We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timeworn and Tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We were in W-S for a nearby memorial service and stayed three days. We probably should have moved after the first day but suffered through because of it's location. The facility, a former Holiday Inn, is undergoing renovation. The layout is an older sprawling type complex with what in the spring and fall would be a nice central court yard with plants, shade trees and flowers. Our room was one that had not yet been renovated. It was stark with minimal furniture, old TV set, non-working phone and inadequate lighting. The HVAC unit was noisey. Breakfast was in the former HI restaurant, which had been converted to a sports type bar open on week ends. It consisted of waffles, sausage gravey and biscuits, and the usual juices, fruit, pastries, breads and two cereals. The Salisbury MD University Track and Field group stayed there for a meet that week end and crowded the eating area. If you are traveling on a tight budget and get a "renovated room" it will probably meet your needs. Otherwise, I would look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Make sure you are given a newly renovated room. Check the HVAC unit and cleanliness before committin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ORBPSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail K, Director of Sales at Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Thank you for taking time out to write about your experience here at our hotel. We thrive to make improvements on a weekly basis. We are located in the medical neighborhood of Winston Salem between I-40 and Interstate 40 2 blocks from Hanes Mall 2nd largest mall in North Carolina. We just got a inspection from our local health dept of a 96 and another from our franchise just this week.

Thank you again, and we will look forward to you staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2013

I was in town for WSSU's homecoming activites and in efforts to conserve money and satify my partner in crime we choose this hotel. The room rate was about $70, but I was able to use my corporate discoundt to get it to $50 a night! Which was great but you always get what you pay for. After watching "Hotel Impossible" I have become somewhat of a hotel snob and did not have a good feeling about this one.

Check-in took forever b/c they only had one person working the desk and everything else. Once we got the key we had to climb the outdoor stairs which were very narrow to get to the room. I immediately flipped the mattresses to check for cleaniness and bed bugs. Low and behold THERE WAS A BED BUG IN ONE OF THE BEDS (photo attached)!!! After grabbing our stuff and snapping a quick pic we went back to the front desk and they refunded our money. We ended up going to the new hilton garden inn that's not too far away. It's about $115 a night, but you get what you pay for. I will not be going back and do not recommend anyone staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail K, Director of Sales at Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at our hotel. Your comments are very important to us. We are continually striving to improve our facility and this helps us very much. Athough we did have the room in question thoroughly checked for bed bugs by a professional pest contral agency, they were unable to detect any sign of such. It does concern me however that the picture you have posted is not from our hotel. We have no such color matches in any of our rooms. I'm sure this was an honest mistake. We do hope you'll give us a second chance. Your business is very important to us. Thanks again for your comments.

Respectfully:

Gail Kolischak
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I am a buiseness traveler and try to ballance comfort conviniance and price in my decisions of where to stay. The Quality Inn however convieniant the location proved to be non reliable in getting my reservations rite. There was little or no attempt to correct the probblem over the 3 weeks i visited. One employee at the front desk was sympathetic to my situation and did try to help. I may have been willing to overlook those issues had the rooms been clean and Quiet. Body hair belonging to someone other than myself in the shower unfortunatly is the straw that broke the cammels back ! I now understand cheap, is not nessisarily always the most attractive bennifit to finding a Quality safe place to stay.

Room Tip: Dont get a room on the back of the hotel where the police cant see. Manny late night visitors commin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail K, Director of Sales at Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Thank you for bringing any problems to our attention on your recent stay here this year. We have on-going training for all our front line employees.. and if you had called the sales management office when you were here i am sure we could has solved your problems. We are located in the medical neighborhood of Winston Salem between I40 and Business 40. We thrive to have all our guests happy when they leave. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

This hotel is conveniently located to Forsyth Hospital, Hanes Mall, and has easy access to I-40. It gives excellent rates to those who need a place to stay while visiting or caring for someone at Forsyth Hospital. The staff is especially helpful, and the breakfast is excellent! The rooms could use some updating, however. A plus is that the rooms have a microwave, fridge, coffee-maker, and hair dryer. A value!

Room Tip: All rooms are in a quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MamaMooDurham_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooks R, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Brooks Roberts
Manager
Quality Inn and Suites
336-765-6670

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Bed was comfortable-king size! Oversized room was a treat and the microwave and fridge was an unexpected bonus. However, chipped and chipping paint EVERYWHERE...even on the soap dish in tub (probably not paint, but still chipped/peeling) was unacceptable. The breakfast-and I have stayed at many Comfort Inns and Quality Inns-was on the low end of average. And totally unacceptable was the fact that the hotel doesn't have a restaurant on site as featured on the web site....this would have made a complete difference to me in booking where I stayed in Winston. Very underimpressed in this location.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail K, Director of Sales at Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your response . We always want a comfortable room for our guests. We have just completed renovation of our bathrooms, including the tub/soap dish. We appreciate you and thank you once again.

Gail Kolischak
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

The best part was the ample parking and the close location to everything if you had a car. The bad part was the quality of the place. It looks like the place can be repainted and can do a few renovations here and there. The staff is friendly and made the stay pleasant and enjoyable. The beds are nothing special, and the TV needs to be upgraded. Stay here if you are on a budget and do not really care for top notch cleanliness.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acwong27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

My sister and I recently stayed in this hotel while on a shopping trip to Winston-Salem. My understanding is that this used to be a Holiday Inn because there is a small bar which is open in the evenings. Our room was on the bottom floor around the courtyard area. We were there during the second week of October so it really too cool to enjoy, but you could tell it would be very pretty in the spring. The hotel is in a good location; very close to Hanes Mall and not far from other shopping venues and restaurants. The staff was extremely helpful is assisting us as we asked questions about visiting the downtown area, even providing us with a map. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfwfafbf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
1.0 mi away
Sleep Inn Hanes Mall
Sleep Inn Hanes Mall
#19 of 38 in Winston Salem
166 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hanes Mall Hotel
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Winston-Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Winston Salem/ Hanes Mall
7.0 mi away
Quality Inn University
Quality Inn University
#30 of 38 in Winston Salem
87 reviews
1.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Winston Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall

Address: 2008 South Hawthorne Road, Winston Salem, NC 27103-3030 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Price Range: £49 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites Hanes Mall
Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall Hotel Winston Salem
Quality Inn Hanes Mall
Quality Inn Winston Salem
Winston Salem Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing