We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Tea Service”

Flour Box Tea Room and Cafe
Ranked #55 of 745 Restaurants in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 8 November 2018

The Flour Box is one of the few places in the Triad area in which you can enjoy a full tea (high tea, afternoon tea) service. A proper afternoon tea includes a pot of tea, small savories (finger sandwiches, mini quiches, etc), sweets (truffles, mini cakes, macarons, etc.), and of course SCONES. Scones really are the anchor of the meal and they have to be good. The Flour Box's vanilla scones are delicious. They offer 3 teas; a cream tea, light tea, and full tea. We usually go for the full tea, and it's always wonderful. The items rotate, depending on what's in season. One thing to note, is you HAVE to make a reservation a day or 2 ahead if you want the full tea experience. We have also been limited to how many scones we can order with a non-tea meal, apparently because they make a certain amount depending on the # of reservations. I have also visited for regular lunch, and the soup/salad I ordered was delicious. This is the perfect place to go for a date, Mother's Day, or any special occasion. I had my bridal shower here, and it was an AMAZING experience.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rhianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2018

After a couple of hours touring Old Salem, we decided to look for a place for lunch. We found this restaurant and walked in. The inside is small with only about six or seven tables. There is also seating outside. We shared a pot of tea served with china cups. For lunch I chose a chicken salad sandwich and kettle chips. I was pleased with my choice.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank journalmytrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2018

Been here twice. The first time we sat outside, the service was ok. We ordered tea and biscuit and salad. The price for what we got was very high! The biscuit and curd was awesome and we should have just gotten that and not he overpriced salads. The second time I went, we were going to sit inside, but the lady ignored us and actually helped another lady who came after us, and we were not acknowledged at all! Which was very annoying. After standing there for about 10 minutes, we were informed they don't serve until a later time and all that was available was prepackaged goods. It's a small place and if you aren't greeted properly, it feels uncomfortable.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Melanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

We had lunch there and the food was great but the atmosphere was fantastic! Go, go, go! You won’t regret it. They have indoor and outdoor seating.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank VLSepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

The Flour Box was located within walking distance to the Zevely Inn (B&B located in Old Salem) where we stayed.

We loved the atmosphere of The Flour Box when we first walked in. A very small dining area (however, there are tables outside as well). We enjoyed loved the menu offerings for lunch and shared a scone for dessert which was delicious. When we left we placed an order for 3 scones to be picked up the next day. We would highly recommend this establishment that is in the perfect location.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mnfleener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flour Box Tea Room and Cafe also viewed

 
Winston Salem, NC
 

Been to Flour Box Tea Room and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing