We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Get What You Pay For”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I was in Winston-Salem for a car show and decided to save some money and stay at this Quality Inn. Not sure I would stay here again. The staff was very nice and the complimentary breakfast was OK, but the rooms were not up to what I would consider acceptable for a Quality Inn. The bathroom fixtures needed to be replaced and overall the room looked like it needed a makeover. Worst of all the room had the smell of urine. Not sure if it was urine or perhaps mold or the A/C. At any rate I cannot recommend this location unless you are a cheapskate, like I was, and want a room for less than $60/night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmorin49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

I stayed in Winston Salem Quality inn. The hotel is so dingy and run down with so less light and dark corners. The refrigerator in the room was broken. Hairdrier was taped together and the sheets were hand sown. Extremely bad experience.

Room Tip: Try comfort inn or Wyndham nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Punit N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

On business in Winston Salem we stumbled on this little gem. The corporate rates they gave us were very good. This is an outside entrance hotel that has a bit of age on it, but the rooms were adequate for the rate. The staff was VERY friendly and helpful, from the day staff to the ones manning the desk in the middle of the night. A great stay for the price.

Room Tip: Request a room on the inside ring or courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimmy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooks R, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey. We will look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The hotel itself was average and ok but was pricey for its condition. I was there for five days recently and my main complaint is that there was no wifi available in the room. I was able to connect inside the lobby, but nowhere outside of there, even on a bench just outside the lobby. I spoke to two other customers who told me they were unable to connect in their rooms either. I brought this up to a very pleasant desk clerk each day - only one of them said he'd tell the manager, but nothing changed. The problem should have been simple to fix - it was either their provider needed a call or their router needed to be rebooted. This was a nice Holiday Inn back in the day, but it's getting kind of long in the tooth now. I was amazed at the number of workmen staying here. I won't stay there again - there are plenty of other hotels in the area that charge equivalent rates and are much newer/nicer. I stay in an area hotel in W-S on average 5-6 days every month.
Breakfast is typical of other hotels in the price class (Best Western, La Quinta, etc.) They do have good coffee!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rv6av8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooks R, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

We would like to thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. We will use your comments to train our staff to the level you expect. All comments are reviwed and action is taken to make sure we provide the best customer service we can. Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This property is worth more than the cost! The rooms are clean, the bathrooms are clean, the service is great and the location is easily accessible. We stayed because my mom was in Forsyth Medical Center, this hotel is across the street. The continental breakfast was the best I have ever had and the cleanest.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FLS2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooks R, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Brooks Roberts
Manager
Quality Inn and Suites
336-765-6670

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Location is the strong suit for this inn. It's within walking distance of the medical center, and a quick drive (or a modest hike) to the mall area, with a number of restaurants. (Access roads are a bit confusing, but after a few loops around, you catch on). Parking is ample, and free. Staff are pleasant and accomodating.

Room was a basic "Quality Inn" level of accomodation. It was clean, and well appointed with mini fridge and microwave. The breakfast room is bright and clean......and attended. It apparently doubles as a lounge on some evenings, but we did not have opportunity to observe that. We came in late and left early. Food offerings were the standard Quality Inn hot and cold variety.

This Inn seems like a reasonable budget-priced lodging choice for the Winston-Salem area. Really did not experience the negative aspects noted by other reviewers.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GypsyRoverPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooks R, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Brooks Roberts
Manager
Quality Inn and Suites
336-765-6670

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I might not have minded staying at this place had the price been lower - say, under $50. (I recently stayed at a Quality similar to this one in Wilmington, and the price was indeed under $50.) However, I had a reward rate, and it was still close to $70! I've stayed in much better, cleaner, and safer-looking Choice Hotels for either the same amount or less, so it was quite a disappointment. In fact, you could stay at Comfort just down the street for nearly the same amount, and yet it looked much better.

Some other warnings about this place: it's not a true "hotel" in that it's all outdoor access rooms. No inner hallways, which doesn't make one feel very safe, especially when you're a young woman. The breakfast left a lot to be desired, no true "hot" breakfast as Choice advertises - no eggs, bacon/sausage, biscuits, etc. They do have a waffle maker, but that's all I would qualify as "hot" breakfast. The rooms are very outdated, and in my case, the shower had a lot of cracks and stains that didn't make it feel very clean. And, maybe had I not been tired when I arrived, I would have been more forgiving of the bar inside the hotel - but yes, truly, the breakfast area is also a bar area. Fully stocked with liquor, a jukebox, and billiards! That might be attractive for some, but it looked run-down and odd in this place.

However, if you're just crashing for the night, and you need to be in the area (I needed to be at Novant the next day, which is just across the street), it's not the worst I've seen.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kthrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooks R, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. Your comments will be looked at and any improvements will be done. Thank you again for taking the time to fill out our survey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
1.0 mi away
Sleep Inn Hanes Mall
Sleep Inn Hanes Mall
#19 of 38 in Winston Salem
166 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hanes Mall Hotel
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Winston-Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Winston Salem/ Hanes Mall
7.0 mi away
Quality Inn University
Quality Inn University
#29 of 38 in Winston Salem
86 reviews
1.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Winston Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall

Address: 2008 South Hawthorne Road, Winston Salem, NC 27103-3030 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in Winston Salem
Price Range: £49 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites Hanes Mall
Quality Inn & Suites Hanes Mall Hotel Winston Salem
Quality Inn Hanes Mall
Quality Inn Winston Salem
Winston Salem Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing