaged it, he first claimed he "couldn't", then ultimately said that he "refused". In my opinion, it is places like this that bring dishonor and shame to the hotel industry in general.

Room Tip: My opinion? There are other places in the area to stay. Don't stay here! And if you find that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityinnuniversity, Webmaster at Quality Inn University, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Quality Inn University Winston Salem, NC for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon the receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Maintenance staff received additional training in seeing to it that all appliances are kept in proper working order.

• Maintenance staff was instructed to look into the matter of vending machine and Shower reported in the room to which you were first assigned and see to it that these amenities are well stocked

I hope that the next time you visit in our area; you will once again choose to stay at Quality Inn University Winston Salem, NC. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cartersville, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

when I pulled into the hotel parking lot and saw the blue dumpster sitting out front my first thought was to bail, but still since I had a reservation I figured I'd give it a shot. when i entered the lobby it looked as if it was being worked on and I was greeted by the desk lady phyllis who was a lot of fun, still doubtfull about the room based on the lobby I asked her if i could cancel she told me I could if I wanted to since it was only around 3:20pm I couldn't believe this sweettalker phyllis convinced me to checking out the room, it was remodeled kind of retro and have to say I liked the mojo needless to say I ended up staying the night althogh the furniture could use some updating over all the place was not too shabby

Room Tip: I think they renovated the whole hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scott w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityinnuniversity, Webmaster at Quality Inn University, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Quality Inn University Winston Salem, NC. I am so sorry that you experienced some unpleasantness of which you have informed us. Immediate steps have been taken to have these things looked into and dealt with properly.

Upon receipt of your review, the following action was taken:

• The staff phyllis was informed of the nice comment you made about them and received our commendation for the courteous way in which they treated you, our valued guest.

• The housekeeping staff received additional training regarding the level of cleanliness expected of them as our employees.

Thank you for your help in meeting these standards by reporting what you experienced.

I think that you will find your next stay at Quality Inn University Winston Salem, NC to be a much pleasant one.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Suamico, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

The hotel was supposed to have the construction done by our check in date. The front dest clerk was rude. We got to the room and it was small, dirty, and not worth any money. Trying to use the phone proved to be point less, as it did not work. We were in the room for 5 minutes when the person that was working in the completely torn apart lobby started hammering loudly just below our room. It was nasty and we did not even stay the night, we were there for 15 minutes before we checked out and went to a good hotel. I will never stay there again. It was nasty and the people were not friendly at all. Never again. I am still angry that we were charged at all for the room, as we did only stay for 15 minutes. Also not child friendly.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tankerswife10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityinnuniversity, Webmaster at Quality Inn University, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Quality Inn University Winston Salem, NC. I am so sorry that you experienced some unpleasantness of which you have informed us. Immediate steps have been taken to have these things looked into and dealt with properly.

Upon receipt of your review, the following action was taken:

• The man working at the reception desk received additional training in the proper, courteous manner in which he is to treat our valued guests.

• We shared your report of the evolving smell to the management, maintenance and housekeeping in the hope that they can see that this does not happen to any more of our valued guests.

Thank you for your help in meeting these standards by reporting what you experienced.

I think that you will find your next stay at Quality Inn University Winston Salem, NC to be a much pleasant one.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Winston Salem
6.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall
Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall
#23 of 37 in Winston Salem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
3.3 mi away
Winston Salem Hotel & Spa
Winston Salem Hotel & Spa
#28 of 37 in Winston Salem
3.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn University

Property: Quality Inn University
Address: 5719 University Parkway, Winston Salem, NC 27105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Quality Inn University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Winston Salem
Winston Salem Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing