We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aging, lackluster hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn University

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quality Inn University
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in Winston Salem
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
206 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Aging, lackluster hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

We chose this for the location and the pool, which were both what we wanted. The room was way too crowded with furniture (who needs a giant armoire?) that needs upgrading, the air conditioning was noisy and inadequate and the towels and sheets were undersized, thin, and poor fitting on the beds.
There's a lot of traffic at the hotel, itinerant workers it seems, which made for night time noise.
There is a nice park across the street for walking, with a exercise trail.

The breakfast was the usual low protein, high carb fare and crowded most mornings because of the workers. The staff seemed tired and bored though polite.

Room Tip: get a room in the back section, away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality_University, General Manager at Quality Inn University, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Kiran Bhavsar
General Manager
Quality Inn University Parkway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    17
    12
    15
    19
See reviews for
38
12
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Granite Falls, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Ours was a one-night, two-room stay. Hotel grounds were clean and well-kept. Rooms were clean and affordable. My request for ground floor was honored.

When I initially entered my room, the air conditioning unit was performing poorly. Since I have a number of health issues, I returned to the front desk, requested another room, and the clerk graciously assigned me another room.

The free high-speed wireless internet access was slow but manageable.

The outdoor pool was a disappointment. Had a milky appearance and contained some ground debris. I don't think this was due to neglect on the hotel's part. Numerous storms had occurred on a daily basis prior to our arrival.

The free continental breakfast buffet was plentiful.

Front desk clerk was very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank granitegal1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality_University, General Manager at Quality Inn University, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Kiran Bhavsar
General Manager
Quality Inn University Parkway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

I have never had such terrible service in my life when we first walked in there were cockroaches running in the hallway, there were burn holes in the sheets, there was something very disgusting on the blanket and sheets. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone this place is the most gross place I have ever been too.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sydney4546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Winston Salem hotels

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed here because we were visiting family. The hotel rooms look like they were updated sometime recently. Nice beds, flat screen HDTV, marble in the bathrooms. Pretty nice room overall and beds were pretty comfortable. It was also clean. Good WiFi signal and pretty fast download speeds. The free breakfast was very good. Our only complaint was the pool which was green and cloudy but overall can't beat the price and it was a very good value. Staff was also very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnH8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality_University, General Manager at Quality Inn University, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Kiran Bhavsar
General Manager
Quality Inn University Parkway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Back again for my annual stay at Quality Inn. Room accomodations satisfactory, but really enjoyed the complimentary breakfast buffet which was well-stocked with variety choices. On this trip, we met Daisy the pot-bellied pig. What a hoot. There is a lot to do in the area if you are staying for a couple days and want to get out of the motel - movie theaters, restaurants, shopping all within a short driving distance. Staff very nice, and of course the price is right.

Room Tip: I always manage to get a nice room. I usually am in the back section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walkersville, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

I stayed for a family event booking 2 rooms. The staff was very accommodating especially the manager and made us feel like family. We asked to use the breakfast area for evening "family time" and our lunch before heading up to Pilot Mountain a short distance away. Although 4 of us from out of town stayed at the hotel we had 17 in our group as most of the family was local. The staff members made us feel at home while we visited. The lobby area couches are comfortable and the big flat screen TV was easy to see. The rooms were squeaky clean and beds comfortable. The location was quiet even thought it was booked to capacity. There are many meal options close by. We will definitely seek out this hotel the next time we're in town!

Room Tip: We stayed in the middle building. There are stairs to the 2nd floor rooms. All rooms are outside ent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesliewh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

Easy to find off the highway. Check in was a breeze. There are 2 buildings and our room was in the second one. There was NO parking right in front of our room so we had to park a little ways away. Not too bad. The room was fairly large- big enough for a king, 2 desks, a chair and dresser- and still room to walk around. The bathroom was clean and no mildew on the ceilings in the shower. The sink is outside the shower area, which is nice. Pretty big flat screen TV with good reception. The room was super clean too.

We stayed on a Saturday night for the race in Martinsville and are just checking out today. Went down to the lobby for the free breakfast at 8:45... not a whole lot to choose from. Typical- waffles, apples, oatmeal, etc. no bacon or eggs. Also, make sure you get there before 9 because if not, no breakfast for you. Ending breakfast at 9 am on a Sunday?! Really? Good thing there's a Bojangles and they have great breakfast.

Also, the hotel has a "business center" in the lobby, but the Internet is super super slow and the printer doesn't work. I told the guy at the desk that I needed ton print something and he said he was going to call someone to get it working. I didn't have time for all that so we went to the Holiday Inn across the street. Their printer wasn't working either in the business center, but they let me use the computer in their office!!! Now THAT'S customer service. I think that's where I'll stay next time, even if it is a bit pricier.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margaritachick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Winston Salem
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall
Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall
#23 of 37 in Winston Salem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
8.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Winston Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn University

Property: Quality Inn University
Address: 5719 University Parkway, Winston Salem, NC 27105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Quality Inn University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Winston Salem
Winston Salem Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing