We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was okay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall
Ranked #23 of 37 Hotels in Winston Salem
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“It was okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

The best part was the ample parking and the close location to everything if you had a car. The bad part was the quality of the place. It looks like the place can be repainted and can do a few renovations here and there. The staff is friendly and made the stay pleasant and enjoyable. The beds are nothing special, and the TV needs to be upgraded. Stay here if you are on a budget and do not really care for top notch cleanliness.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acwong27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    44
    32
    17
    18
See reviews for
49
25
10
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

My sister and I recently stayed in this hotel while on a shopping trip to Winston-Salem. My understanding is that this used to be a Holiday Inn because there is a small bar which is open in the evenings. Our room was on the bottom floor around the courtyard area. We were there during the second week of October so it really too cool to enjoy, but you could tell it would be very pretty in the spring. The hotel is in a good location; very close to Hanes Mall and not far from other shopping venues and restaurants. The staff was extremely helpful is assisting us as we asked questions about visiting the downtown area, even providing us with a map. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfwfafbf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed here when there was a convention in town, they have an ok pool, and the rooms are good. The room card keys did not work, we got them replaced and those didn't work either, we got new ones, and still they didn't work, finally the next ones worked, and I guess it was an OK stay. The breakfast was good.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
485 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Very nice place to stay. They allow pets & have a very nice hot breakfast. The staff is very nice & very friendly. The rooms were clean & they have an outdoor pool. They have wifi & a nice large tv in the room. We were passing through virginia & were pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenHScher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

It is obvious that great strides have been made in the renovations of this hotel. It is also obvious more work is needed – both structurally and in personnel.

My wife and I stayed over night on June 22nd, 2012 in suite 162/164 – in a building separate from the main building. When I went to check in at 3:15pm, I was directed by front desk personnel to “Wait, we’re in the middle of shift change.” (Who directs guests?). Ten minutes later we had our room key and on our way around the building.

We dropped off our belongings, turned on the AC (it was sweltering in those rooms) and left to meet our party at the restaurant.

When we returned, we started to retire for the night – When my wife discovered some cockroaches in the bathroom of 164 and killed them. My thoughts were “It’s just a couple of cockroaches, we’re tired, really don’t want the hassle of changing rooms, and it looks like they are booked anyway.”

I looked at the signs posted around the room “Q Rest Assured” – cool – looking forward to a good night’s sleep…

After a fitful night, where a coil from an extremely old, lumpy mattress poked into me all night (either that, or it was an extremely poor quality NEW mattress), I knew I had to tell the front desk. But first clean up, dress, and have breakfast.

And then I discovered the slow/clogged shower in the 162 bathroom. There is nothing worse than standing in filthy water trying to get clean.

After breakfast, as we were checking out, I mentioned these issues to the Front Desk Clerk – L. Young. She said that she would have to get with management to see what could be done to compensate for these issues and that until then they wouldn’t charge for the room.

We were just charged fully for the room. I tried calling this morning (at my cost), and was told that a manager would not be around until “10 or 11 o’clock.” Unacceptable. This is during normal business hours on a weekday.

There is a reason we chose to stay at Choice Hotels. Our experience here is not it.


Bruce Koehler

Room Tip: Don't book here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhaunen39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Our family stopped for the night while headed to a beach vacation. We were looking for a place with a pool for our child to stretch out and get some exercise after a day in the car. Quality Inn has a pool open to 10 pm but it is definitely swim at your own risk. There is a light fixture hanging in the pool water from wires, the light should be an underwater light but instead the loose wire let it float at the surface. The pool hasn't been cleaned in ages. Our room was clean but so in need of updating. It looked like a child installed the tile in the bathroom, the grout was hilarious. The show stall had stains and the carpeting was disgusting. Our room had a fridge that didn't work. We didn't risk trying the coffeemaker. The front desk working at check out was very nice but that's about the only positive note.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank casualdiner74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynesville
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

I hate spending a lot of money on hotel rooms, but I hate cheap hotels even more, so it's nice to find a quality place to sleep for a great price, and that's what this motel is.

It is an older (probably 70's era) motel that has been remodeled, but as most travelers will know, that can only go so far, so don't expect 21st century hotel.

My top requirement for a motel room is that it is CLEAN, and, this motel is (despite a low A sanitation score -- maybe the inspector was in a bad mood that day). I can enjoy my stay if I can walk in the room in my bare feet. When we first entered the room, it had that "motel air freshener" smell, but a little while with the door open took care of that.

The beds were comfortable (although doubles), but the mattresses are starting to sag in the middle and should probably be replaced soon as it is hard for two people to not end up in the middle together. The bed linens were comfortable (I especially enjoyed the fact that the lower sheet did not slide off the mattress), but the bed skirt is ripped and should be replaced.

The fan in the bathroom was not working, but I guess that is preferable to a really noisy fan and there was no mold in the bathroom so I was pleased. The bathroom has those new annoying water conservation toilets that are impossible to flush completely (I often wonder how much water is being conserved when you have to flush the toilet 2-3 times per use). Towels are standard motel, but at least they stock enough in the room so you don't have to go and ask for more.

Our room (#148) was around the back of the hotel, and it was quiet, despite having several youth sports teams in the hotel. The doors opens onto the parking lot and a couple of the doors in this building are dented, like someone was trying to kick in the door. That was a little disconcerting when I first got here, but I never felt unsafe. The room air conditioner worked well. The TV is an older style 25" screen with lots of channels and it worked well. Nice clean coffee maker in the bathroom and clean refrigerator and microwave in the room (refrigerator never made any noise...very nice).

The breakfast is standard Choice Hotels free breakfast, but the eating area was very large (it apparently also doubles as a bar/club at night). The breakfast was well maintained during our stay, but the attendant could have spent some more time wiping down the tables (especially after the young boys soccer team visited.)

We didn't use the pool, but a lot of the guests did. It looked like an enjoyable place, and the pool looked actually big enough to swim in (unlike some newer pools).

We didn't really interact with many staff members, but those we did come in contact with were nice and pleasant, especially the woman I spoke with on the phone before I arrived who changed my reservation from a smoking to a non-smoking room.

All in all, it was a pleasant stay for the purpose.

Room Tip: Since the doors are on the outside, choose a high floor for more safety, or a lower floor for conven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homeschoolmtnmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Winston Salem/ Hanes Mall
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hanes Mall Hotel
1.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Hanes Mall
Sleep Inn Hanes Mall
#20 of 37 in Winston Salem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Winston-Salem
1.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Winston Salem
6.9 mi away
Quality Inn University
Quality Inn University
#28 of 37 in Winston Salem
3.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall

Property: Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall
Address: 2008 South Hawthorne Road, Winston Salem, NC 27103-3030 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 37 Hotels in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites Hanes Mall
Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall Hotel Winston Salem
Quality Inn Hanes Mall
Quality Inn Winston Salem
Winston Salem Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing